📧 rocco@vernalmedicare.com 📞 435-219-5120 (TTY: 711) Search 🌐 EnglishEspañol

Autoimmune & Immune Conditions

Rinvoq Assistance Programs & Grants in Utah

Assistance information last verified: August 2026

Yes, and the manufacturer route is open. AbbVie's myAbbVie Assist program lists Rinvoq and accepts people with Medicare, subject to an Extra Help rule for lower incomes. The savings card excludes Medicare. Every autoimmune and bowel-disease charity fund we checked was closed to new applicants. Financial assistance may be available through charitable foundations, manufacturer programs, Medicare's Extra Help program, or other assistance resources. Availability and eligibility change frequently — the information on this page was verified in August 2026.

How to Apply for Rinvoq Assistance A walkthrough of the myAbbVie Assist application, the Extra Help denial letter Medicare patients below 150% FPL need first, and how to handle the step-therapy requirement in parallel.

Can I get help paying for Rinvoq?

Yes, and the manufacturer route is open. AbbVie's myAbbVie Assist program lists Rinvoq and accepts people with Medicare, subject to an Extra Help rule for lower incomes. The savings card excludes Medicare. Every autoimmune and bowel-disease charity fund we checked was closed to new applicants.

  • myAbbVie Assist: Rinvoq is on AbbVie's current available-medicines list. AbbVie describes the program as being for people who are "uninsured, receiving coverage through Medicare, or your health insurance isn't enough to cover the cost."
  • Rinvoq.com puts the Medicare path plainly: "If you're not eligible for Extra Help, RINVOQ may still be available at no additional cost" — call an Insurance Specialist at 1-800-2RINVOQ to start.
  • The Medicare condition: with household income below 150% of the federal poverty level you are not eligible for myAbbVie Assist unless you applied for Extra Help and were denied, and the denial letter must come with your application.
  • The consequence to weigh: AbbVie's terms say a Part D enrollee must not buy Rinvoq through their Medicare plan while enrolled, receives no true-out-of-pocket (TrOOP) credit for the free medicine, and that the program will notify the drug plan.
  • RINVOQ Complete Savings Card: commercially insured patients only, with a $14,000 annual maximum. AbbVie's terms exclude Medicare including Part D, Medicare Advantage, Medigap, Medicaid, TRICARE, DoD and VA.
  • Charitable grants: TotalAssist lists Rinvoq under its rheumatoid arthritis, psoriatic arthritis, ankylosing spondylitis, atopic dermatitis, ulcerative colitis and IBD funds, and HealthWell lists it on the AutoImmune and Inflammatory Bowel Disease Medicare Access funds. All were closed to new applicants when we checked.

2 of the 5 programs we checked for Rinvoq were accepting applications when verified in August 2026.

About Rinvoq (upadacitinib)

Rinvoq is a once-daily tablet in the JAK inhibitor class, used across a wide set of immune-driven conditions — rheumatoid and psoriatic arthritis, eczema, ulcerative colitis, Crohn's disease, spondyloarthritis and giant cell arteritis. Most of its approvals are second-line: the label generally expects that a TNF blocker was tried first, or was not appropriate for you.

Approved uses

  • Moderately to severely active rheumatoid arthritis in adults after an inadequate response to one or more TNF blockers
  • Active psoriatic arthritis in adults and patients 2 and older after an inadequate response to one or more TNF blockers
  • Refractory moderate to severe atopic dermatitis (eczema) in adults and patients 12 and older
  • Moderately to severely active ulcerative colitis and Crohn's disease in adults after an inadequate response to one or more TNF blockers
  • Active ankylosing spondylitis and non-radiographic axial spondyloarthritis in adults
  • Giant cell arteritis, and polyarticular juvenile idiopathic arthritis and juvenile psoriatic arthritis in children

Manufacturer: AbbVie

Why Rinvoq can be expensive on Medicare

Rinvoq is a brand-only specialty tablet with no generic, so Part D plans place it on a specialty tier where you pay a percentage of a high price rather than a flat copay. The second-line labelling adds a second cost: plans commonly require prior authorization and documentation that a TNF blocker was tried first, which can delay a fill even when the money is arranged.

