📧 rocco@vernalmedicare.com 📞 435-219-5120 (TTY: 711) Search 🌐 EnglishEspañol

Diabetes & Blood Sugar · Weight Management / GLP-1 · Heart & Blood Pressure

Ozempic Assistance Programs & Grants in Utah

Assistance information last verified: August 2026

For most people on Medicare, not through the usual routes in 2026: Novo Nordisk's patient assistance program no longer provides Ozempic to Medicare beneficiaries with drug coverage, the savings offer excludes government insurance, and the type 2 diabetes charity funds were closed to new applicants when we checked. What remains: Novo's self-pay pricing through NovoCare Pharmacy (open to Medicare enrollees paying cash), Medicare Extra Help, a negotiated Part D price arriving in 2027, and fund notifications for when a diabetes fund reopens. Financial assistance may be available through charitable foundations, manufacturer programs, Medicare's Extra Help program, or other assistance resources. Availability and eligibility change frequently — the information on this page was verified in August 2026.

How to Apply for Ozempic Assistance A short walkthrough of Part D coverage for diabetes, Extra Help, the self-pay option, and what to do when a diabetes fund reopens.

Can I get help paying for Ozempic?

For most people on Medicare, not through the usual routes in 2026: Novo Nordisk's patient assistance program no longer provides Ozempic to Medicare beneficiaries with drug coverage, the savings offer excludes government insurance, and the type 2 diabetes charity funds were closed to new applicants when we checked. What remains: Novo's self-pay pricing through NovoCare Pharmacy (open to Medicare enrollees paying cash), Medicare Extra Help, a negotiated Part D price arriving in 2027, and fund notifications for when a diabetes fund reopens.

  • Novo Nordisk Patient Assistance Program: "Medicare beneficiaries with prescription drug coverage will no longer be eligible to receive Ozempic" through the PAP in 2026; uninsured patients at or below 200% of the federal poverty level still can.
  • Ozempic Savings Offer: government beneficiaries, including Medicare, are excluded.
  • NovoCare Pharmacy self-pay: $199 a month for the first two fills (0.25 mg / 0.5 mg, new patients, through December 31, 2026), then $349 a month for 0.25–1 mg or $499 for 2 mg; Medicare enrollees may self-pay outside their plan.
  • Charitable grants: Ozempic is on the TotalAssist and HealthWell type 2 diabetes fund lists, but both funds were closed to new applicants.
  • Medicare: a negotiated Part D price of $274 (30-day) starts January 1, 2027; Extra Help can cut a covered brand copay to about $12.65 now if you qualify.

3 of the 7 programs we checked for Ozempic were accepting applications when verified in August 2026.

About Ozempic (semaglutide)

Ozempic is a once-weekly injectable GLP-1 receptor agonist for type 2 diabetes. The same molecule is sold as Wegovy for weight management and as Rybelsus tablets; Medicare treats those uses differently, and Ozempic itself is covered by Part D for diabetes.

Approved uses

  • Improving blood sugar in adults with type 2 diabetes, along with diet and exercise
  • Reducing the risk of major cardiovascular events in adults with type 2 diabetes and known heart disease
  • Reducing the risk of kidney disease worsening, kidney failure and cardiovascular death in adults with type 2 diabetes and chronic kidney disease

Manufacturer: Novo Nordisk

Why Ozempic can be expensive on Medicare

Ozempic is a high-list-price brand injectable that Part D plans usually place on a high tier with prior authorization confirming type 2 diabetes, so copays or coinsurance can be substantial until the $2,100 annual cap. In 2026 Novo Nordisk also stopped supplying Ozempic to Medicare enrollees through its patient assistance program, closing the route many beneficiaries relied on.

Medicare coverage context

Medicare Part D covers GLP-1 medicines such as Ozempic when prescribed for type 2 diabetes, not for weight loss alone. Semaglutide (Ozempic, Rybelsus and Wegovy) was selected in the second cycle of the Medicare Drug Price Negotiation Program: CMS published a negotiated price of $274 for a 30-day supply (versus a $959 list price in 2024) that takes effect January 1, 2027. Until then, your cost depends on your plan's tier and cost-sharing. The Medicare GLP-1 Bridge ($50 a month) does not include Ozempic and excludes people with type 2 diabetes.

