📧 rocco@vernalmedicare.com 📞 435-219-5120 (TTY: 711) Search 🌐 EnglishEspañol

Diabetes & Blood Sugar · Weight Management / GLP-1 · Heart & Blood Pressure

Rybelsus Assistance Programs & Grants in Utah

Assistance information last verified: August 2026

Very little assistance names Rybelsus in 2026. Novo Nordisk is replacing Rybelsus with the Ozempic pill in the United States, the patient assistance program does not list Rybelsus, there is no Rybelsus self-pay price, the savings offer is for commercial insurance only, and the type 2 diabetes charity funds at TotalAssist and HealthWell — both of which list Rybelsus — were closed to new applicants when we checked. What remains: Medicare Extra Help, a negotiated Part D price from January 2027, fund alerts, and a conversation with your prescriber about the Ozempic pill, which does have a self-pay price. Financial assistance may be available through charitable foundations, manufacturer programs, Medicare's Extra Help program, or other assistance resources. Availability and eligibility change frequently — the information on this page was verified in August 2026.

How to Apply for Rybelsus Assistance A short walkthrough of Part D coverage for diabetes, Extra Help, what the switch to the Ozempic pill means for cost, and what to do when a diabetes fund reopens.

Can I get help paying for Rybelsus?

Very little assistance names Rybelsus in 2026. Novo Nordisk is replacing Rybelsus with the Ozempic pill in the United States, the patient assistance program does not list Rybelsus, there is no Rybelsus self-pay price, the savings offer is for commercial insurance only, and the type 2 diabetes charity funds at TotalAssist and HealthWell — both of which list Rybelsus — were closed to new applicants when we checked. What remains: Medicare Extra Help, a negotiated Part D price from January 2027, fund alerts, and a conversation with your prescriber about the Ozempic pill, which does have a self-pay price.

  • Manufacturer patient assistance: Rybelsus is not on Novo Nordisk's 2026 PAP product list (the only GLP-1 on it is the Ozempic injection, for uninsured patients only).
  • Rybelsus Savings Offer: commercial insurance only — anyone "enrolled in any federal or state health care program with prescription drug coverage, such as Medicaid, Medicare" is not eligible. The Rybelsus offer pages now redirect to the Ozempic offer.
  • Self-pay: NovoCare Pharmacy does not sell Rybelsus. The successor Ozempic pill is sold self-pay at $149 (1.5 mg), $199 (4 mg) and $299 (9 mg) a month; Rybelsus and Ozempic tablets are not interchangeable milligram for milligram, so this is a prescriber conversation.
  • Charitable grants: Rybelsus is on the type 2 diabetes fund lists at TotalAssist and HealthWell, but both funds were closed to new applicants on August 26, 2026.
  • Medicare: not a GLP-1 Bridge drug; a negotiated Part D price of $274 (30-day) starts January 1, 2027; Extra Help can cut a covered brand copay to about $12.65 now if you qualify.

1 of the 7 programs we checked for Rybelsus was accepting applications when verified in August 2026.

About Rybelsus (semaglutide tablets)

Rybelsus is the once-daily semaglutide tablet for type 2 diabetes — the same molecule as the Ozempic injection. In May 2026 Novo Nordisk began replacing it in the United States with reformulated "Ozempic" tablets, which changes which assistance programs still name it.

Approved uses

  • Improving blood sugar in adults with type 2 diabetes, along with diet and exercise
  • Reducing the risk of major adverse cardiovascular events (cardiovascular death, non-fatal heart attack or non-fatal stroke) in adults with type 2 diabetes who are at high risk for these events

Manufacturer: Novo Nordisk

Why Rybelsus can be expensive on Medicare

CMS put the 2024 list price of the semaglutide products (Ozempic, Rybelsus, Wegovy) at $959 for a 30-day supply. Part D plans usually place Rybelsus on a high brand tier with prior authorization, so the copay or coinsurance can be large until you reach the $2,100 annual cap. For 2026, Novo Nordisk's patient assistance program does not list Rybelsus at all, and NovoCare Pharmacy sells the successor Ozempic pill self-pay but not Rybelsus.

