📧 rocco@vernalmedicare.com 📞 435-219-5120 (TTY: 711) Search 🌐 EnglishEspañol

Autoimmune & Immune Conditions · Biologics

Humira Assistance Programs & Grants in Utah

Assistance information last verified: August 2026

The manufacturer route has closed. AbbVie stopped accepting new HUMIRA patients into myAbbVie Assist on July 1, 2026 and is phasing the brand out of the program, pointing patients to adalimumab biosimilars instead. The savings card excludes Medicare. Every autoimmune and bowel-disease charity fund we checked was closed to new applicants. What is left for a Medicare beneficiary: a biosimilar conversation with your prescriber, Extra Help, and fund alerts. Financial assistance may be available through charitable foundations, manufacturer programs, Medicare's Extra Help program, or other assistance resources. Availability and eligibility change frequently — the information on this page was verified in August 2026.

How to Apply for Humira Assistance What AbbVie's July 2026 program change means if you take Humira on Medicare, how to check where your own enrollment stands, and the biosimilar question to ask your prescriber.

Can I get help paying for Humira?

The manufacturer route has closed. AbbVie stopped accepting new HUMIRA patients into myAbbVie Assist on July 1, 2026 and is phasing the brand out of the program, pointing patients to adalimumab biosimilars instead. The savings card excludes Medicare. Every autoimmune and bowel-disease charity fund we checked was closed to new applicants. What is left for a Medicare beneficiary: a biosimilar conversation with your prescriber, Extra Help, and fund alerts.

  • myAbbVie Assist: closed to new Humira patients. AbbVie's program update says, in its own words, "Effective July 1, 2026, myAbbVie Assist PAP will no longer accept new patients for HUMIRA into the program." Patients already enrolled are supported through the end of their current eligibility term and cannot renew after that.
  • AbbVie still runs myAbbVie Assist for other medicines — Skyrizi and Rinvoq among them. The program did not close; Humira left it.
  • A trap to know about: AbbVie's application-overview page still offers a HUMIRA application form dated December 2024. A downloadable form is not an open program.
  • HUMIRA Complete Savings Card: commercially insured patients only. AbbVie's terms exclude Medicare including Part D, Medicare Advantage, Medigap, Medicaid, TRICARE, DoD and VA.
  • Charitable grants: TotalAssist lists Humira under its rheumatoid arthritis, psoriasis, psoriatic arthritis, ankylosing spondylitis, ulcerative colitis, IBD and uveitis funds, and HealthWell lists it on its AutoImmune and Inflammatory Bowel Disease Medicare Access funds. Every one of them was closed to new applicants when we checked.
  • AbbVie's own advice is worth taking seriously: "If you are doing well on HUMIRA, an adalimumab biosimilar may be an option," and many biosimilars run their own assistance programs. That conversation belongs with your prescriber.

1 of the 5 programs we checked for Humira was accepting applications when verified in August 2026.

About Humira (adalimumab)

Humira is an injected TNF blocker used for a long list of immune-driven conditions, from rheumatoid arthritis and psoriasis to Crohn's disease and ulcerative colitis. It has been on the U.S. market since 2002, and since 2023 a growing set of FDA-approved adalimumab biosimilars has been available alongside it — which is the single most important fact for anyone facing a Humira bill in 2026.

Approved uses

  • Moderately to severely active rheumatoid arthritis in adults, and polyarticular juvenile idiopathic arthritis in patients 2 and older
  • Active psoriatic arthritis and active ankylosing spondylitis in adults
  • Moderately to severely active Crohn's disease (adults and patients 6 and older) and ulcerative colitis (adults and patients 5 and older)
  • Moderate to severe chronic plaque psoriasis in adults who are candidates for systemic therapy or phototherapy
  • Moderate to severe hidradenitis suppurativa in patients 12 and older
  • Non-infectious intermediate, posterior and panuveitis in adults and patients 2 and older

Manufacturer: AbbVie

Why Humira can be expensive on Medicare

Humira sits on the specialty tier of most Part D formularies, where you pay a percentage of a very high price rather than a flat copay. Nothing about that has changed — but the market around it has: AbbVie itself now points patients toward FDA-approved adalimumab biosimilars, and has begun withdrawing brand Humira from its own patient assistance program because of them.

