📧 rocco@vernalmedicare.com 📞 435-219-5120 (TTY: 711) Search 🌐 EnglishEspañol

Diabetes & Blood Sugar · Heart & Blood Pressure

Farxiga Assistance Programs & Grants in Utah

Assistance information last verified: August 2026

Possibly — but the picture for Farxiga changed in 2026. AstraZeneca's AZ&Me patient assistance program stopped taking new Farxiga patients on May 1, 2026, and the main diabetes, heart-failure and kidney charity funds were closed to new applicants when we checked. The routes still open are AstraZeneca's $35 direct-purchase option, one geographically limited TotalAssist heart-failure fund, generic dapagliflozin, and Medicare Extra Help. Financial assistance may be available through charitable foundations, manufacturer programs, Medicare's Extra Help program, or other assistance resources. Availability and eligibility change frequently — the information on this page was verified in August 2026.

How to Apply for Farxiga Assistance A short walkthrough of where to start, how to check eligibility, what to gather, and what to do if a fund is closed.

Can I get help paying for Farxiga?

Possibly — but the picture for Farxiga changed in 2026. AstraZeneca's AZ&Me patient assistance program stopped taking new Farxiga patients on May 1, 2026, and the main diabetes, heart-failure and kidney charity funds were closed to new applicants when we checked. The routes still open are AstraZeneca's $35 direct-purchase option, one geographically limited TotalAssist heart-failure fund, generic dapagliflozin, and Medicare Extra Help.

  • Manufacturer patient assistance: AZ&Me is closed to new Farxiga patients (since May 1, 2026) and removes Farxiga entirely on December 31, 2026.
  • Farxiga Savings Card: excludes Medicare Part D — do not use it with your plan.
  • AstraZeneca Direct lists Farxiga at $35.00 per 30 tablets as a self-pay option; ask ASPN Pharmacies whether Part D enrollees qualify.
  • Charitable grants: Farxiga is on TotalAssist and HealthWell fund lists, but their diabetes, heart-failure and kidney funds were closed — except TotalAssist's zip-code-limited heart-failure health-equity fund.
  • Medicare: negotiated Part D price of $178.50 (30-day) in 2026; Extra Help can cut a covered brand copay to about $12.65 if you qualify.

3 of the 7 programs we checked for Farxiga were accepting applications when verified in August 2026.

About Farxiga (dapagliflozin)

Farxiga is a once-daily SGLT2 inhibitor tablet prescribed for type 2 diabetes, heart failure and chronic kidney disease. It is the medication that started this project — a Vernal customer could not afford it.

Approved uses

  • Chronic kidney disease at risk of progression — to lower the risk of kidney-function decline, kidney failure, cardiovascular death and heart-failure hospitalization
  • Heart failure — to lower the risk of cardiovascular death, hospitalization and urgent heart-failure visits
  • Type 2 diabetes with cardiovascular disease or multiple risk factors — to lower the risk of heart-failure hospitalization
  • Type 2 diabetes — to improve blood sugar control alongside diet and exercise (adults and children 10+)

Manufacturer: AstraZeneca

Why Farxiga can be expensive on Medicare

Farxiga is a brand-name drug that Part D plans usually place on a higher, non-preferred brand tier, so copays or coinsurance can be significant until you reach the annual out-of-pocket cap ($2,100 in 2026). AstraZeneca says generic dapagliflozin became available beginning April 2026 and is winding down its own Farxiga assistance in response — which changes where you should look for help.

Medicare coverage context

Farxiga is generally covered under Medicare Part D (or a Medicare Advantage drug plan) for its approved uses, often with prior authorization or step therapy. It is one of the first ten drugs with a Medicare-negotiated Maximum Fair Price: $178.50 for a 30-day supply in 2026 (versus a $556 list price in 2023, per CMS). That price applies to what plans pay; your copay still depends on your plan's tier and cost-sharing. Ask your pharmacist whether generic dapagliflozin costs less on your plan.

Farxiga assistance options at a glance

Every program we checked, what kind of help it is, whether people with Medicare can use it, and its status when we verified it. A medication being listed by a program is not the same as the program accepting applications.

About the income limits below: Income limits can differ between assistance programs even when both describe their eligibility as the same percentage of the federal poverty level. The dollar limits shown here come from each program's own published income table, and each program decides which year's poverty guidelines that table is built from and when it takes effect. Treat the figures as belonging to the program they are listed under — they are not interchangeable, and only the program can tell you which table it is applying to your application today.