Medicare coverage context

Medicare Part D covers GLP-1 medicines such as Rybelsus when prescribed for type 2 diabetes, not for weight loss. Semaglutide — listed by CMS as "Ozempic; Rybelsus; Wegovy" — was selected in the second cycle of the Medicare Drug Price Negotiation Program: the negotiated price is $274 for a 30-day supply (CMS's worked example for Rybelsus 7 mg, 30 tablets, is $276.78) and takes effect January 1, 2027. Separately, Novo Nordisk has said it will cut the list price of Rybelsus 7 mg and 14 mg to $675 on the same date. The Medicare GLP-1 Bridge ($50 a month) does not include Rybelsus and excludes people with type 2 diabetes. Novo says the Ozempic pill "will have the same coverage as RYBELSUS" — check your plan's formulary for both names.

Rybelsus assistance options at a glance

Every program we checked, what kind of help it is, whether people with Medicare can use it, and its status when we verified it. A medication being listed by a program is not the same as the program accepting applications.

About the income limits below: Income limits can differ between assistance programs even when both describe their eligibility as the same percentage of the federal poverty level. The dollar limits shown here come from each program's own published income table, and each program decides which year's poverty guidelines that table is built from and when it takes effect. Treat the figures as belonging to the program they are listed under — they are not interchangeable, and only the program can tell you which table it is applying to your application today.

Rybelsus assistance programs compared
ProgramType of helpPeople with MedicareStatus (August 2026)
Novo Nordisk Patient Assistance Program Manufacturer patient assistance not stated No program found
Rybelsus Savings Offer Commercial copay / savings card not eligible Open with limits
NovoCare Pharmacy — self-pay Manufacturer self-pay pricing not stated No program found
Medicare GLP-1 Bridge ($50 a month, CMS demonstration) Government program not eligible No program found
TotalAssist — Type 2 diabetes (T2DM) fund Charitable grant may apply Closed to new applicants
HealthWell Foundation — Type 2 Diabetes fund Charitable grant may apply Closed to new applicants
Good Days Charitable grant not stated No program found
Medicare Extra Help (Part D Low-Income Subsidy) Government program may apply Accepting applications

Manufacturer programs from Novo Nordisk

A patient assistance program (free or low-cost drug by income) is not the same as a copay card (a commercial discount that usually excludes Medicare). Both are listed so you can see which one applies to you.

Manufacturer patient assistance

Novo Nordisk Patient Assistance Program

Novo Nordisk (NovoCare)

No program found Medicare: not stated

Status: Rybelsus is not on the 2026 product list (checked August 26, 2026). Novo Nordisk's page says "Some medicines will no longer be a part of the Patient Assistance Program for 2026," and the list it links to names insulins, the Ozempic injection (uninsured patients only), Xultophy and devices — no semaglutide tablets under either brand name.

Novo Nordisk's PAP ships eligible medicines free to approved patients. Rybelsus is not one of them for 2026. The program says nothing Rybelsus-specific; the exclusion is by omission from the list.

If you have Medicare: Not applicable — the program does not cover Rybelsus, so its Medicare rules do not reach it. For the medicines it does cover, Novo Nordisk requires that you "Have Medicare or no insurance," are not enrolled in or eligible for Medicaid, Extra Help or VA benefits, and — for Medicare patients on Novo insulins — have household income at or below 400% of the federal poverty level, with an Extra Help denial letter if income is below 150%.

Who may qualify

  • Not applicable to Rybelsus — the program's listed products only

How to apply

Not applicable to Rybelsus. For a listed Novo Nordisk medicine, the patient submits the patient portion online and the prescriber completes the provider portion; Medicare Part D enrollees may apply after October 15 for the following year. Questions: 1-866-310-7549.

Commercial copay / savings card

Rybelsus Savings Offer

Novo Nordisk

Open with limits Medicare: not eligible

Status: Terms for Rybelsus 3 mg, 7 mg and 14 mg were still published on August 26, 2026, but the Rybelsus offer pages on novocare.com now redirect to the Ozempic savings offer, and Novo says existing enrollees "can continue to use their offer to get a discount on Ozempic." Activations are valid for up to 48 months from enrollment.

A commercial copay offer: eligible commercially insured patients with Rybelsus coverage may pay as little as $25, with maximum savings of $100 per 1-month, $200 per 2-month or $300 per 3-month prescription (3 mg is limited to one month per redemption). Not for Medicare.

