Diabetes & Blood Sugar
Lantus Assistance Programs & Grants in Utah
Assistance information last verified: August 2026
Yes, but read the cash-price small print before you take it. Sanofi Patient Connection covers Lantus for people at or below 400% of the federal poverty level, though it states no Medicare rule at all. Sanofi also sells Lantus for $35 cash outside insurance — and its own terms say that spending will not count toward your Part D out-of-pocket cap. Both diabetes charitable funds were closed. Financial assistance may be available through charitable foundations, manufacturer programs, Medicare's Extra Help program, or other assistance resources. Availability and eligibility change frequently — the information on this page was verified in August 2026.
Can I get help paying for Lantus?
Yes, but read the cash-price small print before you take it. Sanofi Patient Connection covers Lantus for people at or below 400% of the federal poverty level, though it states no Medicare rule at all. Sanofi also sells Lantus for $35 cash outside insurance — and its own terms say that spending will not count toward your Part D out-of-pocket cap. Both diabetes charitable funds were closed.
- Sanofi Patient Connection: Lantus is on its medication list. Income at or below 400% FPL — $63,840 for one person in 2026. The program states NO Medicare rule on its published eligibility pages, so call and ask rather than assuming.
- Insulins Valyou Savings Program: $35 per 30-day supply for people "uninsured or... insured by a prescription plan but not using such insurance". You must fill all your Sanofi insulins together each month.
- The trade-off that matters: Sanofi's terms say you "may not seek to have your out-of-pocket costs... count toward your deductible, true-out-of-pocket (TrOOP), maximum out-of-pocket (MOOP), or any other out-of-pocket caps." Paying cash means no progress toward the $2,100 Part D cap.
- Sanofi Insulins Co-pay Savings Program: commercial insurance only — excluded "under Medicare, Medicaid, VA, DOD, TRICARE".
- Competition: 20 labelled insulin glargine products across nine labelers, including Basaglar, Semglee, Rezvoglar and Langlara. Ask which one your plan prefers.
- Charitable grants: TotalAssist's Type 2 diabetes fund and its health equity version both list Lantus and both were closed ($1,500 guaranteed / $2,000 maximum). HealthWell's Type 2 Diabetes fund was closed. Good Days has no diabetes fund.
3 of the 6 programs we checked for Lantus were accepting applications when verified in August 2026.
About Lantus (insulin glargine)
Lantus is a long-acting insulin taken once a day to cover your background insulin needs between meals and overnight. It is the original insulin glargine, and it now sits in the most crowded field of any insulin on this site — several follow-on and biosimilar glargine products are on the market, which matters for what you pay.
Approved uses
- Improving blood sugar control in adults and children with type 1 diabetes
- Improving blood sugar control in adults with type 2 diabetes
Manufacturer: Sanofi
Why Lantus can be expensive on Medicare
Insulin is taken every day for life, so what looks like a modest monthly figure compounds. Two things pull the cost down for Lantus specifically. First, insulin glargine has the deepest competition of any insulin in this batch — DailyMed lists 20 labelled glargine products across nine labelers, including Basaglar, Semglee, Rezvoglar and Langlara. Second, Sanofi sells Lantus for $35 per 30-day supply outside insurance, and the federal TrumpRx site lists the same $35. The catch with that second route is not the price; it is what paying cash does to your Part D out-of-pocket accounting, which is covered below.
Medicare coverage context
Lantus is covered under Medicare Part D or a Medicare Advantage drug plan. Under federal law, a covered insulin costs no more than $35 for a month's supply under a Medicare drug plan, with no deductible applied to it — that applies to insulins generally rather than to Lantus specifically, and our <a href="/insulin-cost-medicare-vernal.html">insulin cost guide</a> covers how it works across products. Two things that ARE specific to Lantus: it is not a Medicare-negotiated drug (CMS's selected-drug file has no Lantus, Toujeo or glargine row for 2026, 2027 or 2028 — the only insulin on any of those lists is Novo Nordisk's insulin aspart), and the glargine market has enough follow-on products that your plan's preferred glargine may not be the brand you started on. Part D out-of-pocket costs are capped at $2,100 in 2026, and that cap is what makes Sanofi's cash-price route a genuine trade-off rather than a free win.
