📧 rocco@vernalmedicare.com 📞 435-219-5120 (TTY: 711) Search 🌐 EnglishEspañol

Heart & Blood Pressure

Vyndamax Assistance Programs & Grants in Utah

Assistance information last verified: August 2026

Yes — and unusually, two charitable funds were open on August 26, 2026. TotalAssist's Amyloidosis fund ($2,500 guaranteed, $5,500 maximum) and HealthWell's Amyloidosis fund ($8,000 maximum) both list Vyndamax and were both accepting applications. Apply to those first — Pfizer requires proof that you were denied by independent foundations before it will consider you for its own assistance program. Financial assistance may be available through charitable foundations, manufacturer programs, Medicare's Extra Help program, or other assistance resources. Availability and eligibility change frequently — the information on this page was verified in August 2026.

How to Apply for Vyndamax Assistance Why the amyloidosis funds come before the Pfizer program, what proof of denial means, and how to apply to both open funds.

Can I get help paying for Vyndamax?

Yes — and unusually, two charitable funds were open on August 26, 2026. TotalAssist's Amyloidosis fund ($2,500 guaranteed, $5,500 maximum) and HealthWell's Amyloidosis fund ($8,000 maximum) both list Vyndamax and were both accepting applications. Apply to those first — Pfizer requires proof that you were denied by independent foundations before it will consider you for its own assistance program.

  • TotalAssist Amyloidosis fund: OPEN, $2,500 guaranteed and $5,500 maximum, for people with Medicare, Medicaid or TRICARE and income at or below 500% of the federal poverty level adjusted for local cost of living.
  • HealthWell Amyloidosis fund: OPEN, up to $8,000 for prescription copays or a Medicare Part B premium, household income up to 500% of the federal poverty level.
  • Pfizer Patient Assistance Program (through VyndaLink): open to people who are uninsured or have government insurance — but only when other options are unavailable, and Pfizer requires proof of denial from independent foundations first.
  • VYNDAMAX Co-Pay Savings Program: commercial insurance only. Pfizer's terms exclude anyone in "a state or federally funded insurance program, including but not limited to Medicare, Medicaid, TRICARE, Veterans Affairs health care".
  • Medicare: not a negotiated-price drug for 2026, 2027 or 2028; Part D costs capped at $2,100 in 2026; no generic tafamidis exists.

4 of the 6 programs we checked for Vyndamax were accepting applications when verified in August 2026.

About Vyndamax (tafamidis)

Vyndamax is a once-daily capsule for a specific kind of heart disease: transthyretin amyloid cardiomyopathy, in which a blood protein misfolds and deposits in the heart muscle, stiffening it. Tafamidis holds that protein in its correct shape so less of it builds up. It treats the heart condition caused by amyloidosis, which is why the charitable funds that pay for it are amyloidosis funds rather than heart-failure funds.

Approved uses

  • Treatment of the cardiomyopathy of wild-type or hereditary transthyretin-mediated amyloidosis (ATTR-CM) in adults
  • To reduce cardiovascular mortality and cardiovascular-related hospitalization

Manufacturer: Pfizer

Why Vyndamax can be expensive on Medicare

Vyndamax is a brand-only specialty capsule with no generic — a DailyMed search for tafamidis returns exactly one labelled product, the combined Vyndaqel/Vyndamax label. It is taken every day indefinitely, so on a Part D specialty tier the coinsurance typically reaches the annual out-of-pocket cap early in the year. The manufacturer copay card excludes Medicare outright, and the manufacturer assistance program will not even consider a Medicare applicant until they have applied to independent foundations and been denied — which is why the charitable funds matter more here than on almost any other page on this site.

Medicare coverage context

Vyndamax is a capsule you take yourself, so Medicare covers it under Part D or a Medicare Advantage drug plan, generally on a specialty tier with prior authorization. It has not been selected for Medicare price negotiation — no Vyndamax, Vyndaqel or tafamidis row appears in CMS's selected-drug and Maximum Fair Price file for 2026, 2027 or 2028. Part D out-of-pocket costs are capped at $2,100 in 2026 and Extra Help lowers cost-sharing for people with limited income and resources. Note the ordering that Pfizer itself imposes: for a Medicare beneficiary the charitable funds come first, because proof that you applied to them and were denied is a condition of the Pfizer program.