If you have Medicare: Novo Nordisk's terms: "Patient is not eligible if he/she is enrolled in any federal or state health care program with prescription drug coverage, such as Medicaid, Medicare, VA, DOD, TRICARE, or any similar federal or state health care program." The pharmacist section adds that such patients "may not use this program, even if they elect to be processed as an uninsured (self-paying) patient."

Who may qualify

  • Commercial insurance that covers Rybelsus
  • Not enrolled in any federal or state health care program with prescription drug coverage

How to apply

Commercially insured patients enrol through rybelsus.com. Not applicable to Medicare beneficiaries. Questions about the offer: 1-877-304-6855.

Manufacturer self-pay pricing

NovoCare Pharmacy — self-pay

Novo Nordisk

No program found Medicare: not stated

Status: Rybelsus is not sold through NovoCare Pharmacy (checked August 26, 2026; the Rybelsus pharmacy pages do not exist). NovoCare's Rybelsus page instead points to self-pay pricing for the Ozempic pill: $149 a month for the 1.5 mg starting dose, $199 for 4 mg and $299 for 9 mg.

Novo Nordisk's direct-to-patient channel sells the Wegovy and Ozempic pens and pills self-pay, not Rybelsus. If you and your prescriber decide to move to the Ozempic pill, that self-pay price becomes an option to compare against your Part D cost — remembering that cash purchases do not count toward the $2,100 cap.

If you have Medicare: Not applicable to Rybelsus. For the Ozempic pill, Novo's pharmacy terms let a person with Medicare, Medicare Part D or a Medicare Advantage drug plan buy self-pay if they agree not to seek reimbursement and not to count the cost toward any deductible or out-of-pocket limit, including Part D TrOOP — while the May 2026 launch announcement says "Government beneficiaries are excluded" from the Ozempic pill offer. Because Novo's own pages disagree, confirm by phone before relying on it.

Who may qualify

  • Not applicable to Rybelsus

How to apply

Not applicable to Rybelsus. Ozempic pill self-pay is arranged through NovoCare Pharmacy or a participating telehealth provider with a valid prescription.

Charitable grants for Rybelsus

Rybelsus is on the type 2 diabetes fund lists at both TotalAssist and HealthWell, but on August 26, 2026 both funds were closed to new applicants, and Good Days has no diabetes program. The only open TotalAssist fund that names Rybelsus is the MASH liver-disease fund, which does not fit a diabetes prescription. No currently open charitable fund covering Rybelsus for diabetes was found. Sign up for fund alerts — and remember that Extra Help does not depend on a fund balance.

Charitable grant

TotalAssist — Type 2 diabetes (T2DM) fund

Patient Advocate Foundation · Type 2 diabetes (T2DM) · Type 2 diabetes health equity

Closed to new applicants Medicare: may apply

Status: Both type 2 diabetes funds were closed to new applicants on August 26, 2026. Rybelsus (semaglutide) is on their approved-medication lists — and also on the closed Stroke and Lipodystrophy funds and the OPEN MASH (liver disease) fund, which does not match a diabetes prescription.

Patient Advocate Foundation's TotalAssist (launched July 1, 2026, combining PAF Co-Pay Relief and the PAN Foundation) lists Rybelsus under its type 2 diabetes funds. A listing is not an open fund. Sign up to be notified the moment it reopens — there is no waitlist or queue.

If you have Medicare: These funds require government-insured coverage (Medicare, Medicaid or TRICARE) that covers your qualifying expenses.

What it can cover: When open: $1,500 guaranteed award, $2,000 maximum, for eligible out-of-pocket costs. You cannot receive more than one grant for the same condition.

Who may qualify

  • Confirmed type 2 diabetes diagnosis
  • Government-insured coverage (Medicare, Medicaid or TRICARE) that covers your qualifying expenses
  • Household income at or below 500% of the federal poverty level, adjusted for your regional cost-of-living index
  • Confirmed diagnosis matching the fund, and in treatment (or starting within 60 days, or treated in the past 6 months)
  • Legal U.S. resident receiving treatment in the U.S. or a U.S. territory

What the application asks for

  • Contact information and Social Security number (or alien number)
  • Annual household income (for pre-screening; proof of income due within 30 days of approval)
  • Health insurance carrier, plan type, policy ID and group number; Medicare supplement or secondary insurance if you have one
  • Copay or coinsurance amounts
  • Your provider's name and contact information, diagnosis (exact date if within 6 months), prescribed medications and treatment plan

How to apply

Sign up for fund notifications at totalassist.org/notify. When the fund opens: You (the patient) apply online — it takes about 15 minutes and you learn immediately whether you are approved — or call 866-512-3861, Monday–Friday 8:30am–5:30pm ET. Patient Advocate Foundation verifies your diagnosis and treatment plan directly with your provider and verifies income automatically; you have 30 days after approval to provide proof of income.