Check typical Part D coverage · Estimate your drug costs · Compare Part D plans in Vernal
Lantus assistance options at a glance
Every program we checked, what kind of help it is, whether people with Medicare can use it, and its status when we verified it. A medication being listed by a program is not the same as the program accepting applications.
About the income limits below: Income limits can differ between assistance programs even when both describe their eligibility as the same percentage of the federal poverty level. The dollar limits shown here come from each program's own published income table, and each program decides which year's poverty guidelines that table is built from and when it takes effect. Treat the figures as belonging to the program they are listed under — they are not interchangeable, and only the program can tell you which table it is applying to your application today.
| Program | Type of help | People with Medicare | Status (August 2026) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sanofi Patient Connection | Manufacturer patient assistance | not stated | Accepting applications |
| Insulins Valyou Savings Program (cash price) | Manufacturer self-pay pricing | with conditions | Accepting applications |
| Sanofi Insulins Co-pay Savings Program | Commercial copay / savings card | not eligible | Accepting applications |
| TotalAssist — Type 2 diabetes funds | Charitable grant | may apply | Closed to new applicants |
| HealthWell Foundation — Type 2 Diabetes fund | Charitable grant | may apply | Closed to new applicants |
| Good Days — no applicable fund | Charitable grant | not stated | No program found |
| Medicare Extra Help (Part D Low-Income Subsidy) | Government program | may apply | Accepting applications |
Manufacturer programs from Sanofi
A patient assistance program (free or low-cost drug by income) is not the same as a copay card (a commercial discount that usually excludes Medicare). Both are listed so you can see which one applies to you.
Manufacturer patient assistance
Sanofi Patient Connection
Sanofi
Status: Accepting applications on August 26, 2026. Lantus (insulin glargine) is named on the program's published medications-available list, along with Toujeo and an unbranded Insulin Glargine U-300.
Sanofi's patient assistance program covers Lantus and publishes a clear income test. What it does not publish is how it treats Medicare — so this page records the criteria that exist and tells you to ask about the one that does not.
If you have Medicare: This is an honest gap rather than an exclusion. Sanofi Patient Connection publishes three eligibility criteria — US residency, an annual household income at or below 400% of the federal poverty level, and, for commercially insured patients, having "no insurance coverage or access to the prescribed product" — and none of them mentions Medicare. The program describes itself as being for uninsured or functionally uninsured patients, which is language that could include a Medicare beneficiary whose plan does not cover the product, but Sanofi does not say so. Call 1-888-847-4877 and ask directly whether Medicare Part D enrollees may apply and what "access to the prescribed product" means for someone whose plan covers a different glargine.
What it can cover: Sanofi medications, including Lantus, for approved patients who meet the income and insurance criteria.
Who may qualify
- Resident of the U.S. or U.S. Territories
- Annual household income at or below 400% of the current federal poverty level
- 2026 income limits, 48 contiguous states and DC: $63,840 for one person, $86,560 for two, $109,280 for three, $132,000 for four, $154,720 for five, $177,440 for six, adding $5,680 per additional person
- Separate, higher income tables apply in Alaska and Hawaii
- For commercially insured patients: no insurance coverage or access to the prescribed product
- Medicare rule: NOT STATED on the program's published eligibility pages
What the application asks for
- Proof of annual household income
- Your insurance details
- A prescription for Lantus and your prescriber's information — Sanofi's applications are state-specific, so start from the program site
How to apply
Download the application for your state from sanofipatientconnection.com, or call 1-888-847-4877 (Monday–Friday, 9am–8pm ET). Ask about the Medicare question on the call rather than guessing from the form.
Manufacturer self-pay pricing
Insulins Valyou Savings Program (cash price)
Sanofi
Status: Active on August 26, 2026 at $35 per 30-day supply. The condition attached to that price is that you must fill all of your Sanofi insulin prescriptions at the same time, together each month.
