📧 rocco@vernalmedicare.com 📞 435-219-5120 (TTY: 711) Search 🌐 EnglishEspañol

Diabetes & Blood Sugar · Weight Management / GLP-1 · Heart & Blood Pressure

Trulicity Assistance Programs & Grants in Utah

Assistance information last verified: August 2026

Yes — and this is one of the clearer cases on Medicare. Lilly Cares provides Trulicity free to people with Medicare Part D whose household income is at or below 300% of the federal poverty level, and it is currently accepting new Trulicity applications. The savings card excludes Medicare. Both type 2 diabetes charity funds we checked were closed to new applicants, and the Medicare GLP-1 Bridge does not cover Trulicity. Financial assistance may be available through charitable foundations, manufacturer programs, Medicare's Extra Help program, or other assistance resources. Availability and eligibility change frequently — the information on this page was verified in August 2026.

How to Apply for Trulicity Assistance A short walkthrough of the Lilly Cares application, the Extra Help rule that decides whether you use it, and why the GLP-1 Bridge is not a Trulicity route.

Can I get help paying for Trulicity?

Yes — and this is one of the clearer cases on Medicare. Lilly Cares provides Trulicity free to people with Medicare Part D whose household income is at or below 300% of the federal poverty level, and it is currently accepting new Trulicity applications. The savings card excludes Medicare. Both type 2 diabetes charity funds we checked were closed to new applicants, and the Medicare GLP-1 Bridge does not cover Trulicity.

  • Lilly Cares Foundation: Trulicity is a Group 1 medication — "for patients who have no insurance or have Medicare Part D and have a household annual adjusted gross income at or below 300% Federal Poverty Level." Lilly Cares posted that new Trulicity applications are being accepted again and no longer need a medical exception request.
  • You cannot use Lilly Cares if you are enrolled in Medicaid, full Extra Help (the Part D Low-Income Subsidy) or VA benefits — those are treated as alternatives to the program, not additions to it.
  • Trulicity Savings Card: commercially insured patients only. Lilly's terms exclude Medicare, Medicare Part D, Medicare Advantage, Medigap, Medicaid, TRICARE, DoD and VA.
  • Charitable grants: TotalAssist's Type 2 diabetes fund and its health-equity twin, and HealthWell's Type 2 Diabetes fund, all list Trulicity and all were closed to new applicants when we checked. Good Days has no diabetes fund.
  • Medicare GLP-1 Bridge: not a route for Trulicity. The Bridge names dulaglutide in its definition of a GLP-1 drug, and you are not eligible if you can get a GLP-1 through your Medicare drug plan or if you have type 2 diabetes.
  • LillyDirect self-pay starts at $389 a month. Part D enrollees may buy at that price, but Lilly's terms say none of it counts toward your Part D out-of-pocket total.

3 of the 7 programs we checked for Trulicity were accepting applications when verified in August 2026.

About Trulicity (dulaglutide)

Trulicity is a once-weekly injection that helps lower blood sugar in adults and children aged 10 and older with type 2 diabetes, and lowers the risk of major cardiovascular events in adults with type 2 diabetes who already have heart disease or several risk factors for it.

Approved uses

  • Improving blood-sugar control, with diet and exercise, in adults and children aged 10 and older with type 2 diabetes
  • Reducing the risk of major adverse cardiovascular events in adults with type 2 diabetes who have established cardiovascular disease or multiple cardiovascular risk factors

Manufacturer: Eli Lilly and Company

Why Trulicity can be expensive on Medicare

Trulicity is a brand-only injectable with no generic, so Part D plans place it on a brand or specialty tier where you pay a percentage of the price rather than a flat copay. GLP-1 medicines are also a common target for prior authorization and step therapy, which can delay a fill or push you toward a different medicine first.

Medicare coverage context

Medicare Part D and Medicare Advantage drug plans generally cover Trulicity when it is prescribed for type 2 diabetes — Part D covers GLP-1 medicines for diabetes, not for weight loss alone. Part D out-of-pocket costs are capped at $2,100 in 2026, and the Medicare Prescription Payment Plan lets you spread that across monthly payments. Trulicity is not on the Medicare-negotiated drug lists for 2026 or 2027, so your cost is set entirely by your plan's tier and cost-sharing. One thing to know before you go looking: the Medicare GLP-1 Bridge does not apply to you if your plan already covers Trulicity.