Charitable grant

HealthWell Foundation — Type 2 Diabetes fund

HealthWell Foundation · Type 2 Diabetes

Closed to new applicants Medicare: may apply

Status: "Temporarily closed to new patients due to lack of sufficient funding" on August 26, 2026. Rybelsus and semaglutide are on the fund's treatments-covered list. No other HealthWell fund lists Rybelsus.

HealthWell's Type 2 Diabetes fund lists Rybelsus. HealthWell states that closed funds reopen as funding is replenished and offers real-time alerts for the fund.

If you have Medicare: HealthWell requires "some form of health insurance (private insurance, Medicare, Medicaid, TriCare, etc.) that covers part of the cost of your treatment."

What it can cover: When open: up to $1,000 as a pharmacy card for prescription copays; household income up to 300% of the federal poverty level (adjusted for household size and high-cost areas).

Who may qualify

  • Insurance (including Medicare) that covers part of the cost of Rybelsus
  • Household income up to 300% of the federal poverty level (adjusted for household size and cost of living)
  • Type 2 diabetes diagnosis verified by your provider

What the application asks for

  • Some form of health insurance (Medicare qualifies) that covers part of the cost of the drug — discount cards do not count
  • Social Security number (used to prevent duplicate applications)
  • Diagnosis verified by a physician's, nurse practitioner's or physician assistant's signature
  • Treatment in the United States

How to apply

When a fund is open, apply online or by phone; your provider verifies the diagnosis by signature. When a fund is closed, sign up for that fund's real-time alerts — HealthWell says replenished funds reopen "as quickly as possible."

Charitable grant

Good Days

Good Days

No program found Medicare: not stated

Status: Good Days lists no diabetes program among its open, seeking-funding or closed funds (checked August 26, 2026).

An honest negative: we looked, and there is no Good Days program for type 2 diabetes.

If you have Medicare: Not applicable — no matching program.

How to apply

Not applicable.

Other government routes

Medicare and state programs that lower prescription costs for people with limited income and resources.

Government program

Medicare GLP-1 Bridge ($50 a month, CMS demonstration)

Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services

No program found Medicare: not eligible

Status: Running July 1, 2026 – December 31, 2027 — but Rybelsus is not an eligible drug. The Bridge covers Foundayo, Wegovy (injection or tablet) and the Zepbound KwikPen for weight management only.

Included because people ask: the $50-a-month Medicare GLP-1 program does not apply to Rybelsus. If you take Rybelsus for type 2 diabetes, your route is regular Part D coverage.

If you have Medicare: Medicare.gov: "You aren't eligible if you … Have type 2 diabetes, moderate-to-severe sleep apnea, or fatty liver disease (but your Part D plan might cover your GLP-1s)." CMS adds that no part of the $50 copay counts toward TrOOP and there is no Extra Help subsidy on it.

Who may qualify

  • Not applicable to Rybelsus

How to apply

Not applicable to Rybelsus.

How to apply for Rybelsus assistance

The written steps are complete on their own; the video above will walk through the same process when it is published.

  1. Step 1 — Find the applicable assistance program

    For Rybelsus on Medicare there is no manufacturer patient assistance program, no self-pay price and no open charity fund as of our check, so the realistic order is: confirm your Part D coverage, check Extra Help, then talk to your prescriber about the transition Novo Nordisk is making.

    • Confirm your Part D plan covers Rybelsus for type 2 diabetes and whether prior authorization is needed; ask the plan whether the Ozempic pill is on the same tier, since Novo says the two will be covered alike.
    • Limited income and resources → Medicare Extra Help through Social Security.
    • Type 2 diabetes → sign up for TotalAssist and HealthWell diabetes-fund alerts; both were closed when checked.
    • Considering the Ozempic pill with your prescriber → compare its $149–$299 self-pay price against your plan cost, knowing cash purchases do not count toward the $2,100 cap and Novo's own pages disagree about whether Medicare enrollees may use it.
  2. Step 2 — Check whether applications are currently open

    Rybelsus is listed by TotalAssist and HealthWell, but a listing does not mean funding is available. On the day we checked, both type 2 diabetes funds were closed and the Novo Nordisk PAP did not list Rybelsus at all.