Vyndamax assistance options at a glance

Every program we checked, what kind of help it is, whether people with Medicare can use it, and its status when we verified it. A medication being listed by a program is not the same as the program accepting applications.

About the income limits below: Income limits can differ between assistance programs even when both describe their eligibility as the same percentage of the federal poverty level. The dollar limits shown here come from each program's own published income table, and each program decides which year's poverty guidelines that table is built from and when it takes effect. Treat the figures as belonging to the program they are listed under — they are not interchangeable, and only the program can tell you which table it is applying to your application today.

Vyndamax assistance programs compared
ProgramType of helpPeople with MedicareStatus (August 2026)
TotalAssist — Amyloidosis fund Charitable grant may apply Accepting applications
HealthWell Foundation — Amyloidosis fund Charitable grant may apply Accepting applications
Pfizer Patient Assistance Program (through VyndaLink) Manufacturer patient assistance with conditions Open with limits
VYNDAMAX Co-Pay Savings Program Commercial copay / savings card not eligible Accepting applications
Manufacturer cash price — none found Manufacturer self-pay pricing not stated No program found
Good Days — no applicable fund Charitable grant not stated No program found
Medicare Extra Help (Part D Low-Income Subsidy) Government program may apply Accepting applications

Manufacturer programs from Pfizer

A patient assistance program (free or low-cost drug by income) is not the same as a copay card (a commercial discount that usually excludes Medicare). Both are listed so you can see which one applies to you.

Manufacturer patient assistance

Pfizer Patient Assistance Program (through VyndaLink)

Pfizer Inc. and the Pfizer Patient Assistance Foundation

Open with limits Medicare: with conditions

Status: Accepting applications on August 26, 2026, with a material restriction that decides most Medicare applications: it is a route of last resort. Pfizer states patients "are required to apply for and provide proof of denial prior to being considered for enrollment in the Pfizer Patient Assistance Program." Pfizer RxPathways adds that as of January 1, 2026 the program is unchanged.

The Pfizer Patient Assistance Program supplies Pfizer medicines free to eligible patients. It is a joint program of Pfizer Inc. and the Pfizer Patient Assistance Foundation, which Pfizer describes as a separate legal entity with distinct legal restrictions. For Vyndamax it is administered through VyndaLink.

If you have Medicare: Pfizer's own words on its VYNDAMAX site: the program "may be able to help eligible patients who are uninsured or have government-issued insurance and other financial assistance options aren't available." Medicare is government-issued insurance, so you are eligible in principle — but only after you have applied to the independent foundations and been denied, and can show it. That is why the two amyloidosis funds are listed above this card rather than below it.

What it can cover: Vyndamax at no cost to approved patients.

Who may qualify

  • Uninsured, or covered by government-issued insurance such as Medicare
  • Other financial assistance options are not available to you
  • Proof of denial from independent foundations — required before Pfizer will consider your enrollment
  • Income limits apply; the specific thresholds are not published on the VYNDAMAX support pages and were not confirmed at the source, so no figure is quoted here

What the application asks for

  • The VyndaLink enrollment form, completed with your prescriber
  • Denial letters or screenshots from the independent foundations you applied to
  • Your insurance details, including your Medicare and Part D plan information

How to apply

Call VynAssist on 1-888-863-1177, Monday–Friday 8am–7pm ET, and ask for a Pfizer Patient Access Coordinator — Pfizer assigns one to help with access and reimbursement. Download the enrollment form from the VynAssist financial-assistance page. Apply to the TotalAssist and HealthWell amyloidosis funds first and keep the outcome letters.

Commercial copay / savings card

VYNDAMAX Co-Pay Savings Program

Pfizer

Accepting applications Medicare: not eligible

Status: Active for commercially insured patients on August 26, 2026, with a $10,000–$60,000 maximum program benefit per calendar year. Pfizer reserves the right to rescind, revoke or amend the offer without notice.

A commercial copay offer: eligible patients with commercial insurance "may pay as little as $0 per month" for Vyndamax. It is not health insurance, has no membership fee, and is accepted only at participating pharmacies.