Farxiga assistance programs compared
ProgramType of helpPeople with MedicareStatus (August 2026)
AZ&Me Prescription Savings Program Manufacturer patient assistance with conditions Closed to new applicants
Farxiga Savings Card Commercial copay / savings card not eligible Accepting applications
AstraZeneca Direct — Farxiga self-pay Manufacturer self-pay pricing not stated Accepting applications
TotalAssist — Heart failure (HF) health equity fund Charitable grant may apply Accepting applications
TotalAssist — Type 2 diabetes, heart failure, chronic kidney disease funds Charitable grant may apply Closed to new applicants
HealthWell Foundation — Type 2 Diabetes and heart-failure funds Charitable grant may apply Closed to new applicants
Good Days — Chronic Kidney Disease program Charitable grant not stated Closed to new applicants
Medicare Extra Help (Part D Low-Income Subsidy) Government program may apply Accepting applications

Manufacturer programs from AstraZeneca

A patient assistance program (free or low-cost drug by income) is not the same as a copay card (a commercial discount that usually excludes Medicare). Both are listed so you can see which one applies to you.

Manufacturer patient assistance

AZ&Me Prescription Savings Program

AstraZeneca

Closed to new applicants Medicare: with conditions

Status: Not accepting new Farxiga patients since May 1, 2026. Patients already enrolled keep assistance through December 31, 2026 (final refill request December 15, 2026); AstraZeneca states there are no exceptions or extensions.

AstraZeneca's patient assistance program supplied Farxiga free to eligible patients. AstraZeneca is removing Farxiga and Xigduo XR from AZ&Me by the end of 2026, citing broad generic availability, and now points Farxiga patients to independent nonprofit funds and to AstraZeneca Direct.

If you have Medicare: For the medications AZ&Me still covers, Medicare Part D enrollees may apply if they are not eligible for or enrolled in Extra Help (LIS). That rule no longer helps with Farxiga, because new Farxiga enrollment is closed.

Who may qualify

  • Farxiga: closed to new patients — the rules below apply only to existing Farxiga enrollees and to other AstraZeneca medicines
  • No commercial insurance, and no government insurance other than Medicare
  • Annual adjusted gross income at or below 300% of the federal poverty level (primary and specialty medications)
  • Not receiving any other form of medication assistance

What the application asks for

  • Name, home address, phone and email
  • Health insurance information
  • Household size and adjusted gross income (IRS Form 1040, line 11)
  • AstraZeneca medication name and formulation; prescriber name, office name and address

How to apply

Existing Farxiga enrollees: request refills through AZ&Me by December 15, 2026. New patients cannot apply for Farxiga. (For other AstraZeneca medicines, the patient, a legally authorized representative, or the prescriber's office can apply online or by fax; online decisions may be immediate, faxed applications take 2–4 business days.)

Commercial copay / savings card

Farxiga Savings Card

AstraZeneca

Accepting applications Medicare: not eligible

Status: Active for commercially insured patients when checked on August 26, 2026.

A commercial copay offer: eligible commercially insured patients pay as low as $0 per 30-day supply, with a maximum savings of $175 per 30-day supply.

If you have Medicare: AstraZeneca's terms exclude anyone enrolled in Medicare Part D, Medicaid, Medigap, VA, DoD or TRICARE — and say you may not use the card even if you choose to be processed as a cash-paying patient. Do not use it with Medicare.

Who may qualify

  • Commercial (private or employer) prescription insurance
  • Not enrolled in any state or federally funded prescription program

How to apply

Commercially insured patients activate the card on farxiga.com. Not applicable to Medicare beneficiaries.

Manufacturer self-pay pricing

AstraZeneca Direct — Farxiga self-pay

AstraZeneca (dispensed by ASPN Pharmacies)

Accepting applications Medicare: not stated

Status: Listed at $35.00 per 30 tablets on August 26, 2026; AstraZeneca notes that "offers vary based on eligibility criteria."

AstraZeneca's direct-purchase channel — the option AZ&Me now points Farxiga patients to. ASPN Pharmacies checks whether you qualify for AstraZeneca support programs and quotes your lowest-cost option.