Medicare coverage context

Humira is generally covered under Medicare Part D and Medicare Advantage drug plans, usually on a specialty tier and often with prior authorization or step therapy. Part D out-of-pocket costs are capped at $2,100 in 2026, and the Medicare Prescription Payment Plan lets you spread that cap across monthly payments — for a specialty drug like this, that matters, because the cap is often reached in the first months of the year. Humira is not on the Medicare-negotiated drug lists for 2026 or 2027. Ask your plan how it covers adalimumab biosimilars: for many plans in 2026 a biosimilar sits on a lower tier than brand Humira.

Humira assistance options at a glance

Every program we checked, what kind of help it is, whether people with Medicare can use it, and its status when we verified it. A medication being listed by a program is not the same as the program accepting applications.

About the income limits below: Income limits can differ between assistance programs even when both describe their eligibility as the same percentage of the federal poverty level. The dollar limits shown here come from each program's own published income table, and each program decides which year's poverty guidelines that table is built from and when it takes effect. Treat the figures as belonging to the program they are listed under — they are not interchangeable, and only the program can tell you which table it is applying to your application today.

Humira assistance programs compared
ProgramType of helpPeople with MedicareStatus (August 2026)
myAbbVie Assist — closed to new Humira patients Manufacturer patient assistance not eligible Closed to new applicants
HUMIRA Complete Savings Card Commercial copay / savings card not eligible Open with limits
TotalAssist — autoimmune and bowel-disease funds Charitable grant may apply Closed to new applicants
HealthWell Foundation — AutoImmune and IBD Medicare Access funds Charitable grant may apply Closed to new applicants
Good Days Charitable grant not stated No program found
Medicare Extra Help (Part D Low-Income Subsidy) Government program may apply Accepting applications

Manufacturer programs from AbbVie

A patient assistance program (free or low-cost drug by income) is not the same as a copay card (a commercial discount that usually excludes Medicare). Both are listed so you can see which one applies to you.

Manufacturer patient assistance

myAbbVie Assist — closed to new Humira patients

AbbVie Patient Access Support

Closed to new applicants Medicare: not eligible

Status: Closed to new Humira applicants since July 1, 2026, and being phased out for the brand entirely. AbbVie: "Effective July 1, 2026, myAbbVie Assist PAP will no longer accept new patients for HUMIRA into the program." Read on AbbVie's program-update page on August 26, 2026.

AbbVie's patient assistance program provides free medicine to qualifying patients, and it is still running — Humira has been removed from it. AbbVie says it decided to phase Humira out "after carefully reviewing the growing number of treatment options available to patients today, including FDA-approved adalimumab biosimilars that may be available through insurance or other support programs." Patients enrolled before the cut-off keep their medicine through the end of their current eligibility term but cannot renew.

If you have Medicare: Not a question of Medicare. The program still accepts Medicare beneficiaries for the medicines it covers — its own description reads "If you are uninsured, receiving coverage through Medicare, or your health insurance isn't enough to cover the cost of my medicine, you may be eligible to receive free medicine." Humira is simply no longer one of those medicines for a new applicant.

What it can cover: For patients enrolled before July 1, 2026: Humira at no cost through the end of the current eligibility term only.

Who may qualify

  • Enrolled in myAbbVie Assist for Humira before July 1, 2026 — new applications for Humira are not accepted
  • AbbVie's advice to enrolled patients: talk to your prescriber now about next steps, because changing treatment takes time

What the application asks for

  • If you are already enrolled: nothing new. Call the program before your term ends so a gap does not catch you by surprise.
  • If you are not enrolled: ask your prescriber about an adalimumab biosimilar and whether that product has its own assistance program.

How to apply

You cannot apply for Humira. Call AbbVie Patient Access Support at 1-800-222-6885, Monday–Friday 7am–7pm Central, to confirm where your own enrollment stands or to ask which AbbVie medicines are still in the program.