Medicare coverage context

Rinvoq is generally covered under Medicare Part D and Medicare Advantage drug plans, usually on a specialty tier and almost always with prior authorization or step therapy, because the label itself expects a TNF blocker to have been tried first. Part D out-of-pocket costs are capped at $2,100 in 2026, and the Medicare Prescription Payment Plan can spread that across the year. Rinvoq is not on the Medicare-negotiated drug lists for 2026 or 2027. One practical note: because it is a tablet dispensed through a pharmacy, Rinvoq runs through your Part D drug benefit rather than Part B — simpler than the biologics it competes with.

Rinvoq assistance options at a glance

Every program we checked, what kind of help it is, whether people with Medicare can use it, and its status when we verified it. A medication being listed by a program is not the same as the program accepting applications.

About the income limits below: Income limits can differ between assistance programs even when both describe their eligibility as the same percentage of the federal poverty level. The dollar limits shown here come from each program's own published income table, and each program decides which year's poverty guidelines that table is built from and when it takes effect. Treat the figures as belonging to the program they are listed under — they are not interchangeable, and only the program can tell you which table it is applying to your application today.

Rinvoq assistance programs compared
ProgramType of helpPeople with MedicareStatus (August 2026)
myAbbVie Assist (AbbVie Patient Access Support) Manufacturer patient assistance with conditions Accepting applications
RINVOQ Complete Savings Card Commercial copay / savings card not eligible Open with limits
TotalAssist — autoimmune, skin and bowel-disease funds Charitable grant may apply Closed to new applicants
HealthWell Foundation — AutoImmune and IBD Medicare Access funds Charitable grant may apply Closed to new applicants
Good Days Charitable grant not stated No program found
Medicare Extra Help (Part D Low-Income Subsidy) Government program may apply Accepting applications

Manufacturer programs from AbbVie

A patient assistance program (free or low-cost drug by income) is not the same as a copay card (a commercial discount that usually excludes Medicare). Both are listed so you can see which one applies to you.

Manufacturer patient assistance

myAbbVie Assist (AbbVie Patient Access Support)

AbbVie

Accepting applications Medicare: with conditions

Status: Accepting applications on August 26, 2026. RINVOQ appears on AbbVie's available-programs list of myAbbVie Assist medicines. (Checked separately from Humira, which AbbVie removed from the same program on July 1, 2026 — the list is not a formality.)

AbbVie's patient assistance program provides free medicine to qualifying patients who are uninsured, on Medicare, or underinsured. Income is assessed electronically under the Fair Credit Reporting Act; if the program cannot verify it that way, it asks for documents. Patients whose commercial plan requires them to apply here as a condition of coverage — an alternate funding program — are not eligible.

If you have Medicare: Medicare beneficiaries may apply. Rinvoq's own site says: "If you're not eligible for Extra Help, RINVOQ may still be available at no additional cost." The formal rule from AbbVie's application is that "patients with Medicare and income below 150% FPL will not be eligible for myAbbVie Assist unless you have applied and been denied for that Program" — Extra Help — and the denial letter must be included. Above 150% FPL no denial letter is needed. While enrolled you must not purchase Rinvoq under your Medicare plan, you may not seek TrOOP credit for it, and AbbVie will inform your Part D plan.

What it can cover: Rinvoq at no cost to approved patients for a calendar-year term.

Who may qualify

  • Uninsured, covered by Medicare, or with insurance that is not enough to cover the cost of the medicine
  • A prescription for Rinvoq from your healthcare provider
  • Medicare beneficiaries with household income below 150% of the federal poverty level: proof that you applied for Extra Help and were denied
  • Household income within the program's limits. AbbVie does not publish a percentage-of-poverty-level figure on these pages — it assesses income electronically and asks for documents if it cannot — so ask the program where your household stands rather than assuming a threshold from another manufacturer.
  • Not enrolled through an alternate funding program required by a commercial plan

What the application asks for

  • Completed and signed patient sections of the Rinvoq application, plus a separate signed HIPAA authorization
  • Your healthcare provider completes and signs the provider page
  • Copies of the front and back of all insurance cards
  • Consent for an electronic income check under the Fair Credit Reporting Act; if income cannot be determined that way, your most recent federal tax return, or pay stubs for at least two pay periods, a Social Security or disability statement, a W-2 or a 1099-R
  • Medicare beneficiaries below 150% FPL: the Extra Help denial letter

How to apply

Apply online through AbbVie Patient Access Support, or print the Rinvoq application, complete your sections, have your prescriber complete theirs, and fax or mail it — you and your provider may send your parts separately. Call 1-800-222-6885, Monday–Friday 7:00am–7:00pm Central, for help with the application, or 1-800-2RINVOQ to speak with a RINVOQ Complete Insurance Specialist first. There is no fee.