Ozempic assistance options at a glance

Every program we checked, what kind of help it is, whether people with Medicare can use it, and its status when we verified it. A medication being listed by a program is not the same as the program accepting applications.

About the income limits below: Income limits can differ between assistance programs even when both describe their eligibility as the same percentage of the federal poverty level. The dollar limits shown here come from each program's own published income table, and each program decides which year's poverty guidelines that table is built from and when it takes effect. Treat the figures as belonging to the program they are listed under — they are not interchangeable, and only the program can tell you which table it is applying to your application today.

Ozempic assistance programs compared
ProgramType of helpPeople with MedicareStatus (August 2026)
Novo Nordisk Patient Assistance Program Manufacturer patient assistance not eligible Open with limits
Ozempic Savings Offer Commercial copay / savings card not eligible Accepting applications
NovoCare Pharmacy — Ozempic self-pay Manufacturer self-pay pricing may apply Accepting applications
Medicare GLP-1 Bridge ($50 a month, CMS demonstration) Government program not eligible No program found
TotalAssist — Type 2 diabetes (T2DM) fund Charitable grant may apply Closed to new applicants
HealthWell Foundation — Type 2 Diabetes fund Charitable grant may apply Closed to new applicants
Good Days Charitable grant not stated No program found
Medicare Extra Help (Part D Low-Income Subsidy) Government program may apply Accepting applications

Manufacturer programs from Novo Nordisk

A patient assistance program (free or low-cost drug by income) is not the same as a copay card (a commercial discount that usually excludes Medicare). Both are listed so you can see which one applies to you.

Manufacturer patient assistance

Novo Nordisk Patient Assistance Program

Novo Nordisk (NovoCare)

Open with limits Medicare: not eligible

Status: Open for 2026 to uninsured patients at or below 200% of the federal poverty level. Medicare beneficiaries with prescription drug coverage are no longer eligible to receive Ozempic through the program (checked August 26, 2026). Complete applications are processed within 2 business days.

Novo Nordisk's PAP ships eligible medicines free to the patient's home. Ozempic remains on the product list, but for 2026 only uninsured, low-income patients qualify for it.

If you have Medicare: Novo Nordisk states: "Medicare beneficiaries with prescription drug coverage will no longer be eligible to receive Ozempic through the Patient Assistance Program." Medicare Part D enrollees may apply for next year's enrollment after October 15, 2026, but Novo has not said whether Ozempic will be available to them in 2027. For other Novo Nordisk products the PAP still accepts Medicare Part D patients (income at or below 400% FPL, not enrolled in Extra Help, with an Extra Help denial letter).

What it can cover: Ozempic at no cost for approved uninsured patients; shipped to your home within about 5 business days of approval.

Who may qualify

  • Ozempic: uninsured, with total household income at or below 200% of the federal poverty level
  • Ozempic: Medicare beneficiaries with prescription drug coverage are not eligible in 2026
  • U.S. resident; not enrolled in or eligible for Medicaid, Extra Help (LIS) or VA benefits; no private or commercial insurance

What the application asks for

  • Two-part application: the patient portion (online), then the prescriber portion
  • Uninsured patients: a copy of your state Medicaid denial letter
  • Medicare patients (other Novo products): a copy of your Extra Help (LIS) denial letter
  • Proof of income (last 3 pay stubs, W-2, 1099) if you did not file taxes or had a life event affecting income; otherwise income is verified electronically

How to apply

The patient submits the patient portion online at NovoCare, then the prescriber completes the provider portion. Call 1-866-310-7549 (Monday–Friday, 8am–8pm ET) with questions.

Commercial copay / savings card

Ozempic Savings Offer

Novo Nordisk

Accepting applications Medicare: not eligible

Status: Active for commercially insured patients; "pricing to be updated after December 31, 2026."

A commercial copay offer: pay as little as $25 a month, with a maximum savings of $100 a month.