Commercial copay / savings card

HUMIRA Complete Savings Card

AbbVie

Open with limits Medicare: not eligible

Status: Running for commercially insured patients on August 26, 2026, and closed to anyone with government drug coverage.

A commercial copay card, listed here so you can see why it does not apply to you. AbbVie also offers a Complete Rebate for commercially insured patients whose pharmacy cannot process the card — same exclusion.

If you have Medicare: AbbVie's terms say the co-pay assistance program "is not available to patients receiving reimbursement under any federal, state, or government-funded insurance programs (for example, Medicare [including Part D], Medicare Advantage, Medigap, Medicaid, TRICARE, Department of Defense, or Veterans Affairs programs)." If you start such coverage, AbbVie asks you to call 1-800-4HUMIRA to stop participation.

What it can cover: For commercially insured patients: a maximum annual benefit of $14,000 per calendar year, subject to AbbVie's terms.

Who may qualify

  • Commercial insurance coverage for Humira
  • Not receiving reimbursement under Medicare, Medicare Advantage, Medigap, Medicaid, TRICARE, DoD or VA programs

How to apply

Not applicable if you have Medicare. Commercially insured patients request a card through HUMIRA Complete.

Charitable grants for Humira

Nine charitable funds list Humira across its indications — seven at TotalAssist (rheumatoid arthritis, psoriasis, psoriatic arthritis, ankylosing spondylitis, ulcerative colitis, inflammatory bowel disease and uveitis) and two at HealthWell (AutoImmune and Inflammatory Bowel Disease Medicare Access). On August 26, 2026 every single one was closed to new applicants. Good Days covers almost none of Humira's indications and its uveitis fund was closed too. Being listed is not the same as being open — sign up for alerts at both foundations so you hear when one reopens. With the manufacturer program now closed to new Humira patients as well, the routes that do not depend on a fund balance are Extra Help and a biosimilar conversation with your prescriber.

Charitable grant

TotalAssist — autoimmune and bowel-disease funds

Patient Advocate Foundation · Rheumatoid arthritis · Psoriasis · Psoriatic arthritis · Ankylosing spondylitis · Ulcerative colitis · IBD · Uveitis

Closed to new applicants Medicare: may apply

Status: Every TotalAssist fund matching a Humira indication was closed to new applicants on August 26, 2026 — rheumatoid arthritis, psoriasis, psoriatic arthritis, ankylosing spondylitis, ulcerative colitis, inflammatory bowel disease and uveitis. Humira is on each of those funds' approved-medication lists.

Patient Advocate Foundation's TotalAssist (which absorbed the PAN Foundation's funds on July 1, 2026) lists Humira under seven funds covering its indications. A listing is not an open fund. Sign up to be notified the moment one reopens; TotalAssist has no waitlist or queue.

If you have Medicare: When open, these funds require government insurance (Medicare, Medicaid or TRICARE) that covers your Humira costs.

What it can cover: When open, the guaranteed award differs by fund: inflammatory bowel disease $10,400; ankylosing spondylitis $4,400; rheumatoid arthritis $4,000; psoriatic arthritis $3,500; ulcerative colitis $3,000; psoriasis $2,500; uveitis $1,400. One grant per condition.

Who may qualify

  • Government-insured coverage (Medicare, Medicaid or TRICARE) that covers your qualifying expenses
  • Household income at or below 500% of the federal poverty level, adjusted for your regional cost-of-living index
  • Confirmed diagnosis matching the fund, and in treatment (or starting within 60 days, or treated in the past 6 months)
  • Legal U.S. resident receiving treatment in the U.S. or a U.S. territory

What the application asks for

  • Contact information and Social Security number (or alien number)
  • Annual household income (for pre-screening; proof of income due within 30 days of approval)
  • Health insurance carrier, plan type, policy ID and group number; Medicare supplement or secondary insurance if you have one
  • Copay or coinsurance amounts
  • Your provider's name and contact information, diagnosis (exact date if within 6 months), prescribed medications and treatment plan

How to apply

Sign up for fund notifications (text, email or automated call) at totalassist.org/notify. When a fund opens: You (the patient) apply online — it takes about 15 minutes and you learn immediately whether you are approved — or call 866-512-3861, Monday–Friday 8:30am–5:30pm ET. Patient Advocate Foundation verifies your diagnosis and treatment plan directly with your provider and verifies income automatically; you have 30 days after approval to provide proof of income.