    • TotalAssist: totalassist.org/funds shows "Open" or "Closed" for the Type 2 diabetes (T2DM) fund.
    • HealthWell: the Disease Funds page shows the Type 2 Diabetes fund status; closed funds reopen as money is replenished.
    • Novo Nordisk PAP: check the current product list — if semaglutide tablets under either brand are ever added, this page will change.
  3. Step 3 — Check eligibility

    For the routes that were open:

    • Extra Help: income below about $23,940 a year (one person) or $32,460 (couple) and countable resources limited to $18,090 or $36,100 in 2026; automatic if you have Medicaid, SSI or a Medicare Savings Program.
    • TotalAssist (when open): government insurance covering Rybelsus; income at or below 500% FPL, cost-of-living adjusted; type 2 diabetes in treatment.
    • HealthWell (when open): insurance covering part of the drug; income up to 300% FPL; provider-verified diagnosis.
  4. Step 4 — Gather your information

    Have these ready so you can act quickly when a fund opens — TotalAssist applications are decided instantly, and closed funds reopen without a queue.

    • Medicare card and your Part D / Medicare Advantage drug-plan card (carrier, plan type, policy ID, group number).
    • Your Rybelsus prescription: strength and dose, plus your prescriber's name, phone and address.
    • Type 2 diabetes diagnosis and the date of diagnosis if within the past 6 months.
    • Household size and annual household income, with proof (tax return, Social Security or pension statements, pay stubs).
    • Your copay or coinsurance amount for Rybelsus.
    • Social Security number (TotalAssist and HealthWell both ask for it).
  5. Step 5 — Complete the application

    Who fills out what:

    • Extra Help: you (or someone helping you) apply through Social Security — online, by phone at 1-800-772-1213, or in person. It is free.
    • TotalAssist (when open): you apply online in about 15 minutes; Patient Advocate Foundation verifies your diagnosis with your provider and verifies income automatically.
    • HealthWell (when open): you apply online or by phone; your provider verifies the diagnosis by signature.
  6. Step 6 — Submit and wait for a determination

    What to expect:

    • Extra Help: Social Security notifies you by mail; if approved, your Part D plan applies the lower copays.
    • TotalAssist: an instant decision when you submit; proof of income due within 30 days.
    • HealthWell: a decision after your provider verifies the diagnosis; assistance is issued as a pharmacy card.
  7. Step 7 — If the program is closed or you don't qualify

    Do not stop at "closed":

    • Sign up for TotalAssist and HealthWell fund alerts — there is no waitlist, so being notified first matters.
    • Ask your prescriber about the Ozempic pill (the reformulated tablet replacing Rybelsus), the Ozempic injection, or another covered GLP-1 such as Trulicity, which Lilly Cares does cover for eligible Medicare patients.
    • Apply for Extra Help even if you think you earn too much — the limits are higher than many people expect.
    • Use the Medicare Prescription Payment Plan to spread this year's costs over monthly payments.
    • Compare Part D plans in the fall — GLP-1 tiers and prior-authorization rules differ a lot between plans, and the negotiated semaglutide price arrives January 1, 2027.
    • Call Vernal Medicare — we'll check every route above with you, free.

What you'll need

Only items the programs above actually ask for. Gather these before you start.

  • Medicare card and your Part D or Medicare Advantage drug-plan card — plan name, member ID and group number
  • Prescription details — medication name, strength and dose; prescriber name, office phone and address
  • Diagnosis and date of diagnosis — TotalAssist needs the exact date if diagnosed within the past 6 months
  • Household size and annual household income — and proof — tax return, Social Security or pension statements, or pay stubs
  • Copay or coinsurance amount for Rybelsus — TotalAssist asks for it
  • Social Security number — TotalAssist and HealthWell
  • Bank, retirement and pension statements — Extra Help application (resources)

If assistance is unavailable

A closed fund or a denial is not the end of the road. Check these next:

  1. Ask your prescriber whether the Ozempic injection or the new Ozempic pill fits you — the injection has its own assistance picture, and Novo Nordisk is moving Rybelsus patients to the pill. Ozempic assistance
  2. Trulicity is the one GLP-1 we have found that a manufacturer foundation still supplies free to eligible Medicare Part D patients — worth raising with your prescriber if a switch is medically reasonable. Trulicity assistance
  3. Sign up for TotalAssist fund notifications so you hear the moment a Rybelsus fund reopens — there is no waitlist or queue, so speed matters. TotalAssist notifications
  4. Sign up for HealthWell fund alerts for the same reason; HealthWell says closed funds reopen as funding is replenished. HealthWell disease funds
  5. Check Medicare Extra Help — it does not depend on a fund balance and lowers the cost of every covered drug, not just this one. Extra Help in Utah
  6. Ask your doctor's office — many practices have staff who handle assistance applications routinely and can request a formulary exception or a lower-cost alternative.
  7. Use the Medicare Prescription Payment Plan to spread this year's out-of-pocket costs across monthly payments (it does not lower the total). Medicare.gov
  8. Compare Part D and Medicare Advantage drug plans during the fall enrollment period — the tier and cost-sharing for Rybelsus differ from plan to plan. Part D plans in Vernal

Could Medicare Extra Help reduce your Rybelsus costs?

Extra Help is not a grant for Rybelsus. It is a Medicare program that lowers what qualifying beneficiaries pay for their Part D premium, deductible and every covered prescription — so it is worth checking even when a charitable fund is closed, because it does not depend on fund balances.

With no manufacturer patient assistance for Rybelsus and the diabetes funds closed, Extra Help is the one route open year-round. It works inside your Part D plan, counts toward your cap, and — unlike everything else on this page — does not depend on which brand name is printed on the bottle.

In 2026, people with full Extra Help generally pay no more than $12.65 for a covered brand-name drug. Income must be below about $23,940 a year for one person ($32,460 for a couple) and countable resources under $18,090 ($36,100 for a couple). Apply free through Social Security — online, by phone at 1-800-772-1213, or in person — and never pay anyone to apply for you.

Government program

Medicare Extra Help (Part D Low-Income Subsidy)

Medicare / Social Security Administration

Accepting applications Medicare: may apply

Status: Year-round federal program (figures for 2026)

Not a grant for one drug — a Medicare program that lowers what qualifying beneficiaries pay for their Part D premium, deductible and every covered prescription.

If you have Medicare: For people with Medicare Part D or a Medicare Advantage drug plan who have limited income and resources.

What it can cover: Part D premium and deductible (often to $0) and reduced copays — generally no more than $12.65 for a covered brand-name drug in 2026 with full Extra Help.

Who may qualify

  • Income below 150% of the federal poverty level — about $23,940 a year for one person or $32,460 for a married couple in 2026.
  • Countable resources (savings, investments — not your home or car) limited to $18,090 for an individual or $36,100 for a married couple living together in 2026 (Medicare.gov figures, which include a burial-expense allowance).
  • Automatic if you have Medicaid, Supplemental Security Income (SSI), or a Medicare Savings Program.

What the application asks for

  • Social Security number and Medicare number
  • Income (Social Security, pensions, wages) for you and a spouse you live with
  • Value of savings, investments and other countable resources

How to apply

You (or someone helping you) apply free through Social Security — online, by phone, or at a Social Security office. There is never a fee to apply.

Key terms on this page

Patient assistance program (PAP)
A manufacturer program that provides its medication free or at low cost to people who meet income and insurance rules. Many PAPs accept Medicare Part D enrollees; each sets its own criteria.
Copay card / savings card
A manufacturer discount for commercially insured patients. Federal anti-kickback rules mean these cards generally cannot be used with Medicare, Medicaid or other government insurance.
Charitable copay grant
Money from a nonprofit foundation (for example HealthWell or Patient Advocate Foundation) that pays eligible copays or coinsurance for a specific diagnosis. A drug can be listed while the fund is closed to new applicants.
Federal poverty level (FPL)
A federal income measure that assistance programs use as a yardstick — "300% of FPL", "500% of FPL". The percentage is a rule, but the dollar figure behind it comes from a table each program publishes itself, built on a chosen year of the HHS poverty guidelines. Two programs can quote the same percentage in the same year and still list different dollar limits; compare each program against its own table, not against another program.
Medicare Extra Help
The Part D Low-Income Subsidy: a Medicare program that lowers or eliminates Part D premiums, deductibles and copays for beneficiaries with limited income and resources. You apply through Social Security.
Maximum Fair Price (MFP)
The price Medicare negotiated for a selected drug under the Medicare Drug Price Negotiation Program. It applies to Part D plans, not to the pharmacy cash price, and it lowers what plans and enrollees pay for that drug.