Trulicity assistance options at a glance

Every program we checked, what kind of help it is, whether people with Medicare can use it, and its status when we verified it. A medication being listed by a program is not the same as the program accepting applications.

About the income limits below: Income limits can differ between assistance programs even when both describe their eligibility as the same percentage of the federal poverty level. The dollar limits shown here come from each program's own published income table, and each program decides which year's poverty guidelines that table is built from and when it takes effect. Treat the figures as belonging to the program they are listed under — they are not interchangeable, and only the program can tell you which table it is applying to your application today.

Trulicity assistance programs compared
ProgramType of helpPeople with MedicareStatus (August 2026)
Lilly Cares Foundation Patient Assistance Program Manufacturer patient assistance with conditions Accepting applications
Trulicity Savings Card Commercial copay / savings card not eligible Open with limits
LillyDirect self-pay pricing Manufacturer self-pay pricing with conditions Accepting applications
Medicare GLP-1 Bridge ($50 a month, CMS demonstration) Government program not eligible No program found
TotalAssist — Type 2 diabetes funds Charitable grant may apply Closed to new applicants
HealthWell Foundation — Type 2 Diabetes fund Charitable grant may apply Closed to new applicants
Good Days Charitable grant not stated No program found
Medicare Extra Help (Part D Low-Income Subsidy) Government program may apply Accepting applications

Manufacturer programs from Eli Lilly and Company

A patient assistance program (free or low-cost drug by income) is not the same as a copay card (a commercial discount that usually excludes Medicare). Both are listed so you can see which one applies to you.

Manufacturer patient assistance

Lilly Cares Foundation Patient Assistance Program

Lilly Cares Foundation

Accepting applications Medicare: with conditions

Status: Accepting applications on August 26, 2026. The Lilly Cares medication page carries a notice: "New applications for Trulicity are once again being accepted, and no longer require a medical exception request." Where a product IS restricted, Lilly Cares says so on the same page — Reyvow is marked "limited to currently enrolled and re-enrolling patients." Trulicity carries no such restriction.

A charitable foundation funded by Eli Lilly that supplies prescribed Lilly medicines free to patients in financial need. Trulicity is on the current available-medications list and in the Group 1 income tier.

If you have Medicare: Medicare Part D enrollees may apply. Trulicity is a Group 1 medication, and Lilly Cares defines Group 1 as "for patients who have no insurance or have Medicare Part D and have a household annual adjusted gross income ≤ 300% Federal Poverty Level." The condition that catches people out: you must NOT be enrolled in Medicaid, full Low-Income Subsidy (Extra Help) or Veterans benefits. If you qualify for full Extra Help, that is your route instead of Lilly Cares.

What it can cover: Trulicity at no cost to approved patients for the enrollment term.

Who may qualify

  • Permanent resident of the United States, including Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands
  • A prescription from your healthcare provider for Trulicity
  • No insurance, or Medicare Part D coverage (the Group 1 insurance rule)
  • Household annual adjusted gross income at or below 300% of the federal poverty level. On the Lilly Cares Group 1 table — which the program states is built on the 2026 Federal Poverty Guidelines — that is $47,880 for one person, $64,920 for two, $81,960 for three, $99,000 for four, $116,040 for five and $133,080 for six. Alaska and Hawaii limits differ; call the program.
  • Not enrolled in Medicaid, full Low-Income Subsidy (Extra Help) or Veterans (VA) benefits
  • Your insurance plan or a third party must not require you to apply to Lilly Cares as a condition of coverage (what Lilly calls an alternate funding program)

What the application asks for

  • Completed patient section of the Lilly Cares application, signed and dated
  • Your healthcare provider completes and signs the prescriber section
  • Proof of household income, and copies of your insurance cards

How to apply

Apply online at lillycares.com, or download the application PDF, complete the patient section, have your prescriber complete theirs, and fax or mail it. Lilly Cares recommends the electronic application to reduce paperwork and delays. There is never a fee.

Commercial copay / savings card

Trulicity Savings Card

Eli Lilly and Company

Open with limits Medicare: not eligible

Status: Running, but not for you if you have Medicare. The card expires and savings end on December 31, 2026 under the terms posted on August 26, 2026.