If you have Medicare: Pfizer's terms: patients "are not eligible to use this card if they are enrolled in a state or federally funded insurance program, including but not limited to Medicare, Medicaid, TRICARE, Veterans Affairs health care, a state prescription drug assistance program, or the Government Health Insurance Plan available in Puerto Rico." Federal anti-kickback rules are why every manufacturer copay card works this way.

What it can cover: Part of the commercial copay for Vyndamax, up to a $10,000–$60,000 maximum benefit per calendar year. Nothing toward Medicare cost-sharing.

Who may qualify

  • Commercial (private or employer) prescription insurance covering Vyndamax
  • Not enrolled in Medicare, Medicaid, TRICARE, VA health care, a state prescription drug assistance program, or Puerto Rico's Government Health Insurance Plan
  • Limits, terms and conditions apply

How to apply

Commercially insured patients download the co-pay card from the VynAssist financial-assistance page. Questions about claims go to 1-888-222-8475. Not a route for Medicare beneficiaries — use the amyloidosis funds and the Pfizer assistance program instead.

Manufacturer self-pay pricing

Manufacturer cash price — none found

Pfizer

No program found Medicare: not stated

Status: We found no Pfizer self-pay or direct-purchase price for Vyndamax on August 26, 2026, and neither Vyndamax nor Vyndaqel is among the medicines listed on TrumpRx.

An honest negative, and there is no generic to fall back on either: DailyMed lists exactly one tafamidis product, the combined Vyndaqel/Vyndamax label. Cost help for this medication comes from the funds, the Pfizer program and Extra Help — not from shopping the price.

If you have Medicare: Not applicable — there is no cash-pay programme for Vyndamax to have a Medicare rule.

How to apply

Not applicable. If Pfizer adds a self-pay option it would appear on the VynAssist financial-assistance page.

Charitable grants for Vyndamax

Two funds were open on August 26, 2026 — the only medication on this site where that was true. TotalAssist's Amyloidosis fund pays a $2,500 guaranteed award up to $5,500, and HealthWell's Amyloidosis fund pays up to $8,000, the largest award of any fund in this registry. Both list Vyndamax and Vyndaqel by name, and both require government or other qualifying insurance plus household income at or below 500% of the federal poverty level on their own tables. Good Days has no amyloidosis fund. Apply to both foundations before you approach Pfizer: the manufacturer program will not consider a Medicare applicant without proof that independent foundations turned them down, so these applications are the first step on that route as well as a route in themselves. Fund balances change without notice — check each fund page before you rely on it.

Charitable grant

TotalAssist — Amyloidosis fund

Patient Advocate Foundation · Amyloidosis

Accepting applications Medicare: may apply

Status: Open and accepting applications on August 26, 2026, with an instant approval decision online. Apply here before the manufacturer program — Pfizer asks for proof of foundation denials, so this application is a step on that path even if it is unsuccessful.

A copay and cost-sharing grant for people with amyloidosis. "Vyndamax (Tafamidis)" and "Vyndaqel (Tafamidis Meglumine)" are both named on the fund's approved-medication list.

If you have Medicare: The fund requires government-insured coverage — Medicare, Medicaid or TRICARE — that covers your qualifying expenses. Medicare beneficiaries are exactly who it is for.

What it can cover: $2,500 guaranteed award and up to $5,500 maximum, usable for medication copays, coinsurance and deductibles, health-insurance premiums and other qualifying expenses. One grant per condition.

Who may qualify

  • Confirmed amyloidosis diagnosis, in treatment, planning to begin treatment within 60 days, or treated in the past 6 months — active surveillance counts
  • Government-insured coverage (Medicare, Medicaid or TRICARE) that covers your qualifying expenses
  • Household income at or below 500% of the federal poverty level, adjusted for your regional cost-of-living index
  • Confirmed diagnosis matching the fund, and in treatment (or starting within 60 days, or treated in the past 6 months)
  • Legal U.S. resident receiving treatment in the U.S. or a U.S. territory

What the application asks for

  • Contact information and Social Security number (or alien number)
  • Annual household income (for pre-screening; proof of income due within 30 days of approval)
  • Health insurance carrier, plan type, policy ID and group number; Medicare supplement or secondary insurance if you have one
  • Copay or coinsurance amounts
  • Your provider's name and contact information, diagnosis (exact date if within 6 months), prescribed medications and treatment plan

How to apply

You (the patient) apply online — it takes about 15 minutes and you learn immediately whether you are approved — or call 866-512-3861, Monday–Friday 8:30am–5:30pm ET. Patient Advocate Foundation verifies your diagnosis and treatment plan directly with your provider and verifies income automatically; you have 30 days after approval to provide proof of income.