If you have Medicare: The AstraZeneca Direct page does not say whether Part D enrollees can use the $35 cash price — call ASPN Pharmacies and ask. A cash purchase made outside your plan generally does not count toward your Part D out-of-pocket cap.

What it can cover: A cash price of $35.00 per 30 tablets (additional taxes and fees may apply; costs may be HSA/FSA-eligible) rather than a grant.

Who may qualify

  • A valid Farxiga prescription
  • Eligibility criteria are set by AstraZeneca and confirmed by ASPN Pharmacies

How to apply

Visit azpatientdirect.com/farxiga or call ASPN Pharmacies (Monday–Friday, 8:30 AM–8 PM ET); they confirm eligibility and arrange the prescription with your prescriber.

Charitable grants for Farxiga

Farxiga appears in the TotalAssist medication index and on HealthWell's Type 2 Diabetes and heart-failure fund lists, but on August 26, 2026 every one of those funds was closed to new applicants except TotalAssist's heart-failure health-equity fund, which is limited to certain zip codes. Being listed is not the same as being open — sign up for fund alerts so you hear when one reopens.

Charitable grant

TotalAssist — Heart failure (HF) health equity fund

Patient Advocate Foundation · Heart failure (HF) health equity

Accepting applications Medicare: may apply

Status: Open and accepting applications on August 26, 2026 — the only fund covering Farxiga that was open when we checked.

A health-equity fund: you must have heart failure and a home address in a zip code the fund serves (designated social-vulnerability counties). Farxiga is on its approved-medication list. Eligibility is determined in part by zip code, so check yours before assuming.

If you have Medicare: Requires government insurance (Medicare, Medicaid or TRICARE) that covers your Farxiga costs.

What it can cover: $1,000 guaranteed award, up to $2,500 maximum, for eligible out-of-pocket costs. One grant per condition.

Who may qualify

  • Diagnosed with heart failure
  • Home address in a zip code served by a Health Equity Fund
  • Government-insured coverage (Medicare, Medicaid or TRICARE) that covers your qualifying expenses
  • Household income at or below 500% of the federal poverty level, adjusted for your regional cost-of-living index
  • Confirmed diagnosis matching the fund, and in treatment (or starting within 60 days, or treated in the past 6 months)
  • Legal U.S. resident receiving treatment in the U.S. or a U.S. territory

What the application asks for

  • Contact information and Social Security number (or alien number)
  • Annual household income (for pre-screening; proof of income due within 30 days of approval)
  • Health insurance carrier, plan type, policy ID and group number; Medicare supplement or secondary insurance if you have one
  • Copay or coinsurance amounts
  • Your provider's name and contact information, diagnosis (exact date if within 6 months), prescribed medications and treatment plan

How to apply

You (the patient) apply online — it takes about 15 minutes and you learn immediately whether you are approved — or call 866-512-3861, Monday–Friday 8:30am–5:30pm ET. Patient Advocate Foundation verifies your diagnosis and treatment plan directly with your provider and verifies income automatically; you have 30 days after approval to provide proof of income.

Charitable grant

TotalAssist — Type 2 diabetes, heart failure, chronic kidney disease funds

Patient Advocate Foundation · Type 2 diabetes (T2DM) · Heart failure (HF) · Chronic kidney disease (CKD) · Cardiomyopathy

Closed to new applicants Medicare: may apply

Status: All four funds were closed to new applicants on August 26, 2026, even though Farxiga is on each fund's approved-medication list.

Patient Advocate Foundation's TotalAssist (launched July 1, 2026, combining PAF Co-Pay Relief and the PAN Foundation) lists Farxiga under several disease funds. A listing is not an open fund: each of these was closed when we checked. Sign up to be notified the moment one reopens — TotalAssist has no waitlist or queue.

If you have Medicare: These funds require government insurance (Medicare, Medicaid or TRICARE).

What it can cover: When open: Type 2 diabetes $1,500 guaranteed / $2,000 maximum; heart failure $1,000 / $2,500; chronic kidney disease $2,400 / $4,800.