A commercial copay card. Eligible patients with commercial drug insurance covering Trulicity may pay as little as $25 for a one-, two- or three-month fill. It is listed here so you can see why it does not apply to you, not because it might.

If you have Medicare: Lilly's card eligibility says you must not be "enrolled in any state, federal, or government funded healthcare program, including, without limitation, Medicaid, Medicare, Medicare Part D, Medicare Advantage, Medigap, DoD, VA, TRICARE/CHAMPUS, or any state prescription drug assistance program." If you start receiving drug coverage under any of those, Lilly asks you to call and stop participation.

What it can cover: Up to $150 per one-month fill, $300 per two-month fill or $450 per three-month fill, with a separate annual maximum of $1,950 and up to 13 fills per calendar year.

Who may qualify

  • Enrolled in a commercial drug insurance plan with coverage for Trulicity
  • Not enrolled in any state, federal or government-funded healthcare program — Medicare and Medicare Part D are named explicitly
  • A prescription for an approved use consistent with the FDA-approved labeling

How to apply

Not applicable if you have Medicare. Commercially insured patients enrol through the Trulicity savings page.

Manufacturer self-pay pricing

LillyDirect self-pay pricing

Eli Lilly and Company

Accepting applications Medicare: with conditions

Status: Available on August 26, 2026 — a cash price, not insurance and not assistance.

Lilly sells Trulicity directly to self-pay patients through LillyDirect, starting at $389 a month for the 0.75 mg/0.5 mL starting dose. A prescription is still required; your prescriber sends it to the LillyDirect pharmacy partner.

If you have Medicare: You may buy Trulicity at the self-pay price while enrolled in Medicare, but the purchase terms require that you not seek reimbursement from any plan and, if you have Part D, that you not count any part of what you pay toward your Medicare Part D true out-of-pocket (TrOOP) total. In plain terms: paying cash here does not move you toward the $2,100 Part D cap.

What it can cover: A cash price for the medication only. Taxes and fees may apply.

Who may qualify

  • A valid Trulicity prescription
  • Willingness to pay cash and forgo insurance reimbursement for that fill

How to apply

Ask your prescriber to send the prescription to the LillyDirect pharmacy partner listed on the LillyDirect Trulicity page. The pharmacy contacts you to confirm details and complete checkout.

Charitable grants for Trulicity

Three diabetes funds list Trulicity, and on August 26, 2026 every one of them was closed to new applicants: TotalAssist's Type 2 diabetes fund, its health-equity twin, and HealthWell's Type 2 Diabetes fund. Good Days has no diabetes fund at all. Being listed is not the same as being open — sign up for fund alerts so you hear when one reopens. The good news for Trulicity is that the route that does not depend on a fund balance, Lilly Cares, was open and accepting Medicare Part D patients when we checked.

Charitable grant

TotalAssist — Type 2 diabetes funds

Patient Advocate Foundation · Type 2 diabetes (T2DM) · Type 2 diabetes (T2DM) health equity

Closed to new applicants Medicare: may apply

Status: Both the Type 2 diabetes fund and its health-equity twin were closed to new applicants on August 26, 2026, even though Trulicity is on each fund's approved-medication list.

Patient Advocate Foundation's TotalAssist (which absorbed the PAN Foundation's funds on July 1, 2026) lists Trulicity under its Type 2 diabetes funds. A listing is not an open fund — both were closed when we checked. Sign up to be notified the moment one reopens; TotalAssist has no waitlist or queue.

If you have Medicare: When open, these funds require government insurance (Medicare, Medicaid or TRICARE) that covers your Trulicity costs.

What it can cover: When open: $2,000 guaranteed award for eligible out-of-pocket costs, one grant per condition.