Commercial copay / savings card

RINVOQ Complete Savings Card

AbbVie

Open with limits Medicare: not eligible

Status: Running for commercially insured patients on August 26, 2026, and closed to anyone with government drug coverage.

A commercial copay card, listed here so you can see why it does not apply to you. For rheumatology patients it also covers Rinvoq taken with methotrexate, leflunomide or hydroxychloroquine, and a companion rebate covers certain monitoring lab tests — all still commercial-only.

If you have Medicare: AbbVie's terms say the co-pay assistance program "is not available to patients receiving reimbursement under any federal, state, or government-funded insurance programs (for example, Medicare [including Part D], Medicare Advantage, Medigap, Medicaid, TRICARE, Department of Defense, or Veterans Affairs programs)." If you begin such coverage, AbbVie asks you to call 1-800-2RINVOQ to stop participation.

What it can cover: For commercially insured patients: a maximum annual benefit of $14,000 per calendar year, with a separate $1,000 annual limit for covered lab tests under the Complete Rebate.

Who may qualify

  • Commercial insurance coverage for Rinvoq
  • Not receiving reimbursement under Medicare, Medicare Advantage, Medigap, Medicaid, TRICARE, DoD or VA programs

How to apply

Not applicable if you have Medicare. Commercially insured patients request a card through RINVOQ Complete.

Charitable grants for Rinvoq

Eight charitable funds list Rinvoq — six at TotalAssist (rheumatoid arthritis, psoriatic arthritis, ankylosing spondylitis, atopic dermatitis, ulcerative colitis and inflammatory bowel disease) and two at HealthWell (AutoImmune and Inflammatory Bowel Disease Medicare Access). On August 26, 2026 every one was closed to new applicants, as was HealthWell's giant cell arteritis fund. Good Days has no matching fund. Rinvoq's wide label means more funds could apply to you than to most medications — which also means more alerts worth signing up for. Meanwhile the manufacturer route did not depend on any of it: myAbbVie Assist was open and accepts Medicare beneficiaries, subject to the Extra Help rule.

Charitable grant

TotalAssist — autoimmune, skin and bowel-disease funds

Patient Advocate Foundation · Rheumatoid arthritis · Psoriatic arthritis · Ankylosing spondylitis · Atopic dermatitis · Ulcerative colitis · IBD

Closed to new applicants Medicare: may apply

Status: Every TotalAssist fund matching a Rinvoq indication was closed to new applicants on August 26, 2026 — rheumatoid arthritis, psoriatic arthritis, ankylosing spondylitis, atopic dermatitis, ulcerative colitis and inflammatory bowel disease. Rinvoq is on each of those funds' approved-medication lists.

Patient Advocate Foundation's TotalAssist (which absorbed the PAN Foundation's funds on July 1, 2026) lists Rinvoq under six funds covering its indications — more than any other medication in this Batch. A listing is not an open fund. Sign up to be notified the moment one reopens; TotalAssist has no waitlist or queue.

If you have Medicare: When open, these funds require government insurance (Medicare, Medicaid or TRICARE) that covers your Rinvoq costs.

What it can cover: When open, the guaranteed award differs by fund: inflammatory bowel disease $10,400; ankylosing spondylitis $4,400; atopic dermatitis $4,200; rheumatoid arthritis $4,000; psoriatic arthritis $3,500; ulcerative colitis $3,000. One grant per condition.

Who may qualify

  • Government-insured coverage (Medicare, Medicaid or TRICARE) that covers your qualifying expenses
  • Household income at or below 500% of the federal poverty level, adjusted for your regional cost-of-living index
  • Confirmed diagnosis matching the fund, and in treatment (or starting within 60 days, or treated in the past 6 months)
  • Legal U.S. resident receiving treatment in the U.S. or a U.S. territory

What the application asks for

  • Contact information and Social Security number (or alien number)
  • Annual household income (for pre-screening; proof of income due within 30 days of approval)
  • Health insurance carrier, plan type, policy ID and group number; Medicare supplement or secondary insurance if you have one
  • Copay or coinsurance amounts
  • Your provider's name and contact information, diagnosis (exact date if within 6 months), prescribed medications and treatment plan

How to apply

Sign up for fund notifications (text, email or automated call) at totalassist.org/notify. When a fund opens: You (the patient) apply online — it takes about 15 minutes and you learn immediately whether you are approved — or call 866-512-3861, Monday–Friday 8:30am–5:30pm ET. Patient Advocate Foundation verifies your diagnosis and treatment plan directly with your provider and verifies income automatically; you have 30 days after approval to provide proof of income.