Who may qualify

  • Government-insured coverage (Medicare, Medicaid or TRICARE) that covers your qualifying expenses
  • Household income at or below 500% of the federal poverty level, adjusted for your regional cost-of-living index
  • Confirmed diagnosis matching the fund, and in treatment (or starting within 60 days, or treated in the past 6 months)
  • Legal U.S. resident receiving treatment in the U.S. or a U.S. territory

What the application asks for

  • Contact information and Social Security number (or alien number)
  • Annual household income (for pre-screening; proof of income due within 30 days of approval)
  • Health insurance carrier, plan type, policy ID and group number; Medicare supplement or secondary insurance if you have one
  • Copay or coinsurance amounts
  • Your provider's name and contact information, diagnosis (exact date if within 6 months), prescribed medications and treatment plan

How to apply

Sign up for fund notifications (text, email or automated call) at totalassist.org/notify. When a fund opens: You (the patient) apply online — it takes about 15 minutes and you learn immediately whether you are approved — or call 866-512-3861, Monday–Friday 8:30am–5:30pm ET. Patient Advocate Foundation verifies your diagnosis and treatment plan directly with your provider and verifies income automatically; you have 30 days after approval to provide proof of income.

Charitable grant

HealthWell Foundation — Type 2 Diabetes and heart-failure funds

HealthWell Foundation · Type 2 Diabetes · Chronic Heart Failure – Medicare Access · Cardiomyopathy – Medicare Access

Closed to new applicants Medicare: may apply

Status: All three funds were "temporarily closed to new patients due to lack of sufficient funding" on August 26, 2026. HealthWell has no chronic kidney disease fund.

HealthWell lists Farxiga on its Type 2 Diabetes fund and both heart-failure-related Medicare Access funds. HealthWell states that closed funds reopen as funding is replenished, and offers real-time alerts for each fund.

If you have Medicare: HealthWell requires insurance that covers part of the drug; Medicare qualifies. The two Medicare Access funds are for Medicare patients only.

What it can cover: When open: Type 2 Diabetes up to $1,000 (pharmacy card; income up to 300% FPL); Chronic Heart Failure – Medicare Access up to $2,500 and Cardiomyopathy – Medicare Access up to $7,500 (income up to 500% FPL).

Who may qualify

  • Insurance (including Medicare) that covers part of the cost of Farxiga
  • Type 2 Diabetes fund: household income up to 300% of the federal poverty level; heart-failure Medicare Access funds: up to 500% FPL (adjusted for household size and cost of living)
  • Diagnosis matching the fund, verified by your provider

What the application asks for

  • Some form of health insurance (Medicare qualifies) that covers part of the cost of the drug — discount cards do not count
  • Social Security number (used to prevent duplicate applications)
  • Diagnosis verified by a physician's, nurse practitioner's or physician assistant's signature
  • Treatment in the United States

How to apply

When a fund is open, apply online or by phone; your provider verifies the diagnosis by signature. When a fund is closed, sign up for that fund's real-time alerts — HealthWell says replenished funds reopen "as quickly as possible."

Charitable grant

Good Days — Chronic Kidney Disease program

Good Days · Chronic Kidney Disease

Closed to new applicants Medicare: not stated

Status: Program status "seeking funds" — not open to new enrollments on August 26, 2026. Good Days lists no diabetes or heart-failure program.

Good Days lists a chronic kidney disease program but is currently seeking funding for it. We could not confirm whether Farxiga is on its covered-medication list.

If you have Medicare: Good Days' CKD eligibility rules were not readable on its page when we checked; confirm with Good Days if the program opens.

How to apply

Check the Good Days CKD page for a status change.

How to apply for Farxiga assistance

The written steps are complete on their own; the video above will walk through the same process when it is published.

  1. Step 1 — Find the applicable assistance program

    Because AZ&Me no longer accepts new Farxiga patients, start with whichever of these fits your situation. Work through them in order — they are not mutually exclusive.

    • Heart failure and a home zip code served by a health-equity fund → TotalAssist heart-failure health-equity fund (open when checked).
    • Any diagnosis → AstraZeneca Direct's $35-per-30-tablets cash option (call ASPN Pharmacies at 1-844-692-9633), and ask your pharmacist whether generic dapagliflozin is cheaper on your plan.
    • Limited income and resources → Medicare Extra Help through Social Security.
    • Type 2 diabetes or kidney disease → sign up for TotalAssist and HealthWell alerts; those funds were closed when checked.
  2. Step 2 — Check whether applications are currently open

    Farxiga is listed in TotalAssist's medication index and on HealthWell's Type 2 Diabetes and heart-failure fund pages, but a listing does not mean funding is available. On the day we checked, only the TotalAssist heart-failure health-equity fund was open. Status changes without notice.