Who may qualify

  • Government-insured coverage (Medicare, Medicaid or TRICARE) that covers your qualifying expenses
  • Household income at or below 500% of the federal poverty level, adjusted for your regional cost-of-living index
  • Confirmed diagnosis matching the fund, and in treatment (or starting within 60 days, or treated in the past 6 months)
  • Legal U.S. resident receiving treatment in the U.S. or a U.S. territory

What the application asks for

  • Contact information and Social Security number (or alien number)
  • Annual household income (for pre-screening; proof of income due within 30 days of approval)
  • Health insurance carrier, plan type, policy ID and group number; Medicare supplement or secondary insurance if you have one
  • Copay or coinsurance amounts
  • Your provider's name and contact information, diagnosis (exact date if within 6 months), prescribed medications and treatment plan

How to apply

Sign up for fund notifications (text, email or automated call) at totalassist.org/notify. When a fund opens: You (the patient) apply online — it takes about 15 minutes and you learn immediately whether you are approved — or call 866-512-3861, Monday–Friday 8:30am–5:30pm ET. Patient Advocate Foundation verifies your diagnosis and treatment plan directly with your provider and verifies income automatically; you have 30 days after approval to provide proof of income.

Charitable grant

HealthWell Foundation — Type 2 Diabetes fund

HealthWell Foundation · Type 2 Diabetes

Closed to new applicants Medicare: may apply

Status: The fund was "temporarily closed to new patients due to lack of sufficient funding" on August 26, 2026. Trulicity and dulaglutide are both on its covered-treatments list.

HealthWell lists Trulicity on its Type 2 Diabetes fund. HealthWell states that closed funds reopen as funding is replenished, and offers real-time alerts for each fund.

If you have Medicare: When open, HealthWell requires insurance that pays part of the cost of the drug — Medicare Part D qualifies. A discount card does not count as insurance.

What it can cover: When open: up to $1,000 as a pharmacy card. Household income up to 500% of the federal poverty level.

Who may qualify

  • Insurance that covers part of the cost of Trulicity (Medicare qualifies)
  • Household income up to 500% of the federal poverty level, adjusted for household size and cost of living
  • A type 2 diabetes diagnosis verified by your provider

What the application asks for

  • Some form of health insurance (Medicare qualifies) that covers part of the cost of the drug — discount cards do not count
  • Social Security number (used to prevent duplicate applications)
  • Diagnosis verified by a physician's, nurse practitioner's or physician assistant's signature
  • Treatment in the United States

How to apply

When a fund is open, apply online or by phone; your provider verifies the diagnosis by signature. When a fund is closed, sign up for that fund's real-time alerts — HealthWell says replenished funds reopen "as quickly as possible."

Charitable grant

Good Days

Good Days

No program found Medicare: not stated

Status: Good Days lists no type 2 diabetes program among the diseases it covers (checked August 26, 2026).

An honest negative: we looked, and there is no Good Days program covering Trulicity's diagnosis.

If you have Medicare: Not applicable — no matching program.

How to apply

Not applicable.

Other government routes

Medicare and state programs that lower prescription costs for people with limited income and resources.

Government program

Medicare GLP-1 Bridge ($50 a month, CMS demonstration)

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

No program found Medicare: not eligible

Status: Running July 1, 2026 – December 31, 2027, but it is not a route for Trulicity. Recorded here because it is the first thing people ask about after hearing "GLP-1" and "$50" in the same sentence.

A short-term CMS demonstration giving eligible Part D beneficiaries certain GLP-1 drugs for a $50 copay, for weight management. Trulicity is not one of the covered drugs, and people taking a GLP-1 through their Part D plan are told to keep getting it that way.

If you have Medicare: Two separate rules shut this door. Medicare's own guidance says you are not eligible if you can receive a GLP-1 drug through your Medicare drug plan — and it defines GLP-1 drugs as products containing semaglutide, tirzepatide, orforglipron, dulaglutide or liraglutide, which includes Trulicity. It also says you are not eligible if you have type 2 diabetes, because your drug plan should already cover a GLP-1 for you.

How to apply

Not applicable to Trulicity. If you want to check the Bridge for another reason, start at Medicare.gov or call 1-800-MEDICARE.

How to apply for Trulicity assistance

The written steps are complete on their own; the video above will walk through the same process when it is published.