Related medication assistance guides

Frequently Asked Questions

Can Medicare help pay for Rybelsus?
Medicare Part D and Medicare Advantage drug plans cover Rybelsus when it is prescribed for type 2 diabetes (not for weight loss), usually with prior authorization. Your copay depends on your plan's tier, and Part D out-of-pocket costs are capped at $2,100 in 2026. If your income and resources are limited, Medicare Extra Help can lower a covered brand-name copay to about $12.65. From January 1, 2027 a negotiated Medicare price of $274 for a 30-day supply applies to semaglutide.
Is Rybelsus being discontinued?
Novo Nordisk has not published a discontinuation date. What it has said (May 1, 2026) is that the Rybelsus strengths "have been reformulated and are now being introduced as Ozempic (semaglutide) tablets 1.5 mg, 4 mg, and 9 mg," that Rybelsus patients "should continue their medication as directed and speak with their healthcare professionals about transitioning to the Ozempic pill," and that Rybelsus "will continue to be marketed outside the US." NovoCare's Rybelsus page now reads "RYBELSUS is being replaced by Ozempic pill." The two are not interchangeable milligram for milligram.
Is there a Rybelsus patient assistance program?
Not for 2026. Rybelsus is not on the Novo Nordisk Patient Assistance Program's product list (checked August 26, 2026); the only GLP-1 on that list is the Ozempic injection, and only for uninsured patients at or below 200% of the federal poverty level. The charity funds that list Rybelsus (TotalAssist and HealthWell type 2 diabetes funds) were both closed to new applicants.
Can I use the Rybelsus savings offer with Medicare?
No. Novo Nordisk's terms exclude anyone "enrolled in any federal or state health care program with prescription drug coverage, such as Medicaid, Medicare, VA, DOD, TRICARE" — even if you offer to pay as an uninsured patient. Federal anti-kickback rules are the reason manufacturer copay cards exclude government insurance.
Does the $50-a-month Medicare GLP-1 program cover Rybelsus?
No. The Medicare GLP-1 Bridge (July 1, 2026 – December 31, 2027) covers Foundayo, Wegovy and the Zepbound KwikPen for weight management, and excludes people with type 2 diabetes — Medicare's guidance says their drug plan might cover a GLP-1 for diabetes instead. Rybelsus is not an eligible Bridge drug.
Is there a cash price for Rybelsus?
Not from Novo Nordisk. NovoCare Pharmacy sells the Wegovy and Ozempic pens and pills self-pay but not Rybelsus, and Rybelsus is not on TrumpRx. The Ozempic pill is priced at $149 (1.5 mg), $199 (4 mg) and $299 (9 mg) a month self-pay. Novo's pharmacy terms describe how a Medicare enrollee may buy self-pay (no reimbursement, nothing counted toward TrOOP), while its launch announcement says government beneficiaries are excluded — call NovoCare before relying on it.
Is there a charitable grant for Rybelsus right now?
Not for diabetes when we checked on August 26, 2026. Rybelsus is on the type 2 diabetes fund lists at TotalAssist and HealthWell, but both funds were closed, and Good Days has no diabetes program. TotalAssist's open MASH fund also lists Rybelsus, but that fund is for a liver-disease diagnosis. Sign up for notifications at totalassist.org/notify and on the HealthWell fund page so you hear when a diabetes fund reopens.
What happens if the fund is closed?
TotalAssist offers text, email or phone notifications with no waitlist or queue, and HealthWell says closed funds reopen as funding is replenished. While you wait: apply for Extra Help, ask your prescriber about the Ozempic pill or a covered alternative, and compare Part D plans in the fall. See all prescription assistance options.

Sources

Having trouble figuring out your prescription costs?

If you live in Vernal or the Uintah Basin, Vernal Medicare can help you understand your Medicare prescription coverage and where to look for Rybelsus assistance — free, no pressure. We don't award grants or decide eligibility; the programs above do. We help you find and apply to the right ones.

Call 435-219-5120 Schedule a Free Review

Call Text Us