Charitable grant

HealthWell Foundation — AutoImmune and IBD Medicare Access funds

HealthWell Foundation · AutoImmune – Medicare Access · Inflammatory Bowel Disease – Medicare Access

Closed to new applicants Medicare: may apply

Status: Both funds were "temporarily closed to new patients due to lack of sufficient funding" on August 26, 2026. Rinvoq and upadacitinib are on both funds' covered-treatments lists. HealthWell also runs a Giant Cell Arteritis or Temporal Arteritis – Medicare Access fund, matching another Rinvoq indication; it was closed too, and we did not confirm Rinvoq on that fund's medication list — worth asking about if it reopens.

HealthWell lists Rinvoq on its AutoImmune and Inflammatory Bowel Disease Medicare Access funds. HealthWell states that closed funds reopen as funding is replenished, and offers real-time alerts for each fund.

If you have Medicare: Both are Medicare Access funds — for Medicare patients only. HealthWell requires insurance that pays part of the cost of the drug; a discount card does not count.

What it can cover: When open: AutoImmune – Medicare Access up to $2,800; Inflammatory Bowel Disease – Medicare Access up to $2,100. Both pay as a pharmacy card, with household income up to 500% of the federal poverty level.

Who may qualify

  • Medicare coverage that pays part of the cost of Rinvoq
  • Household income up to 500% of the federal poverty level, adjusted for household size and cost of living
  • A qualifying autoimmune or inflammatory bowel disease diagnosis, verified by your provider

What the application asks for

  • Some form of health insurance (Medicare qualifies) that covers part of the cost of the drug — discount cards do not count
  • Social Security number (used to prevent duplicate applications)
  • Diagnosis verified by a physician's, nurse practitioner's or physician assistant's signature
  • Treatment in the United States

How to apply

When a fund is open, apply online or by phone; your provider verifies the diagnosis by signature. When a fund is closed, sign up for that fund's real-time alerts — HealthWell says replenished funds reopen "as quickly as possible."

Charitable grant

Good Days

Good Days

No program found Medicare: not stated

Status: Good Days lists no rheumatoid arthritis, psoriatic arthritis, atopic dermatitis, Crohn's disease or ulcerative colitis program (checked August 26, 2026).

An honest negative: we looked, and there is no Good Days program covering Rinvoq's indications.

If you have Medicare: Not applicable — no matching program.

How to apply

Not applicable.

How to apply for Rinvoq assistance

The written steps are complete on their own; the video above will walk through the same process when it is published.

  1. Step 1 — Find the applicable assistance program

    For Rinvoq on Medicare there is a live manufacturer route, and the order is set by AbbVie's own rule:

    • Household income below 150% of the poverty level → apply for Medicare Extra Help first. AbbVie requires it, and approval is the better outcome anyway.
    • On Medicare, denied Extra Help or income above 150% FPL → myAbbVie Assist for free Rinvoq, weighing the TrOOP consequence described on the card below.
    • Not sure where you stand → call 1-800-2RINVOQ and ask for a RINVOQ Complete Insurance Specialist; that is the route AbbVie points Medicare patients to.
    • A diagnosis matching one of the funds → sign up for TotalAssist and HealthWell alerts; every fund was closed when we checked.
    • Commercial insurance rather than Medicare → the RINVOQ Complete Savings Card, which Medicare rules out.
  2. Step 2 — Check whether applications are currently open

    Rinvoq appears in TotalAssist's medication index and on both HealthWell fund pages, and it is on AbbVie's available-medicines list. Only the last of those was actually open when we checked:

    • AbbVie: the available-programs page lists the medicines currently in myAbbVie Assist. AbbVie removed Humira from that list on July 1, 2026, so confirm Rinvoq is still on it before you apply.
    • TotalAssist: the fund list at totalassist.org/funds shows "Open" or "Closed" for every fund.
    • HealthWell: the Disease Funds page shows each fund's status; closed funds reopen as money is replenished.
  3. Step 3 — Check eligibility