  1. Step 1 — Find the applicable assistance program

    For Trulicity on Medicare the order matters, because the two strongest routes exclude each other. Work down this list:

    • Limited income and resources → apply for Medicare Extra Help through Social Security first. It is free, it lasts, and it lowers every covered drug.
    • On Medicare Part D, not on Medicaid or full Extra Help or VA benefits, household income at or below 300% of the poverty level → Lilly Cares (free Trulicity).
    • Type 2 diabetes and government insurance → sign up for TotalAssist and HealthWell alerts; both diabetes funds were closed when we checked.
    • Paying cash by choice → LillyDirect self-pay from $389 a month, knowing it does not count toward your Part D cap.
    • Commercial insurance rather than Medicare → the Trulicity Savings Card, which Medicare rules out.
  2. Step 2 — Check whether applications are currently open

    Trulicity appears in TotalAssist's medication index and on HealthWell's Type 2 Diabetes fund page, but a listing does not mean funding is available. On the day we checked, neither charity fund was open and Lilly Cares was. Status changes without notice.

    • Lilly Cares: the available-medications page at lillycares.com carries any restriction notice for a specific product — check it before you apply.
    • TotalAssist: the fund list at totalassist.org/funds shows "Open" or "Closed" for every fund.
    • HealthWell: the Disease Funds page shows each fund's status; closed funds reopen as money is replenished.
  3. Step 3 — Check eligibility

    Each program sets its own rules. For Trulicity on August 26, 2026, these are the ones that decide your application:

    • Lilly Cares: Medicare Part D (or no insurance); household adjusted gross income at or below $47,880 for one person or $64,920 for two on the program's 2026 table; and not enrolled in Medicaid, full Extra Help or VA benefits.
    • TotalAssist (when open): government insurance covering Trulicity; income at or below 500% FPL adjusted for local cost of living; a type 2 diabetes diagnosis in treatment.
    • HealthWell (when open): insurance that pays part of the cost; income up to 500% FPL; a provider-verified diagnosis.
    • Extra Help: income below about $23,940 a year (one person) or $32,460 (couple) and countable resources limited to $18,090 or $36,100 in 2026.
  4. Step 4 — Gather your information

    Lilly Cares recommends the electronic application to reduce paperwork and delays. Have these ready before you start:

    • Medicare card and your Part D or Medicare Advantage drug-plan card.
    • Household size and household adjusted gross income, plus proof — your most recent federal tax return is the usual document.
    • Your Trulicity prescription details and your prescriber's name, office address, phone and fax.
    • If you have applied for Extra Help, the result — Lilly Cares needs to know you are not enrolled in the full subsidy.
  5. Step 5 — Complete the application

    Who fills out what:

    • Lilly Cares: you complete the patient section; your prescriber completes and signs the prescriber section. Apply online at lillycares.com, or fax the form to 1-844-431-6650, or mail it to PO Box 501847, San Diego, CA 92150.
    • TotalAssist (when open): you apply online in about 15 minutes or by phone; Patient Advocate Foundation verifies your diagnosis with your provider.
    • HealthWell (when open): you apply online or by phone; your provider verifies the diagnosis by signature.
    • Extra Help: you (or someone helping you) apply through Social Security — online, by phone at 1-800-772-1213, or in person. It is free.
  6. Step 6 — Submit and wait for a determination

    What to expect:

    • Lilly Cares: the foundation notifies you and your prescriber of the decision. Call 1-800-545-6962, Monday–Friday 8am–6pm ET, to check on an application or a shipment.
    • Extra Help: Social Security notifies you by mail; if approved, your Part D plan applies the lower copays.
    • TotalAssist (when open): you learn immediately whether you are approved; proof of income is due within 30 days.
  7. Step 7 — If the program is closed or you don't qualify

    Do not stop at "closed" or "denied":

    • Sign up for TotalAssist and HealthWell alerts so you hear when a diabetes fund reopens — there is no waitlist or queue.
    • If Lilly Cares turned you down because you are enrolled in full Extra Help, that is not a dead end — Extra Help is the stronger benefit, because it lowers the cost of every covered drug.
    • If Lilly Cares turned you down on income, apply for Extra Help anyway; its limits surprise people.
    • Ask your doctor whether another diabetes medicine on your plan's preferred tier would work for you, or about a formulary exception if Trulicity is the one you need.
    • Use the Medicare Prescription Payment Plan to spread this year's out-of-pocket costs across monthly payments.
    • Call Vernal Medicare — we'll go through every route above with you, free.

What you'll need

Only items the programs above actually ask for. Gather these before you start.