If you have Medicare: Novo's terms say "Government beneficiaries excluded" and count anyone enrolled in Medicare, Medigap, Medicaid, VA, DoD or TRICARE as government-insured — even if they also have a commercial plan. Government-insured patients who try the offer are instead routed to the self-pay price.

Who may qualify

  • Commercial prescription insurance
  • Not enrolled in any government, state or federally funded medical or prescription benefit program

How to apply

Commercially insured patients activate the offer on novocare.com. Not applicable to Medicare beneficiaries.

Manufacturer self-pay pricing

NovoCare Pharmacy — Ozempic self-pay

Novo Nordisk (dispensed by NovoCare Pharmacy)

Accepting applications Medicare: may apply

Status: On August 26, 2026: $199 a month for the first two fills of 0.25 mg or 0.5 mg for new patients (through December 31, 2026), then $349 a month for 0.25 mg, 0.5 mg or 1 mg and $499 a month for 2 mg.

Novo Nordisk's direct-to-patient cash channel. It replaces insurance rather than working with it, so compare the price against your Part D copay — especially once you are near the $2,100 cap. Ozempic must be prescribed for an FDA-approved use.

If you have Medicare: Novo states government-insured patients may use this program if they self-pay and process outside their insurance. You agree not to ask your plan to reimburse you and not to count the cost toward your Part D deductible or out-of-pocket limit.

What it can cover: Cash prices per month as listed above; Ozempic tablets are priced separately ($149–$299 a month by strength).

Who may qualify

  • A valid Ozempic prescription for an FDA-approved indication
  • Uninsured, or insured (commercial or government) and choosing to self-pay

How to apply

Your prescriber sends the prescription to NovoCare Pharmacy; you pay online and the medicine is delivered. Questions: 1-888-809-3942.

Charitable grants for Ozempic

Ozempic is on the type 2 diabetes fund lists at both TotalAssist and HealthWell, but on August 26, 2026 both funds were closed to new applicants, and Good Days has no diabetes program. No currently open charitable fund covering Ozempic was found. Sign up for fund alerts — and remember that Extra Help does not depend on a fund balance.

Charitable grant

TotalAssist — Type 2 diabetes (T2DM) fund

Patient Advocate Foundation · Type 2 diabetes (T2DM) · Type 2 diabetes health equity

Closed to new applicants Medicare: may apply

Status: Both type 2 diabetes funds were closed to new applicants on August 26, 2026. Ozempic (semaglutide) is on the approved-medication list.

Patient Advocate Foundation's TotalAssist (launched July 1, 2026, combining PAF Co-Pay Relief and the PAN Foundation) lists Ozempic under its type 2 diabetes funds. A listing is not an open fund. Sign up to be notified the moment it reopens — there is no waitlist or queue.

If you have Medicare: These funds require government insurance (Medicare, Medicaid or TRICARE).

What it can cover: When open: $1,500 guaranteed award, $2,000 maximum, for eligible out-of-pocket costs.

Who may qualify

  • Confirmed type 2 diabetes diagnosis
  • Government-insured coverage (Medicare, Medicaid or TRICARE) that covers your qualifying expenses
  • Household income at or below 500% of the federal poverty level, adjusted for your regional cost-of-living index
  • Confirmed diagnosis matching the fund, and in treatment (or starting within 60 days, or treated in the past 6 months)
  • Legal U.S. resident receiving treatment in the U.S. or a U.S. territory

What the application asks for

  • Contact information and Social Security number (or alien number)
  • Annual household income (for pre-screening; proof of income due within 30 days of approval)
  • Health insurance carrier, plan type, policy ID and group number; Medicare supplement or secondary insurance if you have one
  • Copay or coinsurance amounts
  • Your provider's name and contact information, diagnosis (exact date if within 6 months), prescribed medications and treatment plan

How to apply

Sign up for fund notifications at totalassist.org/notify. When the fund opens: You (the patient) apply online — it takes about 15 minutes and you learn immediately whether you are approved — or call 866-512-3861, Monday–Friday 8:30am–5:30pm ET. Patient Advocate Foundation verifies your diagnosis and treatment plan directly with your provider and verifies income automatically; you have 30 days after approval to provide proof of income.