    Each program sets its own rules. For Rinvoq on August 26, 2026, these are the ones that decide your application:

    • myAbbVie Assist: uninsured, on Medicare, or underinsured; a Rinvoq prescription; and, if you are on Medicare with income below 150% FPL, an Extra Help denial letter. AbbVie assesses income electronically rather than publishing a threshold.
    • TotalAssist (when open): government insurance covering Rinvoq; income at or below 500% FPL adjusted for local cost of living; a matching diagnosis in treatment.
    • HealthWell (when open): Medicare that pays part of the cost; income up to 500% FPL; a provider-verified diagnosis.
    • Extra Help: income below about $23,940 a year (one person) or $32,460 (couple) and countable resources limited to $18,090 or $36,100 in 2026.
    • Your plan, separately: because Rinvoq's label expects a TNF blocker to have been tried first, prior authorization is likely — sort that out in parallel, or an approved application will still not get you the medicine.
  4. Step 4 — Gather your information

    The AbbVie application asks for more paperwork than most. Have these ready:

    • Medicare card and your Part D or Medicare Advantage drug-plan card — AbbVie wants copies of the front and back of all insurance cards.
    • Your most recent federal tax return, or pay stubs for at least two pay periods, a Social Security or disability statement, a W-2 or a 1099-R, in case the electronic income check cannot verify your income.
    • If your income is below 150% FPL: your Extra Help denial letter from Social Security.
    • Your Rinvoq prescription details and your prescriber's name, office phone and fax — and, if your plan is asking, the record of the TNF blocker you tried first.
  5. Step 5 — Complete the application

    Who fills out what:

    • myAbbVie Assist: you complete the patient sections, sign the terms of participation and sign the HIPAA authorization separately; your prescriber completes and signs the provider page. Apply online, or fax or mail the form — you and your provider may send your parts separately.
    • TotalAssist (when open): you apply online in about 15 minutes or by phone; Patient Advocate Foundation verifies your diagnosis with your provider.
    • HealthWell (when open): you apply online or by phone; your provider verifies the diagnosis by signature.
    • Extra Help: you (or someone helping you) apply through Social Security — online, by phone at 1-800-772-1213, or in person. It is free.
  6. Step 6 — Submit and wait for a determination

    What to expect:

    • myAbbVie Assist: AbbVie begins assessing eligibility once both the patient and provider pages are in. Call 1-800-222-6885, Monday–Friday 7am–7pm Central, to check where an application stands. Approved enrollment runs for a calendar-year term.
    • Extra Help: Social Security notifies you by mail. If you are denied, keep the letter — it is the document AbbVie needs.
    • TotalAssist (when open): you learn immediately whether you are approved; proof of income is due within 30 days.
  7. Step 7 — If the program is closed or you don't qualify

    Do not stop at "closed" or "denied":

    • Sign up for TotalAssist and HealthWell alerts so you hear when an autoimmune, skin or IBD fund reopens — there is no waitlist or queue, and Rinvoq matches more funds than most medications.
    • If myAbbVie Assist turned you down because you qualify for Extra Help, that is the route it was pointing you to — and it lowers every covered drug, not only this one.
    • If your Part D plan denied Rinvoq on step therapy, ask your prescriber's office to request a formulary exception and document the TNF blocker you already tried; that is often the real blocker rather than money.
    • Use the Medicare Prescription Payment Plan to spread this year's out-of-pocket costs across monthly payments.
    • Compare Part D and Medicare Advantage drug plans in the fall; specialty tiers and step-therapy rules differ sharply from plan to plan.
    • Call Vernal Medicare — we'll go through every route above with you, free.

What you'll need

Only items the programs above actually ask for. Gather these before you start.