Charitable grant

HealthWell Foundation — Amyloidosis fund

HealthWell Foundation · Amyloidosis

Accepting applications Medicare: may apply

Status: Open on August 26, 2026 — one of the few HealthWell funds in this registry that was. Its $8,000 maximum is the largest award of any fund covering a medication on this site.

HealthWell lists Vyndamax, Vyndaqel and tafamidis on its Amyloidosis fund. Apply to this one as well as TotalAssist — they are separate foundations with separate money, and Pfizer counts a denial from either toward its proof-of-denial requirement.

If you have Medicare: Medicare qualifies as the insurance HealthWell requires. Premium assistance through the fund is limited to a Medicare Part B premium; the copay assistance applies to the prescription itself.

What it can cover: Up to $8,000 per grant for prescription copays, or a Medicare Part B premium. Household income up to 500% of the federal poverty level on HealthWell's own table, adjusted for household size and cost of living.

Who may qualify

  • Insurance that pays part of the cost of Vyndamax — Medicare qualifies; discount cards do not count as insurance
  • Household income up to 500% of the federal poverty level (HealthWell's own table — do not carry another program's dollar figures across)
  • An amyloidosis diagnosis verified by a physician, nurse practitioner or physician assistant
  • Treatment in the United States

What the application asks for

  • Some form of health insurance (Medicare qualifies) that covers part of the cost of the drug — discount cards do not count
  • Social Security number (used to prevent duplicate applications)
  • Diagnosis verified by a physician's, nurse practitioner's or physician assistant's signature
  • Treatment in the United States

How to apply

When a fund is open, apply online or by phone; your provider verifies the diagnosis by signature. When a fund is closed, sign up for that fund's real-time alerts — HealthWell says replenished funds reopen "as quickly as possible."

Charitable grant

Good Days — no applicable fund

Good Days

No program found Medicare: not stated

Status: Good Days' published disease list on August 26, 2026 contained no amyloidosis, ATTR or cardiomyopathy program.

An honest negative — checked because Pfizer asks for proof of denial from independent foundations, and it is worth knowing which foundations there are no grounds to apply to.

If you have Medicare: Good Days accepts Medicare beneficiaries for the diseases it covers, but it covers no diagnosis that applies to Vyndamax.

How to apply

Not applicable today. The diseases-covered page shows every fund and whether it is open.

How to apply for Vyndamax assistance

The written steps are complete on their own; the video above will walk through the same process when it is published.

  1. Step 1 — Find the applicable assistance program

    For Vyndamax on Medicare in August 2026 the order is set by Pfizer's own rule: foundations first, manufacturer second. Do them in that order even if you expect the foundations to say no.

    • Amyloidosis diagnosis, Medicare (or Medicaid/TRICARE), income at or below 500% FPL → TotalAssist Amyloidosis fund, open when we checked.
    • The same diagnosis with any qualifying insurance → HealthWell Amyloidosis fund, also open, up to $8,000.
    • Denied by both, or your costs are still unmanageable → the Pfizer Patient Assistance Program through VyndaLink, taking your denial letters with you.
    • Limited income and resources → Medicare Extra Help through Social Security, alongside all of the above.
    • Commercial insurance instead of Medicare → the VYNDAMAX Co-Pay Savings Program, which Medicare enrollees cannot use.
  2. Step 2 — Check whether applications are currently open

    Both amyloidosis funds were open on August 26, 2026. That is unusual and it may not last — fund balances change without notice, in both directions.