A genuine $35 cash price for Lantus, available to Medicare beneficiaries willing to buy outside their drug plan. Whether it is a good idea depends entirely on what else you take, because the spending does not count toward your Part D cap.
If you have Medicare: This is the most consequential paragraph on the page, so read it slowly. The offer is "only valid for those who are uninsured or those who are insured by a prescription plan but are not using such insurance and will be paying the full retail price for the medication." A Medicare beneficiary therefore CAN use it — by stepping outside Part D and paying cash. But Sanofi's terms continue: "You may not submit claims for reimbursement to any third-party payor, including any government healthcare plan (e.g., Medicare, Medicaid, DOD, VA, TRICARE)... You may not seek to have your out-of-pocket costs or the full retail price of the Sanofi Insulin count toward your deductible, true-out-of-pocket (TrOOP), maximum out-of-pocket (MOOP), or any other out-of-pocket caps associated with any insurance coverage." In plain terms: every dollar you spend this way makes no progress toward the $2,100 Part D out-of-pocket cap. If Lantus is the only expensive drug you take, that may not matter. If you take other costly medications and expect to reach the cap, buying insulin outside your plan can push the date you reach it later — or out of reach entirely — and cost you more across the year than it saves each month.
What it can cover: Lantus, and other Sanofi insulins filled at the same time, at $35 per 30-day supply. Not insurance.
Who may qualify
- Uninsured, OR insured by a prescription plan but not using that insurance and paying the full retail price
- All Sanofi insulin prescriptions must be filled at the same time, together each month, to get the $35 rate
- You may not submit the cost to any third-party payor, including Medicare
- You may not count the spending toward your deductible, TrOOP, MOOP or any other out-of-pocket cap
How to apply
Enrol through the Sanofi savings pages or call (833) 813-0190, Monday–Friday 9am–7pm ET. Before enrolling, add up what you expect to spend on all your Part D drugs this year — if you are likely to reach the $2,100 cap, work out whether stepping outside the benefit still leaves you ahead.
Commercial copay / savings card
Sanofi Insulins Co-pay Savings Program
Sanofi
Status: Active for commercially insured patients on August 26, 2026: no more than $35 for a 30-day supply, valid up to 10 packs per fill.
A commercial copay card, and the one of Sanofi's two $35 offers that Medicare beneficiaries genuinely cannot use. Recorded here so the difference between the two is clear before you call.
If you have Medicare: Sanofi's terms are explicit: "This offer is not valid for prescriptions covered by or submitted for reimbursement, in whole or in part, under Medicare, Medicaid, VA, DOD, TRICARE, similar federal or state programs, including any state pharmaceutical programs." Note the distinction from the Valyou program above, which is not a copay card and which Medicare beneficiaries can use by paying cash. The two are easy to confuse because both quote $35.
What it can cover: Part of the commercial copay for Sanofi insulins. Not applicable to Medicare cost-sharing.
Who may qualify
- Commercial (private or employer-sponsored) prescription insurance
- Not enrolled in Medicare, Medicaid or another government prescription program
How to apply
Commercially insured patients enrol through the Sanofi savings pages or call (866) 255-8661. Medicare beneficiaries should look at the Valyou cash route, Sanofi Patient Connection, or their plan's $35 insulin cost-sharing instead.
Charitable grants for Lantus
The charitable picture for Lantus is thinner than the number of programs suggests. TotalAssist lists Lantus and Lantus Solostar on its Type 2 diabetes fund and the health-equity version, each paying $1,500 guaranteed up to $2,000, and both were closed on August 26, 2026. HealthWell's Type 2 Diabetes fund was closed too, and Good Days runs no diabetes fund at all. Two things are worth stating plainly. First, every one of these is a TYPE 2 fund — if you take Lantus for type 1 diabetes, none of the three foundations has a fund for you, which is a real gap rather than an oversight in our checking. Second, the award sizes here are modest against a year of insulin, and Medicare's own $35-a-month insulin cost-sharing already does more for most beneficiaries than a $2,000 grant would. So set an alert, but treat Sanofi Patient Connection, your plan's insulin cost-sharing and the glargine-competition question as the routes that matter.