Charitable grant

HealthWell Foundation — Type 2 Diabetes fund

HealthWell Foundation · Type 2 Diabetes

Closed to new applicants Medicare: may apply

Status: "Temporarily closed to new patients due to lack of sufficient funding" on August 26, 2026. Ozempic and semaglutide are on the fund's medication list.

HealthWell's Type 2 Diabetes fund lists Ozempic. HealthWell states that closed funds reopen as funding is replenished and offers real-time alerts for the fund.

If you have Medicare: HealthWell requires insurance that covers part of the drug; Medicare qualifies.

What it can cover: When open: up to $1,000 as a pharmacy card; household income up to 300% of the federal poverty level.

Who may qualify

  • Insurance (including Medicare) that covers part of the cost of Ozempic
  • Household income up to 300% of the federal poverty level (adjusted for household size and cost of living)
  • Type 2 diabetes diagnosis verified by your provider

What the application asks for

  • Some form of health insurance (Medicare qualifies) that covers part of the cost of the drug — discount cards do not count
  • Social Security number (used to prevent duplicate applications)
  • Diagnosis verified by a physician's, nurse practitioner's or physician assistant's signature
  • Treatment in the United States

How to apply

When a fund is open, apply online or by phone; your provider verifies the diagnosis by signature. When a fund is closed, sign up for that fund's real-time alerts — HealthWell says replenished funds reopen "as quickly as possible."

Charitable grant

Good Days

Good Days

No program found Medicare: not stated

Status: Good Days lists no diabetes program (checked August 26, 2026).

An honest negative: we looked, and there is no Good Days program for type 2 diabetes.

If you have Medicare: Not applicable — no matching program.

How to apply

Not applicable.

Other government routes

Medicare and state programs that lower prescription costs for people with limited income and resources.

Government program

Medicare GLP-1 Bridge ($50 a month, CMS demonstration)

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

No program found Medicare: not eligible

Status: Running July 1, 2026 – December 31, 2027 — but Ozempic is not an eligible drug. The Bridge covers Foundayo, Wegovy and the Zepbound KwikPen for weight management only.

Included because people ask about it: the $50-a-month Medicare GLP-1 program does not apply to Ozempic. If you take Ozempic for type 2 diabetes, your route is regular Part D coverage.

If you have Medicare: Part D enrollees with type 2 diabetes are excluded from the Bridge — Medicare's guidance says their drug plan should already cover a GLP-1 for diabetes.

Who may qualify

  • Not applicable to Ozempic

How to apply

Not applicable to Ozempic.

How to apply for Ozempic assistance

The written steps are complete on their own; the video above will walk through the same process when it is published.

  1. Step 1 — Find the applicable assistance program

    For Ozempic on Medicare in 2026 the manufacturer's patient assistance program is closed to you and no charity fund is open, so the realistic order is: confirm your Part D coverage, check Extra Help, then weigh Novo's self-pay price.

    • Confirm your Part D plan covers Ozempic for type 2 diabetes and whether prior authorization is needed.
    • Limited income and resources → Medicare Extra Help through Social Security.
    • High copay and not near the $2,100 cap → compare NovoCare Pharmacy's self-pay price ($199 for the first two fills, then $349–$499) against your plan cost.
    • Uninsured, not Medicare, income at or below 200% FPL → Novo Nordisk PAP.
    • Type 2 diabetes → sign up for TotalAssist and HealthWell diabetes-fund alerts; both were closed when checked.
  2. Step 2 — Check whether applications are currently open

    Ozempic is on the Novo PAP product list and on the TotalAssist and HealthWell fund lists — but for Medicare beneficiaries the PAP is closed for Ozempic in 2026, and both diabetes funds were closed when we checked. Being listed is not the same as being open.