    • TotalAssist: the fund list at totalassist.org/funds shows "Open" or "Closed" for every fund.
    • HealthWell: the Disease Funds page shows each fund's status; closed funds reopen as money is replenished.
    • AZ&Me: closed to new Farxiga patients — no need to apply.
  3. Step 3 — Check eligibility

    Each program sets its own rules. For Farxiga on August 26, 2026, these are the ones that decide your application:

    • TotalAssist heart-failure health-equity fund: government insurance (Medicare, Medicaid or TRICARE) covering Farxiga; household income at or below 500% of the federal poverty level, adjusted for local cost of living; a heart-failure diagnosis in treatment; and a home zip code the fund serves.
    • HealthWell Type 2 Diabetes fund (when it reopens): insurance covering part of the drug and household income up to 300% FPL; the Medicare Access heart-failure funds allow up to 500% FPL.
    • AstraZeneca Direct: a valid prescription; ask whether Part D enrollees qualify for the $35 price.
    • Extra Help: income below about $23,940 a year (one person) or $32,460 (couple) and countable resources limited to $18,090 or $36,100 in 2026.
  4. Step 4 — Gather your information

    Have these ready before you start — the TotalAssist application is designed to be finished in one sitting of about 15 minutes.

    • Medicare card and your Part D / Medicare Advantage drug-plan card (carrier, plan type, policy ID, group number); Medigap or secondary insurance if you have it.
    • Your Farxiga prescription: strength and dose, plus your prescriber's name, phone and address.
    • Diagnosis (heart failure, type 2 diabetes or CKD) and the date of diagnosis if within the past 6 months.
    • Household size and annual household income; proof of income (tax return, Social Security or pension statements, pay stubs) is due within 30 days of a TotalAssist approval.
    • Your copay or coinsurance amounts for Farxiga.
    • Social Security number (TotalAssist and HealthWell both ask for it).
  5. Step 5 — Complete the application

    Who fills out what:

    • TotalAssist: you complete the online application (or call 866-512-3861); Patient Advocate Foundation verifies your diagnosis and treatment plan directly with your provider and verifies income automatically.
    • HealthWell (when open): you apply online or by phone; your physician, nurse practitioner or physician assistant verifies the diagnosis by signature.
    • AstraZeneca Direct: you contact ASPN Pharmacies; your prescriber supplies the prescription.
    • Extra Help: you (or someone helping you) apply through Social Security — online, by phone at 1-800-772-1213, or at a local office. Never pay anyone to file it.
  6. Step 6 — Submit and wait for a determination

    What to expect after you submit:

    • TotalAssist: an instant decision when you click Submit; the grant then pays eligible costs up to the award.
    • HealthWell: a decision after your provider verifies the diagnosis; assistance is issued as a pharmacy card for the Type 2 Diabetes fund.
    • AstraZeneca Direct: ASPN Pharmacies confirms eligibility and your cost, then arranges dispensing.
    • Extra Help: Social Security notifies you by mail; if approved, your Part D plan applies the lower copays.
  7. Step 7 — If the program is closed or you don't qualify

    Do not stop at "closed." Farxiga has more fallback routes than most drugs because generic dapagliflozin now exists:

    • Sign up for TotalAssist and HealthWell fund alerts — there is no waitlist, so being notified first matters.
    • Ask your pharmacist and Part D plan what generic dapagliflozin costs on your formulary; if Farxiga is required, your doctor can request a formulary exception.
    • Apply for Extra Help even if you think you earn too much — the limits are higher than many people expect.
    • Ask your doctor's office; many practices have staff who handle assistance applications routinely.
    • Use the Medicare Prescription Payment Plan to spread this year's costs over monthly payments.
    • Call Vernal Medicare — we'll check every route above with you, free.

What you'll need

Only items the programs above actually ask for. Gather these before you start.