Charitable grant

HealthWell Foundation — AutoImmune and IBD Medicare Access funds

HealthWell Foundation · AutoImmune – Medicare Access · Inflammatory Bowel Disease – Medicare Access

Closed to new applicants Medicare: may apply

Status: Both funds were "temporarily closed to new patients due to lack of sufficient funding" on August 26, 2026. Humira Pen and Humira Pfs are on both funds' covered-treatments lists, as is adalimumab.

HealthWell lists Humira on its AutoImmune and Inflammatory Bowel Disease Medicare Access funds. HealthWell states that closed funds reopen as funding is replenished, and offers real-time alerts for each fund.

If you have Medicare: Both are Medicare Access funds — for Medicare patients only. HealthWell requires insurance that pays part of the cost of the drug; a discount card does not count.

What it can cover: When open: AutoImmune – Medicare Access up to $2,800; Inflammatory Bowel Disease – Medicare Access up to $2,100. Both pay as a pharmacy card, with household income up to 500% of the federal poverty level.

Who may qualify

  • Medicare coverage that pays part of the cost of Humira
  • Household income up to 500% of the federal poverty level, adjusted for household size and cost of living
  • A qualifying autoimmune or inflammatory bowel disease diagnosis, verified by your provider

What the application asks for

  • Some form of health insurance (Medicare qualifies) that covers part of the cost of the drug — discount cards do not count
  • Social Security number (used to prevent duplicate applications)
  • Diagnosis verified by a physician's, nurse practitioner's or physician assistant's signature
  • Treatment in the United States

How to apply

When a fund is open, apply online or by phone; your provider verifies the diagnosis by signature. When a fund is closed, sign up for that fund's real-time alerts — HealthWell says replenished funds reopen "as quickly as possible."

Charitable grant

Good Days

Good Days

No program found Medicare: not stated

Status: Good Days lists no rheumatoid arthritis, psoriasis, psoriatic arthritis, Crohn's disease or ulcerative colitis program. Its one fund touching a Humira indication — Chronic Noninfectious Uveitis — was marked closed to new enrollments (checked August 26, 2026).

An honest negative with one qualifier: Good Days covers almost none of Humira's indications, and the single overlapping fund (chronic non-infectious uveitis) was not accepting new enrollments.

If you have Medicare: Not applicable — no open matching program.

How to apply

Not applicable. If you are treated for non-infectious uveitis, it is worth re-checking the Good Days list later — fund status changes through the year.

How to apply for Humira assistance

The written steps are complete on their own; the video above will walk through the same process when it is published.

  1. Step 1 — Find the applicable assistance program

    Humira is the case where the usual order does not apply, because the manufacturer route is gone for new patients. Start here instead:

    • Already enrolled in myAbbVie Assist for Humira → call 1-800-222-6885 and find out exactly when your current eligibility term ends, before it does.
    • Not enrolled → ask your prescriber about an FDA-approved adalimumab biosimilar, and whether that product has its own patient assistance program. This is AbbVie's own recommendation.
    • Limited income and resources → apply for Medicare Extra Help through Social Security. It does not depend on any fund or manufacturer.
    • A diagnosis matching one of the funds → sign up for TotalAssist and HealthWell alerts; all of them were closed when we checked.
    • Commercial insurance rather than Medicare → the HUMIRA Complete Savings Card, which Medicare rules out.
  2. Step 2 — Check whether applications are currently open

    Humira appears in TotalAssist's medication index and on both HealthWell fund pages, and a HUMIRA application form is still downloadable from AbbVie's site. None of that means a program is accepting you. Check the status itself:

    • AbbVie: the Humira program update page states the July 1, 2026 close to new patients. The available-programs page lists the medicines still in myAbbVie Assist — Humira is not among them.
    • TotalAssist: the fund list at totalassist.org/funds shows "Open" or "Closed" for every fund.
    • HealthWell: the Disease Funds page shows each fund's status; closed funds reopen as money is replenished.
  3. Step 3 — Check eligibility

    For Humira on August 26, 2026 the eligibility questions that still have live answers are these:

    • myAbbVie Assist: only whether you were already enrolled before July 1, 2026. There is no income test to pass, because there is no new enrollment to pass it for.
    • TotalAssist (when open): government insurance covering Humira; income at or below 500% FPL adjusted for local cost of living; a matching diagnosis in treatment.
    • HealthWell (when open): Medicare that pays part of the cost; income up to 500% FPL; a provider-verified diagnosis.
    • Extra Help: income below about $23,940 a year (one person) or $32,460 (couple) and countable resources limited to $18,090 or $36,100 in 2026.
    • A biosimilar's own program: each manufacturer sets its own rules — ask which biosimilar your plan prefers before you research programs, so you research the right one.
  4. Step 4 — Gather your information

    Whichever route you take, the same paperwork does most of the work:

    • Medicare card and your Part D or Medicare Advantage drug-plan card.
    • Your diagnosis and the date of diagnosis — TotalAssist needs the exact date if it was within the past 6 months.
    • Household size and annual household income, with proof.
    • Your current Humira prescription and your prescriber's name, office phone and fax — a biosimilar switch needs a new prescription.
  5. Step 5 — Complete the application

    Who fills out what:

    • Biosimilar assistance program: the process mirrors this one — a patient section, a prescriber section, and proof of income. Get the program name from the manufacturer of the specific biosimilar your plan covers.
    • TotalAssist (when open): you apply online in about 15 minutes or by phone; Patient Advocate Foundation verifies your diagnosis with your provider.
    • HealthWell (when open): you apply online or by phone; your provider verifies the diagnosis by signature.
    • Extra Help: you (or someone helping you) apply through Social Security — online, by phone at 1-800-772-1213, or in person. It is free.
  6. Step 6 — Submit and wait for a determination

    What to expect:

    • Extra Help: Social Security notifies you by mail; if approved, your Part D plan applies the lower copays.
    • TotalAssist (when open): you learn immediately whether you are approved; proof of income is due within 30 days.
    • A biosimilar switch: allow time. AbbVie itself warns that changing treatment can take a while, and a new prior authorization may be needed.
  7. Step 7 — If the program is closed or you don't qualify

    For Humira this is the most likely outcome right now, so plan for it:

    • Ask your prescriber directly: "Which adalimumab biosimilar does my plan prefer, and would it work for me?" That single question does more for a Humira bill in 2026 than any application.
    • Sign up for TotalAssist and HealthWell alerts so you hear when an autoimmune or IBD fund reopens — there is no waitlist or queue.
    • Apply for Extra Help even if you think your income is too high; its limits surprise people, and it is the one route that does not depend on a fund balance.
    • Ask your plan about a formulary exception if brand Humira is genuinely the medicine you need.
    • Use the Medicare Prescription Payment Plan to spread this year's out-of-pocket costs across monthly payments — useful when a specialty drug front-loads your spending.
    • Call Vernal Medicare — we'll go through every route above with you, free.

What you'll need

Only items the programs above actually ask for. Gather these before you start.

  • Medicare card and your Part D or Medicare Advantage drug-plan card — plan name, member ID and group number
  • Prescription details — medication name, strength and dose; prescriber name, office phone and address
  • Diagnosis and date of diagnosis — TotalAssist needs the exact date if diagnosed within the past 6 months
  • Household size and annual household income — and proof — tax return, Social Security or pension statements, or pay stubs
  • Your myAbbVie Assist enrollment details, if you have them — to find out when your current eligibility term ends
  • The name of the adalimumab biosimilar your plan covers — ask your plan or pharmacist — it decides which assistance program to research

If assistance is unavailable

A closed fund or a denial is not the end of the road. Check these next:

  1. Ask your prescriber about an FDA-approved adalimumab biosimilar and whether that product runs its own assistance program — this is AbbVie's own stated recommendation for Humira patients. Check how your plan covers it
  2. Sign up for TotalAssist fund notifications so you hear the moment a Humira fund reopens — there is no waitlist or queue, so speed matters. TotalAssist notifications
  3. Sign up for HealthWell fund alerts for the same reason; HealthWell says closed funds reopen as funding is replenished. HealthWell disease funds
  4. Check Medicare Extra Help — it does not depend on a fund balance and lowers the cost of every covered drug, not just this one. Extra Help in Utah
  5. Ask your doctor's office — many practices have staff who handle assistance applications routinely and can request a formulary exception or a lower-cost alternative.
  6. Use the Medicare Prescription Payment Plan to spread this year's out-of-pocket costs across monthly payments (it does not lower the total). Medicare.gov
  7. Compare Part D and Medicare Advantage drug plans during the fall enrollment period — the tier and cost-sharing for Humira differ from plan to plan. Part D plans in Vernal

Could Medicare Extra Help reduce your Humira costs?

Extra Help is not a grant for Humira. It is a Medicare program that lowers what qualifying beneficiaries pay for their Part D premium, deductible and every covered prescription — so it is worth checking even when a charitable fund is closed, because it does not depend on fund balances.

For Humira, Extra Help matters more than usual. A specialty-tier drug can push you to the $2,100 Part D cap within the first months of the year; full Extra Help replaces that percentage coinsurance with a copay of about $12.65 for a covered brand-name drug. It also does not depend on a fund balance or a manufacturer's decision, which is exactly what has just changed for Humira.

In 2026, people with full Extra Help generally pay no more than $12.65 for a covered brand-name drug. Income must be below about $23,940 a year for one person ($32,460 for a couple) and countable resources under $18,090 ($36,100 for a couple). Apply free through Social Security — online, by phone at 1-800-772-1213, or in person — and never pay anyone to apply for you.

Government program

Medicare Extra Help (Part D Low-Income Subsidy)

Medicare / Social Security Administration

Accepting applications Medicare: may apply

Status: Year-round federal program (figures for 2026)

Not a grant for one drug — a Medicare program that lowers what qualifying beneficiaries pay for their Part D premium, deductible and every covered prescription.

If you have Medicare: For people with Medicare Part D or a Medicare Advantage drug plan who have limited income and resources.

What it can cover: Part D premium and deductible (often to $0) and reduced copays — generally no more than $12.65 for a covered brand-name drug in 2026 with full Extra Help.

Who may qualify

  • Income below 150% of the federal poverty level — about $23,940 a year for one person or $32,460 for a married couple in 2026.
  • Countable resources (savings, investments — not your home or car) limited to $18,090 for an individual or $36,100 for a married couple living together in 2026 (Medicare.gov figures, which include a burial-expense allowance).
  • Automatic if you have Medicaid, Supplemental Security Income (SSI), or a Medicare Savings Program.

What the application asks for

  • Social Security number and Medicare number
  • Income (Social Security, pensions, wages) for you and a spouse you live with
  • Value of savings, investments and other countable resources

How to apply

You (or someone helping you) apply free through Social Security — online, by phone, or at a Social Security office. There is never a fee to apply.

Key terms on this page

Patient assistance program (PAP)
A manufacturer program that provides its medication free or at low cost to people who meet income and insurance rules. Many PAPs accept Medicare Part D enrollees; each sets its own criteria.
Copay card / savings card
A manufacturer discount for commercially insured patients. Federal anti-kickback rules mean these cards generally cannot be used with Medicare, Medicaid or other government insurance.
Charitable copay grant
Money from a nonprofit foundation (for example HealthWell or Patient Advocate Foundation) that pays eligible copays or coinsurance for a specific diagnosis. A drug can be listed while the fund is closed to new applicants.
Federal poverty level (FPL)
A federal income measure that assistance programs use as a yardstick — "300% of FPL", "500% of FPL". The percentage is a rule, but the dollar figure behind it comes from a table each program publishes itself, built on a chosen year of the HHS poverty guidelines. Two programs can quote the same percentage in the same year and still list different dollar limits; compare each program against its own table, not against another program.
Medicare Extra Help
The Part D Low-Income Subsidy: a Medicare program that lowers or eliminates Part D premiums, deductibles and copays for beneficiaries with limited income and resources. You apply through Social Security.
Maximum Fair Price (MFP)
The price Medicare negotiated for a selected drug under the Medicare Drug Price Negotiation Program. It applies to Part D plans, not to the pharmacy cash price, and it lowers what plans and enrollees pay for that drug.