  • Medicare card and your Part D or Medicare Advantage drug-plan card — plan name, member ID and group number
  • Prescription details — medication name, strength and dose; prescriber name, office phone and address
  • Diagnosis and date of diagnosis — TotalAssist needs the exact date if diagnosed within the past 6 months
  • Household size and annual household income — and proof — tax return, Social Security or pension statements, or pay stubs
  • Most recent federal tax return — Lilly Cares — proof of household adjusted gross income
  • Prescriber name, office address, phone and fax — Lilly Cares — your prescriber signs their own section

If assistance is unavailable

A closed fund or a denial is not the end of the road. Check these next:

  1. If Lilly Cares declined you because you are enrolled in full Extra Help, you already hold the better benefit — confirm your Part D plan is applying the subsidised copays. Extra Help explained (Utah)
  2. Sign up for TotalAssist fund notifications so you hear the moment a Trulicity fund reopens — there is no waitlist or queue, so speed matters. TotalAssist notifications
  3. Sign up for HealthWell fund alerts for the same reason; HealthWell says closed funds reopen as funding is replenished. HealthWell disease funds
  4. Check Medicare Extra Help — it does not depend on a fund balance and lowers the cost of every covered drug, not just this one. Extra Help in Utah
  5. Ask your doctor's office — many practices have staff who handle assistance applications routinely and can request a formulary exception or a lower-cost alternative.
  6. Use the Medicare Prescription Payment Plan to spread this year's out-of-pocket costs across monthly payments (it does not lower the total). Medicare.gov
  7. Compare Part D and Medicare Advantage drug plans during the fall enrollment period — the tier and cost-sharing for Trulicity differ from plan to plan. Part D plans in Vernal

Could Medicare Extra Help reduce your Trulicity costs?

Extra Help is not a grant for Trulicity. It is a Medicare program that lowers what qualifying beneficiaries pay for their Part D premium, deductible and every covered prescription — so it is worth checking even when a charitable fund is closed, because it does not depend on fund balances.

For Trulicity, Extra Help and Lilly Cares are alternatives, not a pair: Lilly Cares excludes anyone enrolled in full Extra Help. Check Extra Help first — it lowers the copay on every covered drug, not only Trulicity. If your income and resources are above the Extra Help limits but your household income is still at or below 300% of the poverty level, Lilly Cares is the route.

In 2026, people with full Extra Help generally pay no more than $12.65 for a covered brand-name drug. Income must be below about $23,940 a year for one person ($32,460 for a couple) and countable resources under $18,090 ($36,100 for a couple). Apply free through Social Security — online, by phone at 1-800-772-1213, or in person — and never pay anyone to apply for you.

Government program

Medicare Extra Help (Part D Low-Income Subsidy)

Medicare / Social Security Administration

Accepting applications Medicare: may apply

Status: Year-round federal program (figures for 2026)

Not a grant for one drug — a Medicare program that lowers what qualifying beneficiaries pay for their Part D premium, deductible and every covered prescription.

If you have Medicare: For people with Medicare Part D or a Medicare Advantage drug plan who have limited income and resources.

What it can cover: Part D premium and deductible (often to $0) and reduced copays — generally no more than $12.65 for a covered brand-name drug in 2026 with full Extra Help.

Who may qualify

  • Income below 150% of the federal poverty level — about $23,940 a year for one person or $32,460 for a married couple in 2026.
  • Countable resources (savings, investments — not your home or car) limited to $18,090 for an individual or $36,100 for a married couple living together in 2026 (Medicare.gov figures, which include a burial-expense allowance).
  • Automatic if you have Medicaid, Supplemental Security Income (SSI), or a Medicare Savings Program.

What the application asks for

  • Social Security number and Medicare number
  • Income (Social Security, pensions, wages) for you and a spouse you live with
  • Value of savings, investments and other countable resources

How to apply

You (or someone helping you) apply free through Social Security — online, by phone, or at a Social Security office. There is never a fee to apply.