Charitable grant
TotalAssist — Type 2 diabetes funds
Patient Advocate Foundation · Type 2 diabetes (T2DM) · Type 2 diabetes health equity
Status: Both funds were closed to new applicants on August 26, 2026, each with a $1,500 guaranteed and $2,000 maximum award. TotalAssist has no waitlist, so the notification sign-up is what gets you in.
Lantus and Lantus Solostar are both named on the Type 2 diabetes approved-medication list, alongside Basaglar, Semglee, Rezvoglar and unbranded insulin glargine — so a switch between glargine products would not cost you fund eligibility. Note that these are type 2 funds: no foundation on this list runs a type 1 diabetes fund.
If you have Medicare: These funds require government-insured coverage — Medicare, Medicaid or TRICARE — that covers your qualifying expenses. Medicare beneficiaries are eligible when a fund is open. One caution specific to insulin: if you buy Lantus with cash through the Valyou program, you are not using your insurance for it, which may affect what the fund can pay toward.
What it can cover: When open: $1,500 guaranteed award and up to $2,000 maximum for medication copays, coinsurance, deductibles and health-insurance premiums. One grant per condition.
Who may qualify
- Confirmed type 2 diabetes diagnosis, in treatment, starting within 60 days, or treated in the past 6 months
- Government-insured coverage (Medicare, Medicaid or TRICARE) that covers your qualifying expenses
- Household income at or below 500% of the federal poverty level, adjusted for your regional cost-of-living index
- Confirmed diagnosis matching the fund, and in treatment (or starting within 60 days, or treated in the past 6 months)
- Legal U.S. resident receiving treatment in the U.S. or a U.S. territory
- The health-equity fund additionally requires a home zip code in a designated social-vulnerability county
What the application asks for
- Contact information and Social Security number (or alien number)
- Annual household income (for pre-screening; proof of income due within 30 days of approval)
- Health insurance carrier, plan type, policy ID and group number; Medicare supplement or secondary insurance if you have one
- Copay or coinsurance amounts
- Your provider's name and contact information, diagnosis (exact date if within 6 months), prescribed medications and treatment plan
How to apply
Sign up for fund notifications (text, email or automated call) at totalassist.org/notify. When a fund opens: You (the patient) apply online — it takes about 15 minutes and you learn immediately whether you are approved — or call 866-512-3861, Monday–Friday 8:30am–5:30pm ET. Patient Advocate Foundation verifies your diagnosis and treatment plan directly with your provider and verifies income automatically; you have 30 days after approval to provide proof of income.
Charitable grant
HealthWell Foundation — Type 2 Diabetes fund
HealthWell Foundation · Type 2 Diabetes
Status: Closed on August 26, 2026. HealthWell runs no Type 1 Diabetes fund and no insulin-specific fund, so there is no alternative fund for someone taking Lantus for type 1 diabetes.
One applicable fund, closed. Worth flagging plainly: if you take Lantus for type 1 diabetes, none of the three foundations on this page runs a fund you could apply to, which makes the manufacturer routes and the $35 Medicare insulin cost-sharing the whole picture.
If you have Medicare: HealthWell accepts Medicare beneficiaries for the diseases it covers. Its Type 2 Diabetes fund was closed when we checked.
What it can cover: When open: copays, coinsurance, deductibles and health-insurance premiums for type 2 diabetes.
Who may qualify
- A confirmed type 2 diabetes diagnosis, verified by your prescriber
- Some form of health insurance (Medicare qualifies) that covers part of the cost of the drug — discount cards do not count
- Social Security number (used to prevent duplicate applications)
- Diagnosis verified by a physician's, nurse practitioner's or physician assistant's signature
- Treatment in the United States
What the application asks for
- Some form of health insurance (Medicare qualifies) that covers part of the cost of the drug — discount cards do not count
- Social Security number (used to prevent duplicate applications)
- Diagnosis verified by a physician's, nurse practitioner's or physician assistant's signature
- Treatment in the United States
How to apply
When a fund is open, apply online or by phone; your provider verifies the diagnosis by signature. When a fund is closed, sign up for that fund's real-time alerts — HealthWell says replenished funds reopen "as quickly as possible."