    • TotalAssist: the Amyloidosis fund page shows "Open" or "Closed" and the current award amounts.
    • HealthWell: the Disease Funds page shows the fund's status; sign up for its alerts even while it is open, so you hear if it closes and reopens.
    • Pfizer: VynAssist on 1-888-863-1177 can confirm the current enrollment requirements before you gather denial letters.
  3. Step 3 — Check eligibility

    Each program applies its own rules and its own income table. Never carry a dollar figure from one to another — each builds its table from a poverty-guideline year of its own choosing.

    • TotalAssist: government insurance that covers Vyndamax; income at or below 500% of the federal poverty level adjusted for your regional cost-of-living index; confirmed amyloidosis in treatment (or beginning within 60 days, or treated in the past 6 months).
    • HealthWell: insurance that pays part of the cost — Medicare qualifies; income up to 500% FPL on HealthWell's table; diagnosis verified by your provider's signature.
    • Pfizer Patient Assistance Program: uninsured or government-insured, other options unavailable, and proof of denial from independent foundations. Income limits apply but are not published on the VYNDAMAX pages — ask VynAssist what they are.
    • Extra Help: income below about $23,940 a year for one person or $32,460 for a couple, and countable resources limited to $18,090 or $36,100 in 2026.
  4. Step 4 — Gather your information

    The two fund applications take about 15 minutes each with these to hand:

    • Medicare card and your Part D or Medicare Advantage drug-plan card, with policy ID and group number.
    • Your amyloidosis diagnosis and its date — TotalAssist needs the exact date if it was within the past 6 months — and whether it is wild-type or hereditary ATTR.
    • Which product you are prescribed: Vyndamax (tafamidis 61 mg) or Vyndaqel (tafamidis meglumine 20 mg). They are not interchangeable on a per-milligram basis and both are covered by the funds.
    • Your prescriber's name and contact details.
    • Household size and annual household income, plus proof — TotalAssist gives you 30 days after approval to supply it.
  5. Step 5 — Complete the application

    Who fills out what:

    • TotalAssist: you (the patient) apply online in about 15 minutes, or by phone on 866-512-3861. Patient Advocate Foundation verifies the diagnosis with your provider.
    • HealthWell: apply online or by phone; your provider verifies the diagnosis by signature.
    • Pfizer: you and your prescriber complete the VyndaLink enrollment form together. A Pfizer Patient Access Coordinator can walk you through it.
    • Extra Help: you (or someone helping you) apply free through Social Security — online, by phone on 1-800-772-1213, or at an office.
  6. Step 6 — Submit and wait for a determination

    What to expect — and keep every letter you receive:

    • TotalAssist: you learn immediately online whether you are approved; proof of income is due within 30 days.
    • HealthWell: approval creates a 12-month grant cycle with a pharmacy card.
    • Keep any denial in writing. Pfizer requires proof of denial before it will consider your enrollment, so a rejection letter has real value here — do not discard it.
    • Extra Help: Social Security notifies you by mail; your Part D plan then applies the lower copays.
  7. Step 7 — If the program is closed or you don't qualify

    On a specialty medication with no generic, the remaining routes are worth working through carefully:

    • If a fund has closed since this page was verified, set an alert on it and apply to the other one — the two foundations hold separate money.
    • Take your denial letters to VynAssist and start the Pfizer Patient Assistance Program application; that is precisely what they are for.
    • Apply for Extra Help even if you assume you earn too much — on a specialty tier it is the difference between coinsurance and about $12.65 for a covered brand drug.
    • Ask your cardiologist's office whether they have staff who handle amyloidosis assistance applications; specialist centres often do.
    • Use the Medicare Prescription Payment Plan to spread this year's out-of-pocket costs across monthly payments — on a drug that hits the cap early, this smooths a very uneven year.
    • Call Vernal Medicare — we will work through every route above with you, free.

What you'll need

Only items the programs above actually ask for. Gather these before you start.