Key terms on this page

Patient assistance program (PAP)
A manufacturer program that provides its medication free or at low cost to people who meet income and insurance rules. Many PAPs accept Medicare Part D enrollees; each sets its own criteria.
Copay card / savings card
A manufacturer discount for commercially insured patients. Federal anti-kickback rules mean these cards generally cannot be used with Medicare, Medicaid or other government insurance.
Charitable copay grant
Money from a nonprofit foundation (for example HealthWell or Patient Advocate Foundation) that pays eligible copays or coinsurance for a specific diagnosis. A drug can be listed while the fund is closed to new applicants.
Federal poverty level (FPL)
A federal income measure that assistance programs use as a yardstick — "300% of FPL", "500% of FPL". The percentage is a rule, but the dollar figure behind it comes from a table each program publishes itself, built on a chosen year of the HHS poverty guidelines. Two programs can quote the same percentage in the same year and still list different dollar limits; compare each program against its own table, not against another program.
Medicare Extra Help
The Part D Low-Income Subsidy: a Medicare program that lowers or eliminates Part D premiums, deductibles and copays for beneficiaries with limited income and resources. You apply through Social Security.
Maximum Fair Price (MFP)
The price Medicare negotiated for a selected drug under the Medicare Drug Price Negotiation Program. It applies to Part D plans, not to the pharmacy cash price, and it lowers what plans and enrollees pay for that drug.

Related medication assistance guides

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Medicare cover Trulicity?
Generally yes, when it is prescribed for type 2 diabetes. Medicare Part D and Medicare Advantage drug plans cover GLP-1 medicines such as Trulicity for diabetes — not for weight loss alone — often on a brand or specialty tier and sometimes with prior authorization or step therapy. Part D out-of-pocket costs are capped at $2,100 in 2026. If your income and resources are limited, Medicare Extra Help can lower a covered brand-name copay to about $12.65.
Is there a Trulicity patient assistance program for people on Medicare?
Yes. The Lilly Cares Foundation lists Trulicity as a Group 1 medication, which it defines as "for patients who have no insurance or have Medicare Part D and have a household annual adjusted gross income ≤ 300% Federal Poverty Level." On the program's 2026 table that is $47,880 for one person or $64,920 for two. You are not eligible if you are enrolled in Medicaid, full Extra Help or VA benefits. Apply at lillycares.com or call 1-800-545-6962.
I heard Lilly Cares stopped taking Trulicity applications. Is that still true?
Not as of August 26, 2026. The Lilly Cares available-medications page carries a notice saying "New applications for Trulicity are once again being accepted, and no longer require a medical exception request." Lilly Cares flags restricted products on that same page — Reyvow, for example, is marked as limited to currently enrolled and re-enrolling patients — and Trulicity carries no such restriction. Check the page before you apply, because these notices change.
Can I use the Trulicity Savings Card with Medicare?
No. Lilly's card terms require that you not be enrolled in any state, federal or government-funded healthcare program, and name Medicare, Medicare Part D, Medicare Advantage, Medigap, Medicaid, DoD, VA and TRICARE. If you begin receiving drug coverage under any of those, Lilly asks you to call 1-866-923-1953 to stop participation. Federal rules are the reason — see the key terms lower on this page.
Does the Medicare GLP-1 Bridge cover Trulicity for $50 a month?
No. The Bridge is a CMS demonstration running July 1, 2026 through December 31, 2027 for weight management, and Trulicity is not one of its covered drugs. Two of its rules exclude you anyway: you are not eligible if you can receive a GLP-1 drug through your Medicare drug plan — and Medicare's definition of a GLP-1 drug names dulaglutide, the active ingredient in Trulicity — and you are not eligible if you have type 2 diabetes, because your plan should already cover a GLP-1 for you.
Is there a charitable grant for Trulicity right now?
Not when we checked on August 26, 2026. TotalAssist lists Trulicity under its Type 2 diabetes fund and the health-equity version of that fund, and HealthWell lists it on its Type 2 Diabetes fund — all three were closed to new applicants. Good Days has no diabetes fund. Sign up for TotalAssist and HealthWell alerts and check back; funds reopen when money arrives.
Is there a generic for Trulicity?
No. Dulaglutide is a brand-only injectable with no generic or biosimilar on the U.S. market. If cost is the problem, ask your doctor whether a different diabetes medicine on your plan's preferred tier would work for you, and see all prescription assistance options.

Sources

Having trouble figuring out your prescription costs?

If you live in Vernal or the Uintah Basin, Vernal Medicare can help you understand your Medicare prescription coverage and where to look for Trulicity assistance — free, no pressure. We don't award grants or decide eligibility; the programs above do. We help you find and apply to the right ones.

Call 435-219-5120 Schedule a Free Review

Call Text Us