  • Medicare card and your Part D or Medicare Advantage drug-plan card — plan name, member ID and group number
  • Prescription details — medication name, strength and dose; prescriber name, office phone and address
  • Diagnosis and date of diagnosis — TotalAssist needs the exact date if diagnosed within the past 6 months
  • Household size and annual household income — and proof — tax return, Social Security or pension statements, or pay stubs
  • Copies of the front and back of all insurance cards — myAbbVie Assist
  • Extra Help denial letter from Social Security — myAbbVie Assist — required if you have Medicare and income below 150% FPL
  • Record of the TNF blocker you tried first — your Part D plan — Rinvoq is usually subject to step therapy

If assistance is unavailable

A closed fund or a denial is not the end of the road. Check these next:

  1. If AbbVie asked for an Extra Help denial letter, start there — apply through Social Security, and keep whatever letter comes back either way. Apply for Extra Help at SSA.gov
  2. Sign up for TotalAssist fund notifications so you hear the moment a Rinvoq fund reopens — there is no waitlist or queue, so speed matters. TotalAssist notifications
  3. Sign up for HealthWell fund alerts for the same reason; HealthWell says closed funds reopen as funding is replenished. HealthWell disease funds
  4. Check Medicare Extra Help — it does not depend on a fund balance and lowers the cost of every covered drug, not just this one. Extra Help in Utah
  5. Ask your doctor's office — many practices have staff who handle assistance applications routinely and can request a formulary exception or a lower-cost alternative.
  6. Use the Medicare Prescription Payment Plan to spread this year's out-of-pocket costs across monthly payments (it does not lower the total). Medicare.gov
  7. Compare Part D and Medicare Advantage drug plans during the fall enrollment period — the tier and cost-sharing for Rinvoq differ from plan to plan. Part D plans in Vernal

Could Medicare Extra Help reduce your Rinvoq costs?

Extra Help is not a grant for Rinvoq. It is a Medicare program that lowers what qualifying beneficiaries pay for their Part D premium, deductible and every covered prescription — so it is worth checking even when a charitable fund is closed, because it does not depend on fund balances.

For Rinvoq, Extra Help is a gate in front of myAbbVie Assist, not just an alternative to it. If your household income is below 150% of the federal poverty level, AbbVie will only consider you after Social Security has denied you Extra Help, and it wants the letter. Rinvoq's own site frames it the same way: if you are not eligible for Extra Help, the medicine may still be available at no additional cost. So apply for Extra Help first — approval gives you the stronger, broader benefit, and denial gives you the document AbbVie needs.

In 2026, people with full Extra Help generally pay no more than $12.65 for a covered brand-name drug. Income must be below about $23,940 a year for one person ($32,460 for a couple) and countable resources under $18,090 ($36,100 for a couple). Apply free through Social Security — online, by phone at 1-800-772-1213, or in person — and never pay anyone to apply for you.

Government program

Medicare Extra Help (Part D Low-Income Subsidy)

Medicare / Social Security Administration

Accepting applications Medicare: may apply

Status: Year-round federal program (figures for 2026)

Not a grant for one drug — a Medicare program that lowers what qualifying beneficiaries pay for their Part D premium, deductible and every covered prescription.

If you have Medicare: For people with Medicare Part D or a Medicare Advantage drug plan who have limited income and resources.

What it can cover: Part D premium and deductible (often to $0) and reduced copays — generally no more than $12.65 for a covered brand-name drug in 2026 with full Extra Help.

Who may qualify

  • Income below 150% of the federal poverty level — about $23,940 a year for one person or $32,460 for a married couple in 2026.
  • Countable resources (savings, investments — not your home or car) limited to $18,090 for an individual or $36,100 for a married couple living together in 2026 (Medicare.gov figures, which include a burial-expense allowance).
  • Automatic if you have Medicaid, Supplemental Security Income (SSI), or a Medicare Savings Program.

What the application asks for

  • Social Security number and Medicare number
  • Income (Social Security, pensions, wages) for you and a spouse you live with
  • Value of savings, investments and other countable resources

How to apply

You (or someone helping you) apply free through Social Security — online, by phone, or at a Social Security office. There is never a fee to apply.

Key terms on this page

Patient assistance program (PAP)
A manufacturer program that provides its medication free or at low cost to people who meet income and insurance rules. Many PAPs accept Medicare Part D enrollees; each sets its own criteria.
Copay card / savings card
A manufacturer discount for commercially insured patients. Federal anti-kickback rules mean these cards generally cannot be used with Medicare, Medicaid or other government insurance.
Charitable copay grant
Money from a nonprofit foundation (for example HealthWell or Patient Advocate Foundation) that pays eligible copays or coinsurance for a specific diagnosis. A drug can be listed while the fund is closed to new applicants.
Federal poverty level (FPL)
A federal income measure that assistance programs use as a yardstick — "300% of FPL", "500% of FPL". The percentage is a rule, but the dollar figure behind it comes from a table each program publishes itself, built on a chosen year of the HHS poverty guidelines. Two programs can quote the same percentage in the same year and still list different dollar limits; compare each program against its own table, not against another program.
Medicare Extra Help
The Part D Low-Income Subsidy: a Medicare program that lowers or eliminates Part D premiums, deductibles and copays for beneficiaries with limited income and resources. You apply through Social Security.
Maximum Fair Price (MFP)
The price Medicare negotiated for a selected drug under the Medicare Drug Price Negotiation Program. It applies to Part D plans, not to the pharmacy cash price, and it lowers what plans and enrollees pay for that drug.