Charitable grant
Good Days — no applicable fund
Good Days
Status: Good Days' published disease list on August 26, 2026 contained 57 programs and none of them was diabetes.
An honest negative, checked so you do not spend time on a third foundation that has no fund for you.
If you have Medicare: Good Days accepts Medicare beneficiaries for the diseases it covers, but it covers no diagnosis that applies to Lantus.
How to apply
Not applicable today. The diseases-covered page shows every fund Good Days runs.
How to apply for Lantus assistance
The written steps are complete on their own; the video above will walk through the same process when it is published.
-
Step 1 — Find the applicable assistance program
For Lantus on Medicare in August 2026, the first thing to work out is whether you should be inside your drug plan or outside it:
- Start with your plan. A covered insulin costs no more than $35 a month under a Medicare drug plan with no deductible, and that spending counts toward your out-of-pocket cap.
- Only consider the $35 Valyou cash route if you are confident you will not reach the $2,100 Part D cap this year — because cash spending does not count toward it.
- Limited income → call Sanofi Patient Connection on 1-888-847-4877 and ask whether Medicare beneficiaries may apply. Income limit is $63,840 for one person.
- Ask your plan which insulin glargine it prefers — Basaglar, Semglee, Rezvoglar and Langlara are all on the market and all on the same charitable fund list.
- Type 2 diabetes → set alerts on the TotalAssist and HealthWell diabetes funds (all closed when checked).
- Limited income and resources → Medicare Extra Help, which helps most with your other medications.
-
Step 2 — Check whether applications are currently open
The manufacturer routes were open; the charitable funds were closed.
- Sanofi Patient Connection: open, with state-specific applications on its site.
- Insulins Valyou Savings Program: open at $35 per 30-day supply.
- TotalAssist: the Type 2 diabetes fund pages show "Open" or "Closed" and the current award amounts.
- HealthWell: the disease-funds list shows the Type 2 Diabetes fund and its status.
-
Step 3 — Check eligibility
The Sanofi rules are clear on income and silent on Medicare:
- Sanofi Patient Connection: US residency and income at or below 400% FPL — $63,840 for one person in the 48 states and DC. No published Medicare rule.
- Insulins Valyou: uninsured, or insured but not using that insurance and paying full retail. All Sanofi insulins must be filled together each month.
- Sanofi Co-pay Savings: commercial insurance only, Medicare explicitly excluded.
- TotalAssist (when open): government insurance covering Lantus; income at or below 500% FPL adjusted for your regional cost-of-living index; a confirmed type 2 diabetes diagnosis.
- HealthWell (when open): insurance that covers part of the drug's cost, a prescriber-verified type 2 diabetes diagnosis, and treatment in the United States.
-
Step 4 — Gather your information
One calculation matters more here than any document:
- A list of every prescription you take and what you expect each to cost this year. This is what tells you whether stepping outside Part D for $35 insulin is a saving or a false economy.
- Medicare card and your Part D or Medicare Advantage drug-plan card, with policy ID and group number.
- Household size and annual household income, plus proof.
- Your Lantus form — vial or SoloStar pen — and your daily dose.
- Your diabetes type and diagnosis date. The charitable funds are type 2 only.
-
Step 5 — Complete the application
Who fills out what:
- Sanofi Patient Connection: download your state's application from the program site, or call 1-888-847-4877 to have one sent.
- Insulins Valyou: enrol through the Sanofi savings pages or call (833) 813-0190. There is no income test.
- Extra Help: you (or someone helping you) apply free through Social Security — online, by phone on 1-800-772-1213, or at an office. There is never a fee.
- TotalAssist (when open): you apply online in about 15 minutes or by phone on 866-512-3861.
- Glargine switch: nothing to apply for — it is a prescribing and formulary question.
-
Step 6 — Submit and wait for a determination
What to expect:
- Sanofi Patient Connection: the program reviews income and insurance documentation; ask about the current timeframe when you call.
- Insulins Valyou: no determination — it is a price, not an application.
- Extra Help: Social Security notifies you by mail; your Part D plan then applies the lower copays.