  • Medicare card and your Part D or Medicare Advantage drug-plan card — plan name, member ID and group number
  • Prescription details — medication name, strength and dose; prescriber name, office phone and address
  • Diagnosis and date of diagnosis — TotalAssist needs the exact date if diagnosed within the past 6 months
  • Household size and annual household income — and proof — tax return, Social Security or pension statements, or pay stubs
  • Copay or coinsurance amounts for Farxiga — TotalAssist asks for them
  • Social Security number — TotalAssist and HealthWell
  • Medigap or secondary insurance details — TotalAssist, if applicable
  • Your home zip code — decides eligibility for the TotalAssist heart-failure health-equity fund

If assistance is unavailable

A closed fund or a denial is not the end of the road. Check these next:

  1. Ask your pharmacist whether generic dapagliflozin is on your plan and what it costs — AstraZeneca cites generic availability as the reason it is retiring Farxiga assistance. Formulary lookup
  2. Sign up for TotalAssist fund notifications so you hear the moment a Farxiga fund reopens — there is no waitlist or queue, so speed matters. TotalAssist notifications
  3. Sign up for HealthWell fund alerts for the same reason; HealthWell says closed funds reopen as funding is replenished. HealthWell disease funds
  4. Check Medicare Extra Help — it does not depend on a fund balance and lowers the cost of every covered drug, not just this one. Extra Help in Utah
  5. Ask your doctor's office — many practices have staff who handle assistance applications routinely and can request a formulary exception or a lower-cost alternative.
  6. Use the Medicare Prescription Payment Plan to spread this year's out-of-pocket costs across monthly payments (it does not lower the total). Medicare.gov
  7. Compare Part D and Medicare Advantage drug plans during the fall enrollment period — the tier and cost-sharing for Farxiga differ from plan to plan. Part D plans in Vernal

Could Medicare Extra Help reduce your Farxiga costs?

Extra Help is not a grant for Farxiga. It is a Medicare program that lowers what qualifying beneficiaries pay for their Part D premium, deductible and every covered prescription — so it is worth checking even when a charitable fund is closed, because it does not depend on fund balances.

Extra Help matters more than usual for Farxiga right now: with the manufacturer program closed to new patients, it is the one route that does not depend on a fund balance — and it applies to every drug on your plan, not only Farxiga.

In 2026, people with full Extra Help generally pay no more than $12.65 for a covered brand-name drug. Income must be below about $23,940 a year for one person ($32,460 for a couple) and countable resources under $18,090 ($36,100 for a couple). Apply free through Social Security — online, by phone at 1-800-772-1213, or in person — and never pay anyone to apply for you.

Government program

Medicare Extra Help (Part D Low-Income Subsidy)

Medicare / Social Security Administration

Accepting applications Medicare: may apply

Status: Year-round federal program (figures for 2026)

Not a grant for one drug — a Medicare program that lowers what qualifying beneficiaries pay for their Part D premium, deductible and every covered prescription.

If you have Medicare: For people with Medicare Part D or a Medicare Advantage drug plan who have limited income and resources.

What it can cover: Part D premium and deductible (often to $0) and reduced copays — generally no more than $12.65 for a covered brand-name drug in 2026 with full Extra Help.

Who may qualify

  • Income below 150% of the federal poverty level — about $23,940 a year for one person or $32,460 for a married couple in 2026.
  • Countable resources (savings, investments — not your home or car) limited to $18,090 for an individual or $36,100 for a married couple living together in 2026 (Medicare.gov figures, which include a burial-expense allowance).
  • Automatic if you have Medicaid, Supplemental Security Income (SSI), or a Medicare Savings Program.

What the application asks for

  • Social Security number and Medicare number
  • Income (Social Security, pensions, wages) for you and a spouse you live with
  • Value of savings, investments and other countable resources

How to apply

You (or someone helping you) apply free through Social Security — online, by phone, or at a Social Security office. There is never a fee to apply.