    • Novo Nordisk PAP: the eligibility page states the current Medicare rule; Part D patients may apply for next year after October 15, 2026.
    • TotalAssist: totalassist.org/funds shows "Open" or "Closed" for the Type 2 diabetes (T2DM) fund.
    • HealthWell: the Disease Funds page shows the Type 2 Diabetes fund status; closed funds reopen as money is replenished.
  3. Step 3 — Check eligibility

    For the routes that were open:

    • Extra Help: income below about $23,940 a year (one person) or $32,460 (couple) and countable resources limited to $18,090 or $36,100 in 2026; automatic if you have Medicaid, SSI or a Medicare Savings Program.
    • NovoCare Pharmacy self-pay: a valid Ozempic prescription for an FDA-approved use; Medicare enrollees may self-pay but must not seek reimbursement or count the cost toward their plan.
    • TotalAssist (when open): government insurance covering Ozempic; income at or below 500% FPL, cost-of-living adjusted; type 2 diabetes in treatment.
    • HealthWell (when open): insurance covering part of the drug; income up to 300% FPL; provider-verified diagnosis.
  4. Step 4 — Gather your information

    Have these ready so you can act quickly when a fund opens — TotalAssist applications are decided instantly, and closed funds reopen without a queue.

    • Medicare card and your Part D / Medicare Advantage drug-plan card (carrier, plan type, policy ID, group number).
    • Your Ozempic prescription: strength and dose, plus your prescriber's name, phone and address.
    • Type 2 diabetes diagnosis and the date of diagnosis if within the past 6 months.
    • Household size and annual household income, with proof (tax return, Social Security or pension statements, pay stubs).
    • Your copay or coinsurance amount for Ozempic.
    • Social Security number (TotalAssist and HealthWell both ask for it).
  5. Step 5 — Complete the application

    Who fills out what:

    • Extra Help: you (or someone helping you) apply through Social Security — online, by phone at 1-800-772-1213, or in person. It is free.
    • NovoCare Pharmacy: your prescriber sends the prescription to NovoCare Pharmacy; you complete the purchase online.
    • Novo Nordisk PAP (uninsured patients): you submit the patient portion online, then your prescriber completes the provider portion.
    • TotalAssist (when open): you apply online in about 15 minutes; Patient Advocate Foundation verifies your diagnosis with your provider and verifies income automatically.
    • HealthWell (when open): you apply online or by phone; your provider verifies the diagnosis by signature.
  6. Step 6 — Submit and wait for a determination

    What to expect:

    • Extra Help: Social Security notifies you by mail; if approved, your Part D plan applies the lower copays.
    • Novo Nordisk PAP: complete applications are processed within 2 business days, and approved medicine ships within about 5 business days.
    • TotalAssist: an instant decision when you submit; proof of income due within 30 days.
    • HealthWell: a decision after your provider verifies the diagnosis; assistance is issued as a pharmacy card.
  7. Step 7 — If the program is closed or you don't qualify

    Do not stop at "closed":

    • Sign up for TotalAssist and HealthWell fund alerts — there is no waitlist, so being notified first matters.
    • Ask your doctor whether a covered alternative is appropriate, or request a formulary exception or tier reduction.
    • Apply for Extra Help even if you think you earn too much — the limits are higher than many people expect.
    • Use the Medicare Prescription Payment Plan to spread this year's costs over monthly payments.
    • Compare Part D plans in the fall — and note that the negotiated Ozempic price takes effect January 1, 2027.
    • Call Vernal Medicare — we'll check every route above with you, free.

What you'll need

Only items the programs above actually ask for. Gather these before you start.

  • Medicare card and your Part D or Medicare Advantage drug-plan card — plan name, member ID and group number
  • Prescription details — medication name, strength and dose; prescriber name, office phone and address
  • Diagnosis and date of diagnosis — TotalAssist needs the exact date if diagnosed within the past 6 months
  • Household size and annual household income — and proof — tax return, Social Security or pension statements, or pay stubs
  • Copay or coinsurance amount for Ozempic — TotalAssist asks for it
  • Social Security number — TotalAssist and HealthWell
  • Medicaid denial letter — Novo Nordisk PAP, uninsured applicants
  • Bank, retirement and pension statements — Extra Help application (resources)

If assistance is unavailable

A closed fund or a denial is not the end of the road. Check these next:

  1. Ask your doctor whether a covered alternative is appropriate — GLP-1 tiering and prior-authorization rules differ by plan, and a formulary exception is possible when Ozempic is medically necessary. Formulary lookup
  2. Sign up for TotalAssist fund notifications so you hear the moment a Ozempic fund reopens — there is no waitlist or queue, so speed matters. TotalAssist notifications
  3. Sign up for HealthWell fund alerts for the same reason; HealthWell says closed funds reopen as funding is replenished. HealthWell disease funds
  4. Check Medicare Extra Help — it does not depend on a fund balance and lowers the cost of every covered drug, not just this one. Extra Help in Utah
  5. Ask your doctor's office — many practices have staff who handle assistance applications routinely and can request a formulary exception or a lower-cost alternative.
  6. Use the Medicare Prescription Payment Plan to spread this year's out-of-pocket costs across monthly payments (it does not lower the total). Medicare.gov
  7. Compare Part D and Medicare Advantage drug plans during the fall enrollment period — the tier and cost-sharing for Ozempic differ from plan to plan. Part D plans in Vernal

Could Medicare Extra Help reduce your Ozempic costs?

Extra Help is not a grant for Ozempic. It is a Medicare program that lowers what qualifying beneficiaries pay for their Part D premium, deductible and every covered prescription — so it is worth checking even when a charitable fund is closed, because it does not depend on fund balances.

With Novo Nordisk's PAP closed to Medicare beneficiaries for Ozempic and the diabetes funds closed, Extra Help is the route that stays open year-round — and it works inside your Part D plan, unlike the self-pay price.

In 2026, people with full Extra Help generally pay no more than $12.65 for a covered brand-name drug. Income must be below about $23,940 a year for one person ($32,460 for a couple) and countable resources under $18,090 ($36,100 for a couple). Apply free through Social Security — online, by phone at 1-800-772-1213, or in person — and never pay anyone to apply for you.

Government program

Medicare Extra Help (Part D Low-Income Subsidy)

Medicare / Social Security Administration

Accepting applications Medicare: may apply

Status: Year-round federal program (figures for 2026)

Not a grant for one drug — a Medicare program that lowers what qualifying beneficiaries pay for their Part D premium, deductible and every covered prescription.

If you have Medicare: For people with Medicare Part D or a Medicare Advantage drug plan who have limited income and resources.

What it can cover: Part D premium and deductible (often to $0) and reduced copays — generally no more than $12.65 for a covered brand-name drug in 2026 with full Extra Help.

Who may qualify

  • Income below 150% of the federal poverty level — about $23,940 a year for one person or $32,460 for a married couple in 2026.
  • Countable resources (savings, investments — not your home or car) limited to $18,090 for an individual or $36,100 for a married couple living together in 2026 (Medicare.gov figures, which include a burial-expense allowance).
  • Automatic if you have Medicaid, Supplemental Security Income (SSI), or a Medicare Savings Program.

What the application asks for

  • Social Security number and Medicare number
  • Income (Social Security, pensions, wages) for you and a spouse you live with
  • Value of savings, investments and other countable resources

How to apply

You (or someone helping you) apply free through Social Security — online, by phone, or at a Social Security office. There is never a fee to apply.

Key terms on this page

Patient assistance program (PAP)
A manufacturer program that provides its medication free or at low cost to people who meet income and insurance rules. Many PAPs accept Medicare Part D enrollees; each sets its own criteria.
Copay card / savings card
A manufacturer discount for commercially insured patients. Federal anti-kickback rules mean these cards generally cannot be used with Medicare, Medicaid or other government insurance.
Charitable copay grant
Money from a nonprofit foundation (for example HealthWell or Patient Advocate Foundation) that pays eligible copays or coinsurance for a specific diagnosis. A drug can be listed while the fund is closed to new applicants.
Federal poverty level (FPL)
A federal income measure that assistance programs use as a yardstick — "300% of FPL", "500% of FPL". The percentage is a rule, but the dollar figure behind it comes from a table each program publishes itself, built on a chosen year of the HHS poverty guidelines. Two programs can quote the same percentage in the same year and still list different dollar limits; compare each program against its own table, not against another program.
Medicare Extra Help
The Part D Low-Income Subsidy: a Medicare program that lowers or eliminates Part D premiums, deductibles and copays for beneficiaries with limited income and resources. You apply through Social Security.
Maximum Fair Price (MFP)
The price Medicare negotiated for a selected drug under the Medicare Drug Price Negotiation Program. It applies to Part D plans, not to the pharmacy cash price, and it lowers what plans and enrollees pay for that drug.