Related medication assistance guides

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Medicare cover Humira?
Generally yes. Medicare Part D and Medicare Advantage drug plans cover Humira, usually on a specialty tier and often with prior authorization or step therapy. Because specialty tiers charge a percentage rather than a flat copay, many people reach the $2,100 Part D out-of-pocket cap early in the year. Ask your plan how it covers adalimumab biosimilars too — on many 2026 plans a biosimilar sits on a lower tier than brand Humira. If your income and resources are limited, Medicare Extra Help can lower a covered brand-name copay to about $12.65.
Can I still get Humira through AbbVie's patient assistance program?
Not as a new patient. AbbVie's official program update states: "Effective July 1, 2026, myAbbVie Assist PAP will no longer accept new patients for HUMIRA into the program." AbbVie says it will continue to support currently enrolled patients through the end of their current eligibility term, and that when that term ends those patients will not be able to renew for Humira. The program itself is still running for other AbbVie medicines, including Skyrizi and Rinvoq.
AbbVie's website still has a Humira patient assistance application. Can I send it in?
A form being downloadable is not the same as a program being open. AbbVie's application-overview page still links a HUMIRA application dated December 2024, while the program update page says new HUMIRA patients are not accepted as of July 1, 2026. Before spending time on paperwork, call AbbVie Patient Access Support at 1-800-222-6885, Monday–Friday 7am–7pm Central, and ask directly.
Why did AbbVie remove Humira from its assistance program?
AbbVie gives its reason on the program update page: "After carefully reviewing the growing number of treatment options available to patients today, including FDA-approved adalimumab biosimilars that may be available through insurance or other support programs, we have decided to begin phasing out HUMIRA from the myAbbVie Assist Patient Assistance Program." AbbVie adds that if you are doing well on Humira, a biosimilar may be an option, and that many biosimilars have their own patient assistance programs.
Can I use the HUMIRA Complete Savings Card with Medicare?
No. AbbVie's terms state the copay assistance program is not available to patients receiving reimbursement under any federal, state or government-funded insurance program, and name Medicare including Part D, Medicare Advantage, Medigap, Medicaid, TRICARE, DoD and VA. Federal anti-kickback rules are the reason — see the key terms lower on this page.
Is there a charitable grant for Humira right now?
Not when we checked on August 26, 2026. TotalAssist lists Humira under seven funds — rheumatoid arthritis, psoriasis, psoriatic arthritis, ankylosing spondylitis, ulcerative colitis, inflammatory bowel disease and uveitis — and HealthWell lists it on its AutoImmune and Inflammatory Bowel Disease Medicare Access funds. All nine were closed to new applicants. Sign up for alerts at both foundations and check back; funds reopen when money arrives.
Is there a generic for Humira?
There is no generic, but there are FDA-approved adalimumab biosimilars — highly similar versions from other manufacturers, several of which are marketed in the United States. AbbVie now points Humira patients toward them directly. Ask your plan or pharmacist which adalimumab biosimilar your formulary prefers and what tier it sits on, then ask your prescriber whether switching is right for you. See all prescription assistance options.

Sources

Having trouble figuring out your prescription costs?

If you live in Vernal or the Uintah Basin, Vernal Medicare can help you understand your Medicare prescription coverage and where to look for Humira assistance — free, no pressure. We don't award grants or decide eligibility; the programs above do. We help you find and apply to the right ones.

Call 435-219-5120 Schedule a Free Review

Call Text Us