Key terms on this page

Patient assistance program (PAP)
A manufacturer program that provides its medication free or at low cost to people who meet income and insurance rules. Many PAPs accept Medicare Part D enrollees; each sets its own criteria.
Copay card / savings card
A manufacturer discount for commercially insured patients. Federal anti-kickback rules mean these cards generally cannot be used with Medicare, Medicaid or other government insurance.
Charitable copay grant
Money from a nonprofit foundation (for example HealthWell or Patient Advocate Foundation) that pays eligible copays or coinsurance for a specific diagnosis. A drug can be listed while the fund is closed to new applicants.
Federal poverty level (FPL)
A federal income measure that assistance programs use as a yardstick — "300% of FPL", "500% of FPL". The percentage is a rule, but the dollar figure behind it comes from a table each program publishes itself, built on a chosen year of the HHS poverty guidelines. Two programs can quote the same percentage in the same year and still list different dollar limits; compare each program against its own table, not against another program.
Medicare Extra Help
The Part D Low-Income Subsidy: a Medicare program that lowers or eliminates Part D premiums, deductibles and copays for beneficiaries with limited income and resources. You apply through Social Security.
Maximum Fair Price (MFP)
The price Medicare negotiated for a selected drug under the Medicare Drug Price Negotiation Program. It applies to Part D plans, not to the pharmacy cash price, and it lowers what plans and enrollees pay for that drug.

Related medication assistance guides

Frequently Asked Questions

Can Medicare help pay for Farxiga?
Medicare Part D and Medicare Advantage drug plans generally cover Farxiga for its approved uses, and since January 1, 2026 Medicare pays a negotiated Maximum Fair Price of $178.50 for a 30-day supply. Your own copay depends on your plan's tier and cost-sharing, and total out-of-pocket Part D costs are capped at $2,100 in 2026. If your income and resources are limited, Medicare Extra Help can lower a covered brand-name copay to about $12.65.
Is there a Farxiga patient assistance program?
AstraZeneca's AZ&Me program covered Farxiga until 2026, but effective May 1, 2026 it stopped accepting new Farxiga patients. Patients already enrolled keep assistance through December 31, 2026 (last refill request December 15, 2026), with no exceptions or extensions. AZ&Me now directs Farxiga patients to independent nonprofit funds and to AstraZeneca Direct's $35-per-30-tablet cash option.
Can I use the Farxiga savings card if I have Medicare?
No. AstraZeneca's terms exclude patients enrolled in Medicare Part D, Medicaid, Medigap, VA, DoD and TRICARE, and specifically say you may not use the card even if you choose to be processed as a cash-paying patient. Federal anti-kickback rules are the reason manufacturer copay cards exclude government insurance.
Is there a charitable grant for Farxiga right now?
When we checked on August 26, 2026, Farxiga was listed by TotalAssist (type 2 diabetes, heart failure, CKD and cardiomyopathy funds) and HealthWell (Type 2 Diabetes and two heart-failure Medicare Access funds), but every one of those funds was closed to new applicants except TotalAssist's heart-failure health-equity fund, which is limited to certain zip codes. Sign up for fund notifications so you hear when one reopens.
What is the $35 Farxiga price?
AstraZeneca Direct (azpatientdirect.com) lists Farxiga at $35.00 per 30 tablets as a direct-purchase, self-pay option dispensed through ASPN Pharmacies, with a note that offers vary based on eligibility criteria. The page does not state whether Medicare Part D enrollees qualify — call 1-844-692-9633 to ask. A cash purchase outside your plan generally will not count toward your Part D out-of-pocket cap.
Is there a generic for Farxiga?
AstraZeneca states that several generic equivalents of Farxiga (dapagliflozin) became available beginning April 2026, and cites that as the reason it is removing Farxiga from AZ&Me. Ask your pharmacist and your Part D plan whether generic dapagliflozin is on your formulary and what it costs — for many people it will be the simplest way to lower the bill.
Can my doctor's office apply for me?
For TotalAssist you (the patient) complete the application, and Patient Advocate Foundation then verifies your diagnosis and treatment plan with your doctor directly. HealthWell requires your provider's signature to verify the diagnosis. Many practices have staff who help with these applications — ask. Vernal Medicare can also sit down with you and walk through them, free.
What happens if the fund is closed?
A closed fund can reopen when funding is replenished — HealthWell says so explicitly, and TotalAssist offers text, email or phone notifications with no waitlist or queue. While you wait: check generic dapagliflozin on your plan, apply for Extra Help if your income and resources are limited, consider the AstraZeneca Direct cash price, and ask your doctor about a formulary exception. See all prescription assistance options.

Sources

Having trouble figuring out your prescription costs?

If you live in Vernal or the Uintah Basin, Vernal Medicare can help you understand your Medicare prescription coverage and where to look for Farxiga assistance — free, no pressure. We don't award grants or decide eligibility; the programs above do. We help you find and apply to the right ones.

Call 435-219-5120 Schedule a Free Review

Call Text Us