Related medication assistance guides

Frequently Asked Questions

Can Medicare help pay for Ozempic?
Medicare Part D and Medicare Advantage drug plans cover Ozempic when it is prescribed for type 2 diabetes (not for weight loss), usually with prior authorization. Your copay depends on your plan's tier, and Part D out-of-pocket costs are capped at $2,100 in 2026. A Medicare-negotiated price of $274 for a 30-day supply takes effect January 1, 2027. If your income and resources are limited, Medicare Extra Help can lower a covered brand-name copay to about $12.65 now. See Does Medicare cover Ozempic or Wegovy?
Is there an Ozempic patient assistance program for people on Medicare?
Not in 2026. Novo Nordisk's Patient Assistance Program states that Medicare beneficiaries with prescription drug coverage are no longer eligible to receive Ozempic through the program; uninsured patients at or below 200% of the federal poverty level still can. Medicare Part D patients may apply for next year's enrollment after October 15, 2026, but Novo has not said whether Ozempic will be available to them in 2027. We will update this page when that is published.
Can I use the Ozempic savings offer with Medicare?
No. Novo's terms say government beneficiaries are excluded and treat anyone enrolled in Medicare, Medigap, Medicaid, VA, DoD or TRICARE as government-insured, even if they also have a commercial plan. Federal anti-kickback rules are the reason manufacturer copay offers exclude government insurance.
What is the NovoCare Pharmacy self-pay price, and can I use it with Medicare?
New patients pay $199 a month for the first two fills of 0.25 mg or 0.5 mg (through December 31, 2026), then $349 a month for 0.25–1 mg or $499 a month for 2 mg. Novo states government-insured patients may use it if they self-pay and process outside their insurance; you agree not to seek reimbursement or count the cost toward your plan's deductible or out-of-pocket limit. Compare it with your Part D copay before switching.
Does the $50-a-month Medicare GLP-1 program cover Ozempic?
No. The Medicare GLP-1 Bridge (July 1, 2026 – December 31, 2027) covers Foundayo, Wegovy and the Zepbound KwikPen for weight management and excludes people with type 2 diabetes. Ozempic is not an eligible Bridge drug; if you take Ozempic for diabetes, your route is regular Part D coverage.
Is there a charitable grant for Ozempic right now?
Not when we checked on August 26, 2026. Ozempic is on the type 2 diabetes fund lists at TotalAssist and HealthWell, but both funds were closed to new applicants, and Good Days has no diabetes program. Sign up for notifications at totalassist.org/notify and on the HealthWell fund page so you hear when one reopens.
Can my doctor's office apply for me?
For TotalAssist and HealthWell you (the patient) apply, and the foundation verifies the diagnosis with your provider; the Novo PAP has a patient portion and a prescriber portion. Your doctor's office also handles the prior-authorization request most Part D plans require for Ozempic and can request a formulary exception. Vernal Medicare can help you work through the options, free.
What happens if the fund is closed?
TotalAssist offers text, email or phone notifications with no waitlist or queue, and HealthWell says closed funds reopen as funding is replenished. While you wait: apply for Extra Help, weigh the self-pay price against your plan copay, ask your doctor about a formulary exception, and compare Part D plans in the fall. See all prescription assistance options.

Sources

Having trouble figuring out your prescription costs?

If you live in Vernal or the Uintah Basin, Vernal Medicare can help you understand your Medicare prescription coverage and where to look for Ozempic assistance — free, no pressure. We don't award grants or decide eligibility; the programs above do. We help you find and apply to the right ones.

Call 435-219-5120 Schedule a Free Review

Call Text Us