  • Medicare card and your Part D or Medicare Advantage drug-plan card — plan name, member ID and group number
  • Prescription details — medication name, strength and dose; prescriber name, office phone and address
  • Diagnosis and date of diagnosis — TotalAssist needs the exact date if diagnosed within the past 6 months
  • Household size and annual household income — and proof — tax return, Social Security or pension statements, or pay stubs
  • Whether your ATTR is wild-type or hereditary, and the date of diagnosis — TotalAssist needs the exact date if it was within the past 6 months
  • Which product you take — Vyndamax 61 mg or Vyndaqel 20 mg — both are on both funds' lists; they are not interchangeable per milligram
  • Any foundation denial letters — Pfizer requires proof of denial before considering enrollment in its assistance program

If assistance is unavailable

A closed fund or a denial is not the end of the road. Check these next:

  1. If both amyloidosis funds turn you down, that outcome is the key to the manufacturer route — take the denial letters to VynAssist and apply to the Pfizer Patient Assistance Program.
  2. Sign up for TotalAssist fund notifications so you hear the moment a Vyndamax fund reopens — there is no waitlist or queue, so speed matters. TotalAssist notifications
  3. Sign up for HealthWell fund alerts for the same reason; HealthWell says closed funds reopen as funding is replenished. HealthWell disease funds
  4. Check Medicare Extra Help — it does not depend on a fund balance and lowers the cost of every covered drug, not just this one. Extra Help in Utah
  5. Ask your doctor's office — many practices have staff who handle assistance applications routinely and can request a formulary exception or a lower-cost alternative.
  6. Use the Medicare Prescription Payment Plan to spread this year's out-of-pocket costs across monthly payments (it does not lower the total). Medicare.gov
  7. Compare Part D and Medicare Advantage drug plans during the fall enrollment period — the tier and cost-sharing for Vyndamax differ from plan to plan. Part D plans in Vernal

Could Medicare Extra Help reduce your Vyndamax costs?

Extra Help is not a grant for Vyndamax. It is a Medicare program that lowers what qualifying beneficiaries pay for their Part D premium, deductible and every covered prescription — so it is worth checking even when a charitable fund is closed, because it does not depend on fund balances.

Extra Help matters here for the same reason it matters on any specialty tier: with full Extra Help a covered brand-name drug costs about $12.65 in 2026 instead of specialty coinsurance. It does not depend on a fund balance and does not conflict with an amyloidosis grant. It also does not substitute for the foundation applications Pfizer requires — those are a separate condition of the manufacturer program.

In 2026, people with full Extra Help generally pay no more than $12.65 for a covered brand-name drug. Income must be below about $23,940 a year for one person ($32,460 for a couple) and countable resources under $18,090 ($36,100 for a couple). Apply free through Social Security — online, by phone at 1-800-772-1213, or in person — and never pay anyone to apply for you.

Government program

Medicare Extra Help (Part D Low-Income Subsidy)

Medicare / Social Security Administration

Accepting applications Medicare: may apply

Status: Year-round federal program (figures for 2026)

Not a grant for one drug — a Medicare program that lowers what qualifying beneficiaries pay for their Part D premium, deductible and every covered prescription.

If you have Medicare: For people with Medicare Part D or a Medicare Advantage drug plan who have limited income and resources.

What it can cover: Part D premium and deductible (often to $0) and reduced copays — generally no more than $12.65 for a covered brand-name drug in 2026 with full Extra Help.

Who may qualify

  • Income below 150% of the federal poverty level — about $23,940 a year for one person or $32,460 for a married couple in 2026.
  • Countable resources (savings, investments — not your home or car) limited to $18,090 for an individual or $36,100 for a married couple living together in 2026 (Medicare.gov figures, which include a burial-expense allowance).
  • Automatic if you have Medicaid, Supplemental Security Income (SSI), or a Medicare Savings Program.

What the application asks for

  • Social Security number and Medicare number
  • Income (Social Security, pensions, wages) for you and a spouse you live with
  • Value of savings, investments and other countable resources

How to apply

You (or someone helping you) apply free through Social Security — online, by phone, or at a Social Security office. There is never a fee to apply.