- TotalAssist (when open): an immediate online decision, with proof of income due within 30 days of approval.
-
Step 7 — If the program is closed or you don't qualify
Insulin glargine gives you more options than most medications, because the field is crowded:
- Ask your prescriber and plan about the other glargine products — Basaglar, Semglee, Rezvoglar, Langlara and an unbranded insulin glargine are all labelled, and TotalAssist lists them on the same fund as Lantus.
- Check what your plan actually charges for Lantus before assuming cash is cheaper. Under Medicare a covered insulin is capped at $35 a month, and that spending counts toward your out-of-pocket cap while cash spending does not.
- If you do use the Valyou cash route, remember all your Sanofi insulins must be filled together each month to get the $35 rate.
- Apply for Extra Help even if you assume you earn too much — it helps most with your non-insulin medications.
- Use the Medicare Prescription Payment Plan to spread this year's out-of-pocket costs across monthly payments.
- Call Vernal Medicare — we will work through every route above with you, free, including the cash-versus-plan arithmetic.
What you'll need
Only items the programs above actually ask for. Gather these before you start.
- Medicare card and your Part D or Medicare Advantage drug-plan card — plan name, member ID and group number
- Prescription details — medication name, strength and dose; prescriber name, office phone and address
- Diagnosis and date of diagnosis — TotalAssist needs the exact date if diagnosed within the past 6 months
- Household size and annual household income — and proof — tax return, Social Security or pension statements, or pay stubs
- A list of all your prescriptions and expected annual costs — this decides whether Sanofi's $35 cash price helps or hurts, because cash spending does not count toward your Part D out-of-pocket cap
- Your Lantus form and daily dose — vial or SoloStar pen, and units per day
- Your diabetes type — the TotalAssist and HealthWell funds cover type 2 only
Could Medicare Extra Help reduce your Lantus costs?
Extra Help is not a grant for Lantus. It is a Medicare program that lowers what qualifying beneficiaries pay for their Part D premium, deductible and every covered prescription — so it is worth checking even when a charitable fund is closed, because it does not depend on fund balances.
Extra Help is worth applying for on its own merits, but be realistic about what it adds for insulin specifically. Under a Medicare drug plan a covered insulin already costs no more than $35 a month with no deductible applied, so Extra Help's effect on your Lantus is smaller than its effect on most other drugs. Where it earns its keep is everything else you take, and it does not close when funding runs out. One interaction to note: Sanofi Patient Connection publishes no Medicare rule at all, so whether Extra Help affects that application is a question for the phone call rather than something this page can answer.
In 2026, people with full Extra Help generally pay no more than $12.65 for a covered brand-name drug. Income must be below about $23,940 a year for one person ($32,460 for a couple) and countable resources under $18,090 ($36,100 for a couple). Apply free through Social Security — online, by phone at 1-800-772-1213, or in person — and never pay anyone to apply for you.
Extra Help explained (Utah) · Check if you might qualify · Medicare Savings Programs · All help paying for Medicare
Government program
Medicare Extra Help (Part D Low-Income Subsidy)
Medicare / Social Security Administration
Status: Year-round federal program (figures for 2026)
Not a grant for one drug — a Medicare program that lowers what qualifying beneficiaries pay for their Part D premium, deductible and every covered prescription.
If you have Medicare: For people with Medicare Part D or a Medicare Advantage drug plan who have limited income and resources.
What it can cover: Part D premium and deductible (often to $0) and reduced copays — generally no more than $12.65 for a covered brand-name drug in 2026 with full Extra Help.
Who may qualify
- Income below 150% of the federal poverty level — about $23,940 a year for one person or $32,460 for a married couple in 2026.
- Countable resources (savings, investments — not your home or car) limited to $18,090 for an individual or $36,100 for a married couple living together in 2026 (Medicare.gov figures, which include a burial-expense allowance).
- Automatic if you have Medicaid, Supplemental Security Income (SSI), or a Medicare Savings Program.