Related medication assistance guides

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Medicare cover Rinvoq?
Generally yes. Medicare Part D and Medicare Advantage drug plans cover Rinvoq, usually on a specialty tier and almost always with prior authorization or step therapy — the label itself expects that a TNF blocker was tried first for most indications. Because it is a tablet dispensed at a pharmacy, it runs through your Part D drug benefit rather than Part B. Part D out-of-pocket costs are capped at $2,100 in 2026. If your income and resources are limited, Medicare Extra Help can lower a covered brand-name copay to about $12.65.
Is there a Rinvoq patient assistance program for people on Medicare?
Yes. AbbVie's myAbbVie Assist program lists Rinvoq among its available medicines and accepts Medicare beneficiaries. Rinvoq.com states it directly: "If you're not eligible for Extra Help, RINVOQ may still be available at no additional cost." One rule applies specifically to Medicare — if your household income is below 150% of the federal poverty level you are not eligible unless you have applied for Extra Help and been denied, with the denial letter attached. Call 1-800-222-6885 for the application, or 1-800-2RINVOQ for an Insurance Specialist.
If AbbVie gives me Rinvoq free, does that count toward my Part D out-of-pocket cap?
No. AbbVie's terms of participation require that you not purchase Rinvoq under your Medicare plan while enrolled, that you not submit claims or seek true out-of-pocket (TrOOP) credit for the medicine provided, and they state that myAbbVie Assist will inform your Medicare drug plan that you are receiving the medication at no cost outside the Part D benefit. The medicine is genuinely free — it simply does not move you toward the $2,100 cap for your other drugs.
Can I use the RINVOQ Complete Savings Card with Medicare?
No. AbbVie's terms state the copay assistance program is not available to patients receiving reimbursement under any federal, state or government-funded insurance program, and name Medicare including Part D, Medicare Advantage, Medigap, Medicaid, TRICARE, DoD and VA. If you begin such coverage while holding a card, AbbVie asks you to call 1-800-2RINVOQ to stop participation. Federal anti-kickback rules are the reason — see the key terms lower on this page.
AbbVie stopped covering Humira. Does that affect Rinvoq?
No. AbbVie removed HUMIRA from myAbbVie Assist for new patients effective July 1, 2026, but the program continues and Rinvoq remains on AbbVie's available-medicines list — AbbVie in fact names Rinvoq as one of the treatments that may be available through the program to patients affected by the Humira change. Because AbbVie has shown it will remove a medicine from that list, check Rinvoq is still on it before you apply.
Is there a charitable grant for Rinvoq right now?
Not when we checked on August 26, 2026. TotalAssist lists Rinvoq under six funds — rheumatoid arthritis, psoriatic arthritis, ankylosing spondylitis, atopic dermatitis, ulcerative colitis and inflammatory bowel disease — and HealthWell lists it on the AutoImmune and Inflammatory Bowel Disease Medicare Access funds. All eight were closed to new applicants, as was HealthWell's giant cell arteritis fund. Good Days has no matching fund. Sign up for alerts at both foundations; with this many matching funds, one reopening is more likely than for most medications.
Is there a generic for Rinvoq?
No. Upadacitinib is brand-only in the United States, with no generic on the market. Rinvoq is a JAK inhibitor rather than a biologic, so biosimilars are not the relevant comparison either. If cost is the problem, ask whether another medicine for your condition sits on a lower tier of your plan, and see all prescription assistance options.

Sources

Having trouble figuring out your prescription costs?

If you live in Vernal or the Uintah Basin, Vernal Medicare can help you understand your Medicare prescription coverage and where to look for Rinvoq assistance — free, no pressure. We don't award grants or decide eligibility; the programs above do. We help you find and apply to the right ones.

Call 435-219-5120 Schedule a Free Review

Call Text Us