Key terms on this page

Patient assistance program (PAP)
A manufacturer program that provides its medication free or at low cost to people who meet income and insurance rules. Many PAPs accept Medicare Part D enrollees; each sets its own criteria.
Copay card / savings card
A manufacturer discount for commercially insured patients. Federal anti-kickback rules mean these cards generally cannot be used with Medicare, Medicaid or other government insurance.
Charitable copay grant
Money from a nonprofit foundation (for example HealthWell or Patient Advocate Foundation) that pays eligible copays or coinsurance for a specific diagnosis. A drug can be listed while the fund is closed to new applicants.
Federal poverty level (FPL)
A federal income measure that assistance programs use as a yardstick — "300% of FPL", "500% of FPL". The percentage is a rule, but the dollar figure behind it comes from a table each program publishes itself, built on a chosen year of the HHS poverty guidelines. Two programs can quote the same percentage in the same year and still list different dollar limits; compare each program against its own table, not against another program.
Medicare Extra Help
The Part D Low-Income Subsidy: a Medicare program that lowers or eliminates Part D premiums, deductibles and copays for beneficiaries with limited income and resources. You apply through Social Security.
Maximum Fair Price (MFP)
The price Medicare negotiated for a selected drug under the Medicare Drug Price Negotiation Program. It applies to Part D plans, not to the pharmacy cash price, and it lowers what plans and enrollees pay for that drug.

Related medication assistance guides

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Medicare cover Vyndamax?
Yes. Vyndamax is a capsule you take yourself, so Medicare covers it under Part D or a Medicare Advantage drug plan — generally on a specialty tier and usually with prior authorization. Part D out-of-pocket costs are capped at $2,100 in 2026, which on a drug at this price level is typically reached early in the year. If your income and resources are limited, Medicare Extra Help can bring a covered brand-name copay to about $12.65.
Is there a Vyndamax patient assistance program for people on Medicare?
Yes, with a condition attached. Pfizer's own VYNDAMAX support site says the Pfizer Patient Assistance Program through VyndaLink "may be able to help eligible patients who are uninsured or have government-issued insurance and other financial assistance options aren't available" — and that patients "are required to apply for and provide proof of denial prior to being considered for enrollment." So a Medicare beneficiary is eligible in principle, but must apply to the independent amyloidosis funds first and keep the outcome letters. Call VynAssist on 1-888-863-1177.
Is there a charitable grant for Vyndamax right now?
Yes — two, as of August 26, 2026, which is unusual. TotalAssist's Amyloidosis fund was open with a $2,500 guaranteed award up to $5,500, and HealthWell's Amyloidosis fund was open with up to $8,000. Both name Vyndamax and Vyndaqel on their covered lists, and both require income at or below 500% of the federal poverty level on their own tables. Good Days has no amyloidosis fund. Apply to both — they hold separate money, and a denial from either counts toward Pfizer's proof-of-denial requirement.
Can I use the Vyndamax co-pay card with Medicare?
No. Pfizer's terms state patients are not eligible if they are "enrolled in a state or federally funded insurance program, including but not limited to Medicare, Medicaid, TRICARE, Veterans Affairs health care, a state prescription drug assistance program, or the Government Health Insurance Plan available in Puerto Rico." That exclusion is standard across manufacturer copay cards and comes from federal anti-kickback rules.
Is there a generic for Vyndamax?
No. A DailyMed search for tafamidis returns exactly one labelled product — the combined Vyndaqel and Vyndamax label from Pfizer. There is no generic tafamidis, and no cash-price route: Vyndamax is not listed on TrumpRx either. That is why the funds and the manufacturer program carry the whole weight on this page.
What is the difference between Vyndamax and Vyndaqel?
They are two formulations of the same treatment from Pfizer, described on one label. Vyndamax is tafamidis 61 mg and Vyndaqel is tafamidis meglumine 20 mg, and the label states they are not interchangeable on a per-milligram basis. For assistance purposes the distinction rarely matters — TotalAssist and HealthWell both list both products, and Pfizer says the VyndaLink support offerings available for Vyndamax are also available for Vyndaqel.
Is Vyndamax part of Medicare drug price negotiation?
No. CMS's selected-drug and Maximum Fair Price data file has no Vyndamax, Vyndaqel or tafamidis row for initial price applicability year 2026, 2027 or 2028. Your cost is set by your plan's specialty-tier cost-sharing. See all prescription assistance options.

Sources

Having trouble figuring out your prescription costs?

If you live in Vernal or the Uintah Basin, Vernal Medicare can help you understand your Medicare prescription coverage and where to look for Vyndamax assistance — free, no pressure. We don't award grants or decide eligibility; the programs above do. We help you find and apply to the right ones.

Call 435-219-5120 Schedule a Free Review

Call Text Us