What the application asks for
- Social Security number and Medicare number
- Income (Social Security, pensions, wages) for you and a spouse you live with
- Value of savings, investments and other countable resources
How to apply
You (or someone helping you) apply free through Social Security — online, by phone, or at a Social Security office. There is never a fee to apply.
Key terms on this page
- Patient assistance program (PAP)
- A manufacturer program that provides its medication free or at low cost to people who meet income and insurance rules. Many PAPs accept Medicare Part D enrollees; each sets its own criteria.
- Copay card / savings card
- A manufacturer discount for commercially insured patients. Federal anti-kickback rules mean these cards generally cannot be used with Medicare, Medicaid or other government insurance.
- Charitable copay grant
- Money from a nonprofit foundation (for example HealthWell or Patient Advocate Foundation) that pays eligible copays or coinsurance for a specific diagnosis. A drug can be listed while the fund is closed to new applicants.
- Federal poverty level (FPL)
- A federal income measure that assistance programs use as a yardstick — "300% of FPL", "500% of FPL". The percentage is a rule, but the dollar figure behind it comes from a table each program publishes itself, built on a chosen year of the HHS poverty guidelines. Two programs can quote the same percentage in the same year and still list different dollar limits; compare each program against its own table, not against another program.
- Medicare Extra Help
- The Part D Low-Income Subsidy: a Medicare program that lowers or eliminates Part D premiums, deductibles and copays for beneficiaries with limited income and resources. You apply through Social Security.
- Maximum Fair Price (MFP)
- The price Medicare negotiated for a selected drug under the Medicare Drug Price Negotiation Program. It applies to Part D plans, not to the pharmacy cash price, and it lowers what plans and enrollees pay for that drug.
Related medication assistance guides
Frequently Asked Questions
Does Medicare cover Lantus?
Sanofi offers Lantus for $35 cash. Should I take it if I have Medicare?
Is there a Lantus patient assistance program for people on Medicare?
Why are there two different $35 Sanofi offers, and which one applies to me?
Is there a generic or biosimilar for Lantus?
Is Lantus part of Medicare drug price negotiation?
Sources
- Lantus prescribing information (DailyMed) — U.S. National Library of Medicine (2026-08-26)
- DailyMed label index — insulin glargine — U.S. National Library of Medicine (2026-08-26)
- Sanofi Patient Connection — medications available — Sanofi (2026-08-26)
- Sanofi Patient Connection — patient assistance eligibility — Sanofi (2026-08-26)
- Sanofi Patient Connection — financial eligibility table — Sanofi (2026-08-26)
- Lantus savings and the Insulins Valyou Savings Program (eligibility restrictions and offer terms) — Sanofi (2026-08-26)
- TrumpRx — Lantus listing — U.S. federal government (2026-08-26)
- TotalAssist — Type 2 diabetes (T2DM) fund — Patient Advocate Foundation (2026-08-26)
- TotalAssist — Type 2 diabetes (T2DM) health equity fund — Patient Advocate Foundation (2026-08-26)
- Get notified when a fund opens — TotalAssist — Patient Advocate Foundation (2026-08-26)
- TotalAssist eligibility requirements — Patient Advocate Foundation (2026-08-26)
- HealthWell disease funds (full list) — HealthWell Foundation (2026-08-26)
- HealthWell disease funds (status list) — HealthWell Foundation (2026-08-26)
- Good Days — diseases covered — Good Days (2026-08-26)
- Selected Drug List and Negotiated Prices (Maximum Fair Prices) data file — CMS (2026-08-26)
- Your Medicare in 2026: what you need to know — Medicare.gov (2026-08-26)
- Help with drug costs (Extra Help) — Medicare.gov (2026-08-26)
- Medicare Prescription Payment Plan — Medicare.gov (2026-08-26)
- Special Advisory Bulletin: Pharmaceutical Manufacturer Copayment Coupons — HHS Office of Inspector General (2026-08-26)
Having trouble figuring out your prescription costs?
If you live in Vernal or the Uintah Basin, Vernal Medicare can help you understand your Medicare prescription coverage and where to look for Lantus assistance — free, no pressure. We don't award grants or decide eligibility; the programs above do. We help you find and apply to the right ones.